Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MarnMxxx

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:45 am
  • Real Name: Marn Morris

How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostFri Jun 21, 2019 3:06 am

In the Edit page I have a still image and on top of that I have a Text+.
Turned both into a Fusion clip.
In Fusion I want to animate the text+ nodes opacity. Any ideas how. I would think it would be easy but I can't find a way.
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1710
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostFri Jun 21, 2019 8:46 am

I don't know your setup, but usually you do this in Fusion by animating the blend slider in the merge tool, to fade out your text over your MedianIn. Or if you want to do in the Text tool, you can go to the shader tab and adjust the.... Opacity! slider. ;)
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

MarnMxxx

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:45 am
  • Real Name: Marn Morris

Re: How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostFri Jun 21, 2019 4:13 pm

Okay, so after deleting the text node (mediaIn after making the Fusion clip with it) and making a new text node in Fusion those options were available, thanks.
Offline

rsf123

  • Posts: 125
  • Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 3:05 pm
  • Real Name: Roger Smith

Re: How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostTue Feb 11, 2020 4:14 am

In Fusion, you can create a BrightnessContrast node. Inside the node, at the Inspector, the slider that controls Opacity is not named, but has the words LOW and HIGH. It controls 0.1 to 1.0 (or more). You can stipulate which of R, G, B, or A (all) are controlled. By pressing A (for All), I find that sliding the controller between 0 and 1 controls the opacity.

To animate, this slider can be keyframed.

opacity.jpg
opacity.jpg (52.4 KiB) Viewed 2993 times
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1446
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostTue Feb 11, 2020 4:21 am

It's much easier to just use the Gain control to do that than the threshold range control. Gain is a multiplier on the channels, so Gain 0 means RGBA * 0 = 0.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

Derek Howard

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 12:33 am
  • Location: Austin, TX

Re: How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostFri Feb 28, 2020 3:43 pm

I've found this somewhat frustrating myself in Fusion. I haven't been able to make the Brightness/Contrast node option to work for me (it turns black instead of transparent).

My current work around is to just make an extra merge node and connect a transparent background node into the merge's background input. Then connect the section I want to animate opacity on into the foreground input and animate the blend.

That said, just a simple "Opacity" or "Transparency" node would be much nicer to have. Not just for a simple function, but also for easy visibility in your node tree.
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1710
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostFri Feb 28, 2020 8:29 pm

I've found this somewhat frustrating myself in Fusion. I haven't been able to make the Brightness/Contrast node option to work for me (it turns black instead of transparent).

That's because by default the Brightness/Contrast tool doesn't influence the alpha channel. If you check the alpha box the gain control will work.

And if you want to create a transparency node, it's about 3 minutes of work. Check the alpha checkbox, create a macro, only expose the gain slider, rename it to opacity/transparency and hide all the other controls and you're good to go.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Derek Howard

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 12:33 am
  • Location: Austin, TX

Re: How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostMon Mar 02, 2020 2:40 pm

Sander de Regt wrote:And if you want to create a transparency node, it's about 3 minutes of work. Check the alpha checkbox, create a macro, only expose the gain slider, rename it to opacity/transparency and hide all the other controls and you're good to go.

Thank you! That was super simple to make and a huge help! :D
Offline

Andrev

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:53 pm
  • Location: Paraguay
  • Real Name: Andre Villalba

Re: How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostFri Jun 19, 2020 10:10 pm

I go for a rectangle node connected to the "mask" connector con the "Text+"
Then on the Inspector Animate "Level" on the rectangle node.
Found it frustrating actually that is not a simple Opacity control non "Text+" or "Transform"

Coming from AE
Offline

Andrev

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:53 pm
  • Location: Paraguay
  • Real Name: Andre Villalba

Re: How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostFri Jun 19, 2020 10:20 pm

Made a video
Attachments
Untitled-1.png
Untitled-1.png (116.44 KiB) Viewed 231 times
Offline

Derek Howard

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 12:33 am
  • Location: Austin, TX

Re: How do I animate opacity in Fusion?

PostFri Jun 26, 2020 8:03 pm

There is already an opacity slider in the Text+ node.

Also Sander de Regt's trick for creating your own Opacity node as a Macro from a Brightness and Contrast node works perfectly and was super easy to setup.

And if you want to create a transparency node, it's about 3 minutes of work. Check the alpha checkbox, create a macro, only expose the gain slider, rename it to opacity/transparency and hide all the other controls and you're good to go.


That said, it would be nice to have the Opactiy as an option in the transform node. It would just make it easier on all users but especially for new users who are transitioning.
Attachments
TextPlus_Opactiy.png
TextPlus_Opactiy.png (60.67 KiB) Viewed 220 times

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests