Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion freezes again

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

aknittel

  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 3:56 pm
  • Real Name: Alan Knittel

Fusion freezes again

PostThu Nov 07, 2019 4:03 am

Again I must complain about Fusion crashes with particle systems

After having lost three days of work, I started a new project with 16.1.1. I have a simple particle system effect, saved yesterday was happy with the result.

I now open the project today, the edit plays through, but when I go to the Fusion page it has black panels and seems frozen. In fact other fusion clips in this project WITHOUT particle systems are doing the same thing on the Fusion page: blank panels.

Would you people PLEASE fix these bugs?? I have a support case raised, but no one gets back to me with answers. Nothing gets better with the releases.

I cannot waste time like this. I gave this an honest try but I cannot as a professional keep losing days of work.

Attached find the screenshot.

How do I RECOVER my work?

Im close to abandoning this product and asking for my6 money back.
Attachments
Fusion_Blank_Panels.jpg
Fusion_Blank_Panels.jpg (149.74 KiB) Viewed 1071 times
Win 10 Pro
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz, 4001 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s), 64 gb RAM, SSD
Twin GTX-1070-8GB
Resolve 16.2.3 Final
Offline

aknittel

  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 3:56 pm
  • Real Name: Alan Knittel

Re: FUSION FREEZES AGAIN!

PostThu Nov 07, 2019 4:14 am

Fusion panels remain blank even if I start a new project.

DOES ANYONE HAVE A SUGGESTION???
Win 10 Pro
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz, 4001 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s), 64 gb RAM, SSD
Twin GTX-1070-8GB
Resolve 16.2.3 Final
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 641
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: FUSION FREEZES AGAIN!

PostThu Nov 07, 2019 4:37 am

All I can suggest is that you try using Fusion 9 instead of Fusion 16. I have the occasional crashes with F9 (mainly when doing tracking operations) but haven't had issues with its particle system.

Newest isn't always best :-)
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

aknittel

  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 3:56 pm
  • Real Name: Alan Knittel

Re: FUSION FREEZES AGAIN!

PostThu Nov 07, 2019 4:47 am

Yesterday I upgraded to NVIDIA 441.12.

Does this have something to do with it!!!??

I cannot get the Fusion page to initialize, even with a new project.
Win 10 Pro
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz, 4001 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s), 64 gb RAM, SSD
Twin GTX-1070-8GB
Resolve 16.2.3 Final
Offline

aknittel

  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 3:56 pm
  • Real Name: Alan Knittel

Re: FUSION FREEZES AGAIN!

PostThu Nov 07, 2019 5:17 am

Rolled back driver, no difference.

THIS IS MADDENING! ONE DAY THIS PRODUCT WORKS, THE NEXT DAY IT DOESN'T.
Win 10 Pro
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz, 4001 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s), 64 gb RAM, SSD
Twin GTX-1070-8GB
Resolve 16.2.3 Final
Offline

devhill

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:03 am
  • Real Name: Nullo Cugini

Re: FUSION FREEZES AGAIN!

PostThu Nov 07, 2019 10:00 am

Yes 16.1.1 is a step back compared to 16.1 and MANY steps back compared to Fusion 9
I'm actually using 16.1 and the main 2 BAD things are:
1 - Beautiful but frustrating and non very productive user interface
2 - Playback cache very slow against FU9/FU8

Please BMD give us back the REAL power of FUSION with complete UI elements (including F4) and the stability of the first Fusion versions! :cry:
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 641
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: FUSION FREEZES AGAIN!

PostThu Nov 07, 2019 4:20 pm

As I said... I've been a Fusion 9 user for nearly 18 months and never had a "fatal" crash like yours. When F9 does crash, reloading the project allows me to carry on from the last saved point. As a result, I've never lost more than 10 minutes work.

Unless there's a "must have" feature in version 16, try 9, it might work better for you.
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

aknittel

  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 3:56 pm
  • Real Name: Alan Knittel

Re: FUSION FREEZES AGAIN! - FIXED!

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 3:36 am

It occurred to me to try something totally nonsensical to fix this. My background as a software engineer led me to believe that perhaps the Fusion Page panel layout data was somehow corrupted.

I went to the menu and selected Workspace...Reset UI Layout.

Solved the issue.
Win 10 Pro
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz, 4001 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s), 64 gb RAM, SSD
Twin GTX-1070-8GB
Resolve 16.2.3 Final
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 641
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: FUSION FREEZES AGAIN!

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 3:52 am

That makes sense... the UI is quite a bit different in F16 compared to good old F9. I guess they may have introduced a bug or two.
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

chrismcqueen

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 2:59 am
  • Real Name: Christopher McQueen

Re: Fusion freezes again

PostWed Jun 24, 2020 9:00 pm

I was really excited about Resolve and Fusion, but so far the only times I've used Fusion have been total failures. I'm using Text+ objects, and doing absolutely nothing special. First time I tried it couldn't render on the Deliver tab. Kept failing right when it got to the Text+ object. When I removed that and replaced with a regular Text object it rendered just fine. Now I can't even drag a Text+ object into my timeline without it crashing. Makes the program almost unusable since (as far as I can tell) masking is a part of Fusion, and I really need that.

I'm using:
2018 Macbook Pro
2.6 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i7
32 GB 2400 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro 560X 4 GB
Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests