Can't Start DaVinci 15

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Victor Avila

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:47 am
  • Real Name: Victor Ávila

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostMon Aug 26, 2019 3:25 pm

I did the clean install and still the same problem.

Nothing changed.

I try to open but nothing happens.

I read somewhere that it could be because of my headset.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostMon Aug 26, 2019 5:38 pm

Bluetooth headsets on Windows 10 have been reported to interfere with Resolve in the past.

If you have such headsets, disconnect them to see if that's the issue.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Victor Avila

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:47 am
  • Real Name: Victor Ávila

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostMon Aug 26, 2019 6:38 pm

It's not bluetooth and I already tried without them and without any sound devices at all.

So frustrating because I bought this computer just to work with DAVINCI
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostMon Aug 26, 2019 8:53 pm

Delete this Intel graphics related file:

C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\igdlh64.inf_amd64_250db833a1cd577e\igdrclneo64.dll

Then try Resolve. If it still fails to launch, send another log and NFO file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Victor Avila

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:47 am
  • Real Name: Victor Ávila

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostMon Aug 26, 2019 10:09 pm

It worked!!

Thank you very much!!

What was the problem?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostMon Aug 26, 2019 10:18 pm

That file was the problem. A few of the Intel HD Video driver files can cause this issue.

Since your NFO reported no Intel HD graphics being detected, no issue deleting this file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

sriniak

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 3:41 pm
  • Real Name: SRINIVASA KUMAR

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostTue Aug 27, 2019 3:53 pm

Hi,
I have the same issue, when I double click of Resolve icon, loading icon remains for about 3-5 seconds and nothing loads. When checked in the 'Task Manager' it shows as working.

It's my first installation of DaVinci Resolve 16.0. I try to uninstall/reinstall several time, ensuring no previous has been kept.

My config is:
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition
Proc: i7 8750H
Graphic Cards: GeForce GTX 1060
RAM: 16 GB
Resolve Edition: 16.0

Here is the file generated by CaptureLogs command: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1S5qT- ... Bxy9rdKXxW

Thanks for your help if you see anything wrong. I'll have to work on video editing and wanted to try DaVinci Resolve.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostTue Aug 27, 2019 10:48 pm

Go to the MSI GV62 support site:

https://www.msi.com/Laptop/support/GV62 ... Win10%2064

And download and install the Intel 24.20.100.6169 driver from the VGA Driver section.

After you've done that, download and install the NVIDIA 430.86 Studio driver from the NVIDIA driver site:

https://www.nvidia.com/download/driverR ... 7971/en-us

When you run the driver installer, select the Custom option and select Clean Install.

If Resolve still won't launch, send another Resolve log and NFO file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

user_01

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Erin Morris

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostWed Aug 28, 2019 4:23 am

Hi guys,

I am experiencing a similar issue. I have tried a few versions of Da Vinci 15 and also Da Vinci 14 (which abruptly crashed).

Da Vinci 15.x gets stuck on 'loading waveform monitor'
Da Vinci 15.1 gets stuck on 'looking for control surface'

Do you have any idea what the problem might be?

I am using an iMac (27-inch, Late 2009). macOS Sierra, version 10.12.6
Processor: 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory: 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7805
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostWed Aug 28, 2019 6:24 am

DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostWed Aug 28, 2019 6:30 am

Also, your iMac is inadequate to run Resolve.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

rachaelbone

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:38 pm
  • Real Name: rachael bone

Davinci Resolve 14.1.1 wont open

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 6:11 pm

Hi guys all was going fine until I went to open davinci this morning, it runs its loading process and then I just see that Davinci resolve is "Open" but all I can see is my desk top.

I have attached my SPX file and crash logs.

I have backed up my databases but the work I have on there is so important so i am scared of losing it!!
Attachments
SPX.zip
(307.9 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20190926-102707.tgz
(852.98 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostWed Oct 02, 2019 5:06 am

Why are you using Resolve 14.1.1?

My best guess, based on the last working log and the current crash logs, is that you have some file in the Resolve Media Storage path that is causing Resolve to hang, as it appears it's hanging and you are force quitting it a few minutes later.

As a test, try removing all your external drives and see if Resolve launches.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Vall-e

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:25 am
  • Real Name: Valentin Saumweber

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 16.1.1.005

PostSat Dec 07, 2019 6:36 pm

Hello,

My problem is that my programm wont launch at all. When I click on the programm there is a loading sign and after 10 seconds its gone. I looked up in the Task-Manager and when I start the programm it shows DaVinci Resolve in the backgroundfiles, but after 10 seconds the Task-Manager shows "Stopped" and it is gone. Its only happening with the 16.1.1.005 version and the 15.2.1 works fine.
My specs are:
Laptop: LAPTOP-K66Q58E2
Prozessor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8850U CPU @1.80 GHz 2.00 GHz
RAM: 8 GB
64 bit Windows 10

Thank you
Valentin Saumweber
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostMon Dec 09, 2019 6:07 pm

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

This will place a Resolve log file named similar to this on your Windows desktop: DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20181228_140434.zip (You may not see the .zip extension if your system is set to hide known extensions).


Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

therealsteve

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 10:24 am
  • Real Name: Steven Peter

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 10:37 am

Hi, i'm having a similar problem.
I'm in the middle of a project and this morning i was still able to open DaVinci Resolve 16 normally. But when i try to open it now, it only opens the splash screen and then disappears.

My log file and the nfo file can be found here:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ITHOT ... gYQdCfomW4

I already tried some of the suggestions here, like deleting the igdrcl64.dll file, but nothing worked. I didn't do a clean install yet because I was not sure if I can uninstall Resolve and do a clean install without losing all my files. I also couldn't located the folder where my project is saved.

Thanks for your help!
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 5:57 pm

You have a very old NVIDIA driver (391.40) installed. Update the NVIDIA driver to the current 441.66 driver, and see if that helps:

https://www.nvidia.com/download/driverR ... 5643/en-us

When you run the driver installer, use the Custom - Clean Install option, and not the Express option.

You might also try the current 16.1.1 Resolve version.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

DanCaveTech

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 1:37 pm
  • Real Name: Danilo Armenio

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostThu Jan 02, 2020 1:52 pm

Hi there,

having the same issue since transitioning from a GTX 1660 Ti to an RX 5700.
Trying to start Resolve 15, as soon as it reaches Loading Fairlight Page it just disappears. The application lingers a little bit on the task manager and then gets killed by Windows. I tried formatting the hard drive, cleaning with DDU, a multitude of driver versions, yet the result is always the same.

Here are the NFO and the LOGs

https://wetransfer.com/downloads/cd4ee4 ... 405/5972cd

Thank you for any possible insight,

Danilo.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostTue Jan 07, 2020 10:01 pm

It appears to be graphics driver related.

Have you tried the current 19.12.2 and 19.12.3 Optional drivers?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Irakli

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 3:04 am
  • Real Name: Irakli Rodonaya

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostSat Jan 18, 2020 3:10 am

Hi. I bought new MacBook Pro 16 inch. 2,6 GHz, 32 GB, Graphics Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 МБ. Davinci will not start. Please help.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostThu Jan 23, 2020 5:49 am

This thread provides details on how to provide us information that we need to help you.

As a start, we need a Resolve log from your system.

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Irakli

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 3:04 am
  • Real Name: Irakli Rodonaya

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostFri Feb 14, 2020 10:34 pm

Hello all! Please help! Can't start Davinci resolve on

MacBook Pro, 16 inch, 2019
2,6 GHz 6‑ядерный процессор Intel Core i7
32 ГБ 2667 MHz DDR4
AMD Radeon Pro 5300M 4 ГБ
Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 МБ

How can this be possible?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 6759
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostSat Feb 15, 2020 2:00 am

Go to your system preferences and switch to the better GPU, if possible.
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

Irakli

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 3:04 am
  • Real Name: Irakli Rodonaya

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostSat Feb 15, 2020 2:47 pm

here is the link to my log

dropbox. com / s/a6rkuvqvz5fsbxy/DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20200215-093859.tgz?dl=0
Offline

honchy

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2020 6:00 pm
  • Real Name: Juan Menendez

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostWed Mar 04, 2020 6:03 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Run the Resolve uninstaller.

Then in a finder window, rename the /Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve folder to /Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve.old

Then rename the /Library/Preferences/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve folder to /Library/Preferences/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve.old

Now install Resolve 15.0.1. Does it work now? If not, please provide an updated log file.


Hi Dwaine,

Hats off to you, you've been solving issues for people for so long it seems. After many unsuccessful attempts to fix this issue, this was the solution that worked for me.

My question is, after I've done this, how do I restore the projects I worked on before?

I opened Resolve again and they weren't there, and I tried to restore from the backed up database to no avail. Do I have to link it to the .old folder somehow?

Thank you!

EDIT: I figured it out! Just had to copy over the folder. Thanks anyway!
Offline

tokomocho

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Jose Riviera

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostSat Mar 07, 2020 11:27 am

Hi Dwayne & Co.,

I also can't start Resolve. I just installed it (not Studio, the free version), and it simply won't open. I've never used it on this computer. I installed it this morning, and when I double-click on it, the little wheel (formerly the sand-clock) just spins 1-2 seconds, then nothing happens. Tried re-booting, tried uninstalling and then reinstalling. Nothing.

HP Spectre x360
Intel Core i7-7500U
RAM 16GB
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
GeForce 940MX, driver version 422.02

Was really looking forward to switching from Premiere cause I've used Resolve in the past for color grading and it was great. So since I've been having issues with Premiere the last few weeks, I was hoping I could do the whole post-workflow within Resolve.

Any ideas??

Thanks!
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7805
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostSun Mar 08, 2020 12:58 pm

Have u tried 16.2?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

tokomocho

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Jose Riviera

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostSun Mar 08, 2020 4:05 pm

Oh yes, I was referring to 16.2
like I said, I just downloaded it this weekend, so it is 16.2.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostMon Mar 09, 2020 10:49 pm

Yes, I have an idea. As mentioned several other times in this thread alone, we need a Resolve log and a Windows System Information .NFO file to provide any assistance.

