Fix Arabic and the RTL fonts' issue plz

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Aboubakr

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:43 pm
  • Real Name: Aboubakr Seddik

Fix Arabic and the RTL fonts' issue plz

PostThu May 23, 2019 6:34 pm

When I've read that there's a fixed font issue, I hurried to try out the Beta 3 release hoping Fusion will support Arabic by now, but heck No!

Come on, I'm tired of using Gimp and InkScape to export PNGs, then have a ton of work to do on Fusion under Resolve. I hate to admit almost a 5 years old Nuke software still does the work that 2019 Fusion can't do!

Lightworks handles Arabic and RTL languages just fine, even Kdenlive and Cinelerra do just great, and I started to grow a passionate frustration with Resolve, when I kept sounding like a broken record mentioning this issue over and over by each new release, and I don't get a single Mod or representative response.

I'd accept an answer like: "We won't support Arabic or RTL languages in our software, you can go sell your license on eBay!" but not getting any interaction is just rude, and it's not just me, running through this forum, or google it people looking for Arabic support is quite decent.

I thought BMD business model was all about listening to the customers' feedback, but I guess I was wrong.
Offline

Aboubakr

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:43 pm
  • Real Name: Aboubakr Seddik

Re: Fix Arabic and the RTL fonts' issue plz

PostWed Oct 02, 2019 8:03 pm

So few months passed by. I purchased a new license today, and 16.1.0B.033 still can't render Arabic in any Fusion title or Fusion related stuffs.

What is more aggravating is not getting any official answer, which leaves room to assumptions.

We really need to know what BMD are thinking about the matter, whether there'll be any future attempts to resolve (pun intended) this, or we should just give up on the matter?

Why is it so hard to add Arabic when other unicode languages do work just fine? Is it because Arabic is recursive? Is it because it's written from right to left? Is it because the charset code isn't defined in the code-base? Can't BMD, let's say, check how Blender handles the problem and resolves it perfectly, since it's an open source project? Anything guys, come on moderators/admins, can't you get us any half answers when you answer way less trivial matters on other threads?
Offline

mustafamohsen

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 10:31 am
  • Real Name: Mustafa Mohosen

Re: Fix Arabic and the RTL fonts' issue plz

PostMon Dec 16, 2019 10:39 am

I add my voice to Aboubakr

Come on guys, at least give us the courtesy of responding! It's version 16 already (which've passed through hundreds of minor updates) and no RTL support and we're only a few days from 2020?? I've purchased the studio version yet I'm disappointed due to my inability to generate titles in my own language (Arabic)!

No RTL support means that Arabic, Persian, and Hebrew users will not be able to use Fusion as they should, putting titles and using macros least to say

Your response is appreciated
Offline

Aboubakr

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:43 pm
  • Real Name: Aboubakr Seddik

Re: Fix Arabic and the RTL fonts' issue plz

PostMon Dec 16, 2019 6:52 pm

Hey Mohsen,

Something is being cooked to solve this, and it's done through an OFX independent plugin, and I will keep that thread updated, I mean here:

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=104355
Offline

piece23

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 6:14 pm
  • Real Name: Afrah Abdallah

Re: Fix Arabic and the RTL fonts' issue plz

PostMon Dec 23, 2019 6:39 pm

Hi guys!
I'm new to the resolve tribe. I tried the free version and fall madly in love with it. thought I didn't have the RTL languages because of it so I thought about buying it.
thank God I logged in the forum and read about the struggle of my RTL fellas. :lol:
Hope you solve it soon.
Offline

kotrob

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: matt kotrob

Re: Fix Arabic and the RTL fonts' issue plz

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 2:10 am

Adding my voice to this. Why Blackmagic doesn’t work a solution or guide the crowd to figure this out?

Return to DaVinci Resolve Beta Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests