Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

how to create parallels lines

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Marco Quaglia Faccio

  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:49 am

how to create parallels lines

PostThu Feb 06, 2020 5:58 am

Hello,
How can i create (vertical or horizontal) parallels lines ?
I tried with Duplicate node but with out result, maybe there is another node that can do the job.

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Merge1 = Merge {
         Inputs = {
            Background = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            Foreground = Input {
               SourceOp = "Duplicate1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            PerformDepthMerge = Input { Value = 0, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 825, 115.5 } },
      },
      Duplicate1 = Fuse.Duplicate {
         Inputs = {
            Copies = Input { Value = 10, },
            Center = Input { Value = { 0.446, 0.492 }, },
            Pivot = Input { Value = { 0.518, 0.5 }, },
            XSize = Input { Value = 1.06, },
            RandomSeed = Input { Value = 26024, },
            Background = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background2",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 825, 49.5 } },
      },
      Background1 = Background {
         Inputs = {
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 75, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1080, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1350, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            TopLeftAlpha = Input { Value = 0, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 660, 115.5 } },
      },
      Background2 = Background {
         Inputs = {
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 75, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1080, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1350, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            TopLeftRed = Input { Value = 0.85, },
            TopLeftGreen = Input { Value = 0.0765, },
            TopLeftBlue = Input { Value = 0.0765, },
            EffectMask = Input {
               SourceOp = "Rectangle1",
               Source = "Mask",
            }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 825, -16.5 } },
      },
      Rectangle1 = RectangleMask {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Filter = Input { Value = FuID { "Fast Gaussian" }, },
            BorderWidth = Input { Value = 0.01, },
            MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1080, },
            MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1350, },
            PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
            ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
            Width = Input { Value = 0.016, },
            Height = Input { Value = 0.583, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 825, -82.5 } },
      }
   },
   ActiveTool = "Rectangle1"
}


thanks
Attachments
Dup_node.jpg
Dup_node.jpg (47.09 KiB) Viewed 1616 times
Resolve Studio 17 | Fusion Studio 17 | Win 10 Enterprise (64-bit) |
X99-A II | i7-6800K CPU @ 3.40GHz | Memory 32GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 | Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 500GB | CT240BX500SSD1 | WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 3588
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: how to create parallels lines

PostThu Feb 06, 2020 7:55 am

There are so many ways it isn't even funny.
You can use a text tool with a lot of | next to each other stretched until it fills the screen.
You can probably use the duplicate tool but in another way than you're using it now.
You can create a backgrond that's half stripe, half empty and then use a transform tool set to wrap and scale on the x-axis.
You can use a couple of Fuses/macros that are inside of Reactor - I think one of them may even be called Lines.
https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... =32&t=1814
Or you can use a tool from krokodove (also available in Reactor) that I can't remember the name of right now.
And of course you can create shapes in 3D and use a duplicate 3D to make more of them and then render them out.
These are the ways I can think of from the top of my head.
So what is it you're looking for and what do these lines have to do/look like after you've created them?
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Okke Verbart

  • Posts: 290
  • Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: how to create parallels lines

PostThu Feb 06, 2020 2:59 pm

In addition to Sander's suggestions, another 3D tool which is very suitable for this: the 3D Ribbon
www.ablackbirdcalledsue.com
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 2491
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: how to create parallels lines

PostThu Feb 06, 2020 3:21 pm

CustomTool!

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      CustomTool1 = Custom {
         Inputs = {
            NumberIn1 = Input { Value = 1.386, },
            LUTIn1 = Input {
               SourceOp = "CustomTool1LUTIn1",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            LUTIn2 = Input {
               SourceOp = "CustomTool1LUTIn2",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            LUTIn3 = Input {
               SourceOp = "CustomTool1LUTIn3",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            LUTIn4 = Input {
               SourceOp = "CustomTool1LUTIn4",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            RedExpression = Input { Value = "sin(x/(0.0001*n1))", },
            GreenExpression = Input { Value = "sin(x/(0.0001*n1))", },
            BlueExpression = Input { Value = "sin(x/(0.0001*n1))", },
            AlphaExpression = Input { Value = "sin(x/(0.0001*n1))", },
            Image1 = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background2",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 822, 86 } },
      },
      CustomTool1LUTIn1 = LUTBezier {
         KeyColorSplines = {
            [0] = {
               [0] = { 0, RH = { 0.333333333333333, 0.333333333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
               [1] = { 1, LH = { 0.666666666666667, 0.666666666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
            }
         },
         SplineColor = { Red = 204, Green = 0, Blue = 0 },
         NameSet = true,
      },
      CustomTool1LUTIn2 = LUTBezier {
         KeyColorSplines = {
            [0] = {
               [0] = { 0, RH = { 0.333333333333333, 0.333333333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
               [1] = { 1, LH = { 0.666666666666667, 0.666666666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
            }
         },
         SplineColor = { Red = 0, Green = 204, Blue = 0 },
         NameSet = true,
      },
      CustomTool1LUTIn3 = LUTBezier {
         KeyColorSplines = {
            [0] = {
               [0] = { 0, RH = { 0.333333333333333, 0.333333333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
               [1] = { 1, LH = { 0.666666666666667, 0.666666666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
            }
         },
         SplineColor = { Red = 0, Green = 0, Blue = 204 },
         NameSet = true,
      },
      CustomTool1LUTIn4 = LUTBezier {
         KeyColorSplines = {
            [0] = {
               [0] = { 0, RH = { 0.333333333333333, 0.333333333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
               [1] = { 1, LH = { 0.666666666666667, 0.666666666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
            }
         },
         SplineColor = { Red = 204, Green = 204, Blue = 204 },
         NameSet = true,
      },
      Background2 = Background {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            Depth = Input { Value = 3, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 720, 96 } },
      },
      BrightnessContrast1 = BrightnessContrast {
         Inputs = {
            Alpha = Input { Value = 1, },
            Contrast = Input { Value = 1, },
            ClipBlack = Input { Value = 1, },
            ClipWhite = Input { Value = 1, },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "CustomTool1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 933, 86 } },
      }
   }
}


Number In 1 controls the frequency of the lines.

