Capturing Mac Output

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

bcobos

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:25 pm
  • Real Name: Brandon Cobos

Capturing Mac Output

PostTue Dec 10, 2019 4:48 pm

Working on building a new streaming setup for our church using a ATEM HD. In wanting to capture output from our main iMac, can I simply go from mini display HDMI adapter -> HDMI -> ATEM HD Switcher? or do I need some kind of converter or something in between the iMac and the ATEM HD? Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 1713
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm
  • Location: SVK

Re: Capturing Mac Output

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 12:18 am

Yes .. But U must corectly set output on MAC for same resolution as ATEM .. for example 1080i50 , 1080p50 , 720p59.98 .. etc etc ..
http://www.media-planet.sk
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://tally.pytkin.sk
Offline

Larry_KHCC

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 3:32 pm
  • Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
  • Real Name: Lawrence Bethune

Re: Capturing Mac Output

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 6:04 am

Just a Roman said, you can go from mini display port to HDMI as long as the resolution for that output, presumably a second screen, is set to the same res as the ATEM.

In some testing I was doing this setup worked consistently well. I was using 1080p.
Offline

scotmacman

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2019 9:38 am
  • Real Name: Neil MacLennan

Re: Capturing Mac Output

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 2:10 pm

Tip: In System Preferences > Displays on your Mac, hold down the option key and press 'Scaled' to see a wider list of resolution options than you might otherwise see.
Offline

Larry_KHCC

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 3:32 pm
  • Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
  • Real Name: Lawrence Bethune

Re: Capturing Mac Output

PostMon Dec 16, 2019 5:58 am

scotmacman wrote:Tip: In System Preferences > Displays on your Mac, hold down the option key and press 'Scaled' to see a wider list of resolution options than you might otherwise see.


Great tip! Thanks SMM.
Larry
Offline

bcobos

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:25 pm
  • Real Name: Brandon Cobos

Re: Capturing Mac Output

PostMon Jan 20, 2020 2:30 pm

Thanks to everyone for their tips and replies; appreciated!
Offline

edward_mantle

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 4:06 pm

Re: Capturing Mac Output

PostWed Jan 22, 2020 9:05 am

Just chiming in - had a similar issue last year and discovered some software (paid) called SwithResX which gives you a broad range of forced resolutions. This has allowed me to use it to feed happily into all sorts of BM gear.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KerrGM and 25 guests