DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

sbarbieri

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:27 pm
  • Real Name: Sandro Barbieri

DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostFri Jul 19, 2019 3:40 pm

Hi

just switched from Adobe Premiere to DaVinci Resolve Studio 16 (b6 right now)...

I use a 3840x2160 Resolution on my W10 machine (single display) with a 150% UI scaling setting which is very ok for all programs I use.

Now, DaVinci Resolve Studio seems to have a very big interface / all elements are very big for this resolution.

When I switch to 125% in Windows the DaVinci UI is scaling way too small for that 25% change - it looks like that DaVinci has nothing in between (looks more like 100% scaling) - and so it is not usable. Switching back to 150% of course makes the UI readable again but as stated - there's a lot of screen space wasted like this.

It seems like there is no inbetween setting / DaVinci does not scale correctly. A few years back Adobe had the same problem with their programs.

Can anyone confirm this as issue?

thx
Sandro
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17127
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostFri Jul 19, 2019 6:18 pm

sbarbieri wrote:I use a 3840x2160 Resolution on my W10 machine (single display) with a 150% UI scaling


Don't do that. Always keep Display Scaling set to 100%. Otherwise you lose the screen real estate which is the sole purpose of higher resolution screens.

If things are too small at 100%, then you need a physically larger screen. I recommend nothing less then 32" for UHD.
Offline

Greg Agiannidis

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 11:00 am
  • Real Name: Gregory Agiannidis

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostFri Jul 19, 2019 9:52 pm

This is really crap advice, sorry.

I have a 43'' 4K TV/ monitor. Just because Resolve doesn't play well with scaling and that should have been fixed many versions ago (despite the fact that I got into Resolve with 16) doesn't mean you should be telling people how to ease their eyes.
If I put my windows scaling below 175% I can't see anything at all. All the letters are like ants.
Users should be able to use the scaling they feel comfortable with and not have these kind of bugs--because it *is* a bug of sorts, as covered in the other thread started by Dave Dugdale himself; anything above 125% scaling and Resolve goes into 200% mode.

Let's not get into Apple mentality and say "Oh you're not supposed to do that. Do this instead (because it's the only way we know to make it work)"
Intel i7 6800K @3,4 Ghz -- ASUS X99 AII -- Geforce GTX 1070 8GB -- 32GB DDR4 RAM -- 256GB OS SSD -- 512GB SSD scratch -- 1TB SSD footage -- Windows 10 LSB edition
Offline
User avatar

Roen Davis

  • Posts: 672
  • Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:06 am
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostSat Jul 20, 2019 1:13 am

Greg Agiannidis wrote:
If I put my windows scaling below 175% I can't see anything at all. All the letters are like ants.


I have to agree with this.
to the deaf person the dancer appears mad
Offline
User avatar

spencer_moshian

  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:54 am
  • Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
  • Real Name: Spencer Morris

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostSat Jul 20, 2019 2:50 am

Jim I believe I've seen you post that response before and I'm not sure I agree with the part that the sole purpose of a higher resolution screen is for more real estate. I prefer using 4k monitors because the OS and GUI of apps are no longer pixelated like a 1080p monitor and I can view the full image with better resolution. I don't care for more screen real estate in this case, unless I was on something like an old laptop with a tiny 1440p screen.

And yes, to the OP, this is something that has not been addressed yet in DR and people have been asking since a couple versions ago. Some have used Windows Scaling under the Resolve.exe compatibility settings but this gives a slightly blurry GUI in Resolve. For me I went with 125% because the interface is just too large at 150%. Once I learned what all the icons were and more importantly the keyboard shortcuts relevant to my workflow, the interface being scaled to 100% was less of a concern.
SW › Windows 10.0.19042 | Resolve Studio 17.0
HW › 10700K | Z490 Vision D | RTX 3070 | 64GB DDR4 3.2GHz | Scarlett 2i2
Storage › QNAP TVS-872XT > 10G > ASUS XG-C100C | Disk DB
Offline

Andy Mile

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:25 pm
  • Real Name: Andy Mile

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 3:27 pm

I believe that 4K Monitors with 27'' or 32'' are standard nowadays: Better screen estate, sharper and better for viewing/editing high res videos or pictures. For these screens a scaling of 150% is recommended by Windows. Any professional application should support this resolution and scaling. Davinci resolve is supporting either 100% oder 200% and is therefore nearly unusable on 4K screens. Supporting a scaling of 150% has been requested by many users for years and I don't understand why they haven't fixed this. Obviously it is not a high priority item on the feature request list.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17127
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 5:20 pm

spencer_moshian wrote:the OS and GUI of apps are no longer pixelated like a 1080p monitor


That's "Retina" reasoning. I find it...flawed.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17127
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 5:21 pm

Andy Mile wrote:For these screens a scaling of 150% is recommended by Windows.


That's true. Windows gets this wrong and the default setting needs to be manually changed.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17127
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 5:22 pm

Andy Mile wrote:Davinci Resolve...is therefore nearly unusable on 4K screens.


I'm using it one one. Works awesome! Loving all the room I have. :D
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 745
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 7:34 pm

Has anyone tried the Qt environment variable QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=1? I believe Resolve uses Qt for it’s GUI.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 17.0b5(Standard)
Offline

mikedkelly

  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:31 pm
  • Real Name: Mike Kelly

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 8:39 pm

The other nice thing about scaling is that not only is the UI at a reasonable viewing size on a smaller monitor, but video and images (should) use the native resolution of the display. So with Resolve on a 4K monitor, you would be able to view a 1080p video at 25% zoom with every pixel of the image visible.