Or a Background in Gradient mode. Distance between Start and End of the Gradient controls the frequency of the lines, and by putting it in Repeat mode, you'll get the duplicates. Control the actual position with the Offset slider.

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Background3 = Background {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            Type = Input { Value = FuID { "Gradient" }, },
            End = Input { Value = { 0.1, 0.5 }, },
            Gradient = Input {
               Value = Gradient {
                  Colors = {
                     [0.550335570469799] = { 0, 0, 0, 1 },
                     [0.573825503355705] = { 1, 1, 1, 1 },
                     [0.60738255033557] = { 1, 1, 1, 1 },
                     [0.630872483221476] = { 0, 0, 0, 1 }
                  }
               },
            },
            Offset = Input { Value = -3.132, },
            Repeat = Input { Value = FuID { "Repeat" }, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 557, 208 } },
      }
   },
   ActiveTool = "Background3"
}
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.sidefx.com
Offline

Marco Quaglia Faccio

  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:49 am

Re: how to create parallels lines

PostThu Feb 06, 2020 5:01 pm

Bryan,

Thanks.
There is so much to learn with Fusion.

Congratulation also for your website.
Resolve Studio 17 | Fusion Studio 17 | Win 10 Enterprise (64-bit) |
X99-A II | i7-6800K CPU @ 3.40GHz | Memory 32GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 | Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 500GB | CT240BX500SSD1 | WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0
Offline
User avatar

Saad Shah

  • Posts: 152
  • Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:36 pm
  • Real Name: Saad Shah

Re: how to create parallels lines

PostSat Feb 08, 2020 4:44 pm

Hey Marco
If you are looking for a beginner level solution for creating lines and backgrounds, the duplicate (2D) tool is probably the easiest way to go about it.

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Background2_1 = Background {
         Inputs = {
            EffectMask = Input {
               SourceOp = "Rectangle1_1",
               Source = "Mask",
            },
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 299, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            UseFrameFormatSettings = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            TopLeftRed = Input { Value = 0.173, },
            TopLeftGreen = Input { Value = 0.173, },
            TopLeftBlue = Input { Value = 0.173, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 385, 148.5 } },
      },
      Duplicate1_1 = Fuse.Duplicate {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Copies = Input { Value = 100, },
            Center = Input { Value = { 0.5, 0.489508852317527 }, },
            RandomSeed = Input { Value = 26024, },
            Background = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background2_1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 385, 181.5 } },
      },
      Rectangle1_1 = RectangleMask {
         Inputs = {
            Filter = Input { Value = FuID { "Fast Gaussian" }, },
            MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
            MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
            PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
            ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
            Center = Input { Value = { 0.5, 0.990862944162436 }, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1, },
            Height = Input { Value = 0.005, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 385, 115.5 } },
      },
      Transform1 = Transform {
         Inputs = {
            Size = Input { Value = 1.7, },
            Angle = Input { Value = 20.9, },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Duplicate1_1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 385, 214.5 } },
      },
      MediaOut1 = MediaOut {
         Inputs = {
            Index = Input { Value = "0", },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Merge1_1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 495, 247.5 } },
      },
      Merge1_1 = Merge {
         Inputs = {
            Background = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background1_1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            Foreground = Input {
               SourceOp = "Transform1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            PerformDepthMerge = Input { Value = 0, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 385, 247.5 } },
      },
      Background1_1 = Background {
         Inputs = {
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 299, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            UseFrameFormatSettings = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            TopLeftRed = Input { Value = 0.2, },
            TopLeftGreen = Input { Value = 0.2, },
            TopLeftBlue = Input { Value = 0.2, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 275, 247.5 } },
      }
   }
}


https://drive.google.com/open?id=1AECKMonri1yaA2OJUC9ZL05bT8RkAA3F

Regards
Sadi

p.s. how the heck do I attach an image. grr

*Edit*
Attachments
lines.jpg
lines.jpg (170.43 KiB) Viewed 1328 times
Last edited by Saad Shah on Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Youtube Channel: Gargoyles At Work
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 2491
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: how to create parallels lines

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 6:39 am

Saad Shah wrote:p.s. how the heck do I attach an image. grr


Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (41.37 KiB) Viewed 1359 times


Then click the Place inline button to insert it into the message, or just submit, and it will show up at the bottom of the post.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.sidefx.com
Offline
User avatar

Saad Shah

  • Posts: 152
  • Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:36 pm
  • Real Name: Saad Shah

Re: how to create parallels lines

PostSun Feb 09, 2020 3:46 pm

Thank you Bryan!
Youtube Channel: Gargoyles At Work

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests