HyperDeck Extreme 8K HDR - Gang together? Remote Control?

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

changethursday

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:41 pm
  • Real Name: Jeremy Clark

HyperDeck Extreme 8K HDR - Gang together? Remote Control?

PostThu Oct 10, 2019 12:59 am

Hi all,

I'm looking at getting a couple of these for our studio to replace some aging Ki Pros. One thing I really like about the kipros is that I have a web interface so I can be sitting on the other side of the studio and hit record. Also, I can gang them together and just hit record on one and simultaneously record both of my decks (we record a program feed and Cam ISO in our studio).

Do I have the capability with this?
Offline

changethursday

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:41 pm
  • Real Name: Jeremy Clark

Re: HyperDeck Extreme 8K HDR - Gang together? Remote Control

PostThu Oct 10, 2019 1:01 am

I thought I saw something about being able to control hyperdecks from the ATEM software (I'm also looking at getting the ATEM Television Studio Pro 4K). If that's the case, I should be set.
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 580
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: HyperDeck Extreme 8K HDR - Gang together? Remote Control

PostThu Oct 10, 2019 4:44 am

Yes, you can map up to 4 hyperdecks to ATEM inpots and control them from software or hardware panel. They also have simple ethernet control using text based commands. One limitation, only a single device can control the hyperdeck at a time.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

changethursday

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:41 pm
  • Real Name: Jeremy Clark

Re: HyperDeck Extreme 8K HDR - Gang together? Remote Control

PostFri Oct 11, 2019 1:42 am

Ian Morrish wrote:Yes, you can map up to 4 hyperdecks to ATEM inpots and control them from software or hardware panel. They also have simple ethernet control using text based commands. One limitation, only a single device can control the hyperdeck at a time.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk


Can you tell me more about that? Mainly I just want to have record/stop control, and to have both start/stop at the same time. I'm not using them for playback or anything like that, just recording.
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 580
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: HyperDeck Extreme 8K HDR - Gang together? Remote Control

PostSun Oct 13, 2019 7:24 am

If they are mapped to the ATEM, I use this Windows PowerShell code to trigger them all for the same command. It requires switcherlib.dll from my site below, and PowerShell enabled to run scripts. Happy to help if you want to try it. (I also have TCPIP based script that doesn't require ATEM to be on but Hyperdeck can only support connection from one device so I prefer to use the ATEM method if you only have 4 or less decks).

add-type -path 'C:\Users\YourUserName\Documents\WindowsPowerShell\SwitcherLib.dll'
$Global:atem = New-Object SwitcherLib.Switcher("192.168.1.8")
$atem.Connect()
$HyperDecks=$atem.GetHyperdecks()
foreach($hyperdeck in $hyperdecks){
if($HyperDeck.RemoteAccessEnabled){
$HyperDeck.Play()

}
else{
Write-Host "Remote not enabled"
}
}

start-sleep 10

foreach($hyperdeck in $hyperdecks){
if($HyperDeck.RemoteAccessEnabled){
$HyperDeck.Stop()

}
else{
Write-Host "Remote not enabled"
}
}
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

changethursday

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:41 pm
  • Real Name: Jeremy Clark

Re: HyperDeck Extreme 8K HDR - Gang together? Remote Control

PostMon Oct 14, 2019 12:43 am

Ian Morrish wrote:If they are mapped to the ATEM, I use this Windows PowerShell code to trigger them all for the same command. It requires switcherlib.dll from my site below, and PowerShell enabled to run scripts. Happy to help if you want to try it. (I also have TCPIP based script that doesn't require ATEM to be on but Hyperdeck can only support connection from one device so I prefer to use the ATEM method if you only have 4 or less decks).

add-type -path 'C:\Users\YourUserName\Documents\WindowsPowerShell\SwitcherLib.dll'
$Global:atem = New-Object SwitcherLib.Switcher("192.168.1.8")
$atem.Connect()
$HyperDecks=$atem.GetHyperdecks()
foreach($hyperdeck in $hyperdecks){
if($HyperDeck.RemoteAccessEnabled){
$HyperDeck.Play()

}
else{
Write-Host "Remote not enabled"
}
}

start-sleep 10

foreach($hyperdeck in $hyperdecks){
if($HyperDeck.RemoteAccessEnabled){
$HyperDeck.Stop()

}
else{
Write-Host "Remote not enabled"
}
}


Thanks Ian, but we're in a Mac studio environment. From looking through the manual, I should be able to control it fine, though maybe not ganged together for simultaneous recording, but that's not the end of the world.

thanks for your help!!
Offline

Andrew Martin

  • Posts: 465
  • Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:25 pm

Re: HyperDeck Extreme 8K HDR - Gang together? Remote Control

PostSat Oct 26, 2019 10:19 am

Theres this...

http://hyperdeck.iamjeffamato.com/

I have no idea if it's still relevant or still supported, but.

From my mobile using Tapatalk

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Videobegin and 31 guests