-----------------------
Resolve Studio 17.2.1
OS: Windows 10 Home x64, 10.0.19042 Build 19042
CPU: Intel i7-8700K
RAM: 32GB
GPU: GTX-1080 8 GB
Driver: Nvidia Studio 462.59
MB: Asus Z390-i Gaming, C: 970 Evo 500 GB, D: 970 Evo 1 TB
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 745
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 8:40 pm

Found some more environment variables to try:

QT_HIGHDPI_DISABLE_2X_IMAGE_LOADING=1 or 0
QT_USE_NATIVE_WINDOWS=1 or 0
QT_STYLE_OVERRIDE=1 or 0

These were found in some of the Resolve dll files.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 17.0b5(Standard)
Offline

Andy Mile

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:25 pm
  • Real Name: Andy Mile

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostFri Jul 26, 2019 10:40 am

Jim Simon wrote:
Andy Mile wrote:Davinci Resolve...is therefore nearly unusable on 4K screens.


I'm using it one one. Works awesome! Loving all the room I have. :D


@Jim: Do you use Windows or Mac? The Problem occurs only on Windows. Which size does you monitor have? The 200% scaling of DR on a 27 inch monitor is really huge: Icons, menubar, videotracks. When you have more than 3 video tracks and 2 audio tracks you have to scroll constantly because it does not fit on screen.
Offline

SimonEast

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:21 pm
  • Real Name: Simon East

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostSat Jul 27, 2019 1:37 pm

Yes I have this issue too on my Dell 4K monitor (27 inch) at 150% scaling and the app just looks awful. Seems this problem has been in Resolve for a few years and the latest beta shows no improvement. I totally disagree with changing scaling to 100% - many apps would be way too small and unreadable.
Offline

SandroSchreiber

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 7:01 am
  • Real Name: Sandro Schreiber

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostTue Jul 30, 2019 12:15 pm

mikedkelly wrote:The other nice thing about scaling is that not only is the UI at a reasonable viewing size on a smaller monitor, but video and images (should) use the native resolution of the display. So with Resolve on a 4K monitor, you would be able to view a 1080p video at 25% zoom with every pixel of the image visible.

Totally agree!

This problem has been discussed in so many threads now and with many examples including printscreens. There are many Windows users with the same problem. And they are increasing with the popularity of 1440p or UHD Screens. Just because 100% scaling is OK for Jim doesn't mean the problem doesn't need a fix (no offense) ;)
It would be really nice if BM could get involved in the conversation.

@OP: There are some workarounds in the other threads (like high DPI override on the resolve.exe), but no real fix.

Cheers
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 | Resolve Mini Panel | Win10 20H2
AMD Ryzen 7 2700x | GeForce GTX1080Ti (461.92 studio driver) | 64GB RAM | SSD | DeckLink Mini Monitor | BMPCC4K
Offline

bleakertron

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 1:53 pm
  • Real Name: Blayke Olson

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostTue Oct 13, 2020 3:02 am

Gary Hango wrote:Has anyone tried the Qt environment variable QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=1? I believe Resolve uses Qt for it’s GUI.


I am interested to know more about this as I am trying to fix the scaling issue I have with DR on my Surface Pro 7.

Surface Pro 7, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1065G7 @ 1.30GHz 1.5GHz, 16GB RAM, 256GB Storage :mrgreen:
Offline

nicholas1306

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2020 11:04 pm
  • Real Name: Nicholas Ruoff

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostTue Nov 24, 2020 11:13 pm

Hi, I saw this in a reddit forum and worked for me.

If anyone wants to have Resolve scaled like that while keeping the rest of the system on the 150% scaling setting you just type that into PowerShell:


Code: Select all
cd "C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\"
$Env:QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO = 1
$Env:QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR = 2
.\Resolve.exe
Offline

Jay Patel

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 3:54 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostWed Nov 25, 2020 3:56 am

Adobe has this problem solved for quite some time. They give an option to display different size fonts on their UI.

It is shame that such sophisticated program is unable to find a solution to relatively simple problem. Can someone from Davinci explain why this issue cannot be solved similar to how Adobe and several other programs have done it?
Attachments
UI Font Size.jpg
UI Font Size.jpg (174.07 KiB) Viewed 3505 times
Offline

G0bble

  • Posts: 282
  • Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:04 am
  • Real Name: Rahul Sawarkar

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostWed Nov 25, 2020 6:57 am

Lightworks does a good job too:

LWKSFontUI.png
LWKSFontUI.png (24.53 KiB) Viewed 3471 times


Hopefully this will be a feature in a future release of DVR ...
DVR Studio
Win 10 Pro, Ryzen 3900X, Nvidia RTX 2070,32GB 3200Mhz RAM, SM951 M.2 AHCI SSD Boot, 512GB WD Blue nvme scratch
Offline

Nick Verlinden

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 11:08 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve Studio screen scaling on W10

PostThu Jan 28, 2021 5:11 pm

I just want to pitch in here: this has just become a problem for us as well. We were forced to switch to Windows. On macOS we didn't have this problem, but now on Windows, we are basically stuck with an unusable UI for some of us. I can work with it in 100% scale on a 4K 32inch monitor, but for most of us it's too small, and switching to 150% is just .. well unusable too because it's the other extreme.
macOS 10.13.2 High Sierra
Core i9 7920X, 32GB RAM
GTX 1080 Ti 11GB
Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor 4K
Blackmagic URSA Mini Pro
Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera
Blackmagic DaVinci Resolve Studio 15

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ArjunKale, daud khawaja, Matthew Lumb, Noerde, RonMacNutt and 64 guests