MP4 Clip Imported with incorrect FPS

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

medo64

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:45 am
  • Real Name: Josip Medved

MP4 Clip Imported with incorrect FPS

PostWed Jul 10, 2019 2:57 am

Hi,

I have created 30 fps project (both timeline and project frame rate are set to 30) and I am trying to add a few clips from my dashcam.

However, each added clip shows 15.000 fps in metadata and 900 frames. When added to timeline, resulting video is jittery - pretty much looking as if it was 15 fps.

When I view the same clip in some other program, playback is much smoother. Looking at it with MediaInfo, frame rate is reported 30 fps and total frame count is 1800 (as expected for 1 minute clip).

Am I doing something horribly wrong or is Resolve reading MP4 file wrong?

Thank you!

PS: Clip example can be found at: https://medo64.com/temp/GRMN5478.MP4
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6419
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: MP4 Clip Imported with incorrect FPS

PostWed Jul 10, 2019 10:18 am

Looks like a bug, I’ve sent to devs
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 296
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: MP4 Clip Imported with incorrect FPS

PostWed Jul 10, 2019 10:38 am

Indeed, your clip does get interpreted as "Custom/15 fps"...it's encoded with 1 Ref frame, perhaps that's what throws Resolve off... of course, you can just interpret it manually as 30 fps. Since there's no audio - no problem
Asus Prime X370-Pro, Ryzen 1600X @4GHz, 16 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4 3000, Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 580 8GB, 120 GB system SSD, Media storage - "Always in motion is it", Windows 10 Pro+Resolve 15.3 Studio+Fusion Studio 9.0.2
Offline

medo64

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:45 am
  • Real Name: Josip Medved

Re: MP4 Clip Imported with incorrect FPS

PostFri Jul 12, 2019 2:40 am

Mario Kalogjera wrote:of course, you can just interpret it manually as 30 fps. Since there's no audio - no problem
Tnx!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], Mark Sterne and 31 guests