a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

TAOON_C

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:48 pm
  • Real Name: Yossi Levi

a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 10:36 am

hi
i've a project in which i want to export to two separate files midway.

i've a problem with the subtitles. when i do 'in/out' in the delivery stage and choose to export .srt as a seperate files i get two video files (i render one at time) but i get only one .srt.

the main problem is that the second video gets the subtitles file of the first video.

i've tried to make another timeline for the subtitles of the second video but it went wrong too.

do you know how to help me with this?

thank you very much!
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 5988
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostSat Jan 25, 2020 1:30 am

Subtitling in DR is pretty much half-baked, I tend to use separate tools for that task.
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3318
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostSat Jan 25, 2020 2:15 am

You're on the right track: create a second timeline, with only the portion of the program you want to export with a separate .srt file.

As long as the subtitles line up correctly, there should be no difficulty getting an accurate .srt file.
Offline

TAOON_C

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:48 pm
  • Real Name: Yossi Levi

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostSat Jan 25, 2020 9:48 am

thank you very much for the advices!!
i will try to create a second timeline for the second video.
8-)
Offline

TAOON_C

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:48 pm
  • Real Name: Yossi Levi

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostSat Jan 25, 2020 11:59 am

hi again :)
i've tried again with two timelines (see image)
i still get one .srt file with all the subtitles of the whole project.

if there is a simple way to fix it i would glad to know. perhaps making two subtitles timelines as well?

if it's a problem please tell me of some software i can use to make the subtitles.

EDIT: can i make another project for the second video? is there anythnig i need to know about how to make a second project that is made from a previous project?

thanks
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (172.55 KiB) Viewed 261 times
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3318
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostSat Jan 25, 2020 2:06 pm

That's not two timelines, it's two video tracks. Copy everything from the playhead to the end of the timeline and paste it into a new timeline. Of course, the timings of the .srt file from the second timeline will not match the timings of the master file.
Offline

TAOON_C

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:48 pm
  • Real Name: Yossi Levi

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostSun Jan 26, 2020 3:04 pm

thank you !!
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 5988
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostMon Jan 27, 2020 4:27 am

One could use filler to make them match.
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

TAOON_C

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:48 pm
  • Real Name: Yossi Levi

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostFri Jan 31, 2020 1:41 pm

thank you people!
i've another problem because i did a mistake.

without going into much detail let me ask it straight:

if i create a new project and i want to import into it past projects how do i do it?
i know it sounds simple for you but i really don't get it.
the thing is that when i try to import a project i'm asked to choose a file. but i'm not directed to the projects window.

perhaps i need to export each project that i want to import beforehand?

anything else that worth mentioning about importing with subtitles?

thanks!!!
Offline

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 345
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostSat Feb 01, 2020 5:23 pm

you have to turn on dynamic project switching by right clicking in your projects home area.
Once this is on, you can have multiple projects open at once...then you simply copy and past items from one projects timeline to another projects timeline.
Offline

TAOON_C

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:48 pm
  • Real Name: Yossi Levi

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostTue Feb 04, 2020 4:50 am

i will try this once my computer returns from a little repair

thank you very much for your help!
Offline

TAOON_C

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:48 pm
  • Real Name: Yossi Levi

Re: a problem with subtitles when exporting .srt

PostFri Feb 07, 2020 7:47 pm

works!!!
thanks

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot], Rogue_Danar and 94 guests