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

This will place a Resolve log file named similar to this on your Windows desktop: DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20181228_140434.zip (You may not see the .zip extension if your system is set to hide known extensions).


Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

tokomocho

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Jose Riviera

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostTue Mar 10, 2020 10:50 pm

Hi Dwayne,
Thanks for your help!
I put it the files in this folder:
https://drive google com/drive/folders/1kJrhknI3VdIeKhAfU1pNPk8Mm-_6mkhP?usp=sharing
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostThu Mar 12, 2020 6:15 pm

Please try the current NVIDIA 442.50 driver for your 940MX GPU.

HP has no docs on what your BIOS capabilities are, but if there is a BIOS video related option to use the 940MX GPU instead of the Intel HD graphics, also try that.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

tokomocho

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Jose Riviera

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostFri Mar 13, 2020 5:04 pm

Thanks Dwayne!

I updated the 940MX driver to 442.50 but unfortunately, that didn't help :(

I booted to BIOS but unfortunately, I don't see an option there to switch between Intel and NVIDIA.

Also, in the NVIDIA Control Panel, under "Manage 3D Settings", I set the 'preferred graphics processor' to NVIDIA, and under 'Program Settings', I also set the preferred graphics processor for DaVinci Resolve to NVIDIA. But none of this helped either.

Any other ideas as to what my problem might be..?

Just FYI, I tried opening the other programs that were installed with the whole Blackmagic 'package', and just like Resolve, I'm not able to open Blackmagic RAW Player and Blackmagic RAW Speed Test either (same as with Resolve: I see the wheel/sand clock spinning for 1-2 seconds, then nothing happens). I am however able to open DaVinci Resolve Panels, DaVinci Resolve Project Server, Fairlight Panel Setup, Fairlight Studio Utility. Just mentioning this in case it is conclusive to the underlying problem.

Thanks again!
Offline

tokomocho

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 10:01 am
  • Real Name: Jose Riviera

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostMon Mar 16, 2020 1:22 pm

I just tried uninstalling Resolve 16, then I downloaded and installed Resolve 14, but same problem: I double-click on the application, wheel spins for 1-3 seconds, then nothing happens. By the way, I also checked the task manager and it shows Resolve as one of the processes running (again, even though the program doesn't even open).
(after this 'test', I uninstalled 14 and re-installed 16)
Offline

Jan Billert

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 7:26 pm
  • Real Name: Jan Billert

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostFri Mar 20, 2020 8:34 pm

Dear Dwayne,
I have similar problem with my latest Resolve 16.2. I've had problem with no video playback, so updated drivers for my GeForce GTX 1080 and then for intel HD 630 (motherboard). But then Resolve refused to start at all. At first - informing that it stopped unexpectedly - and later, after uninstalling-reinstalling (few times) - even with no error information.

Resolve logs
https://drive.google.com/open?id=132qLm ... ko9oz1rF5R

NFO
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1OKBfG ... ZDXVBcSAf8

Thank you in advance!
Offline

DanCaveTech

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 1:37 pm
  • Real Name: Danilo Armenio

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 8:59 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:It appears to be graphics driver related.

Have you tried the current 19.12.2 and 19.12.3 Optional drivers?


Hi Dwaine,

multiple updates to the Adrenalin Drivers have been released and I still get the same issue when loading the Fairlight module.

I re-ran the Logs and System info and here are the new files.
https://we.tl/t-7dR7oV9VxN

Any idea on how to fix it?

Thanks,

Dan.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 9:35 pm

Please try Resolve 16.2.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

DanCaveTech

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 1:37 pm
  • Real Name: Danilo Armenio

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 10:28 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Please try Resolve 16.2.


Yeah, fixed the issue upgrading!

Thanks Dwaine,

Dan.
Offline

Jan Billert

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 7:26 pm
  • Real Name: Jan Billert

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostSun Mar 29, 2020 11:42 pm

Dear Dwaine,
I've installed the latest version 16.2. Reinstalled it few times, but still I can't start the program. Resolve shows "looking for control surface" initial window, but then nothing happens next. I would be very grateful for help. Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6147
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostTue Mar 31, 2020 3:48 am

Move your display from the on-board graphics connector (on the motherboard) to the GTX1080 card.

Also update your NVIDIA driver to the 431.86 Studio driver. When you install it, select the Custom option and select the Clean Install selection. You can get that at this link:

https://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us

If you still have issues after doing these 2 things, then provide links to an updated log and NFO file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Jan Billert

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 7:26 pm
  • Real Name: Jan Billert

Re: Can't Start DaVinci 15

PostTue Mar 31, 2020 5:55 pm

Thank you, Dwaine!!
I've moved the connector and Resolve works a treat now (even without installing the driver you suggested). Thank you very much!
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jasonvp, Jeff Brass, Joakim Hernberg and 96 guests