Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Having problems with 3d in fusion

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Tinari

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 3:59 am
  • Real Name: Robert Tinari

Having problems with 3d in fusion

PostWed Mar 25, 2020 5:06 am

Hi, this is my first post here. I am new to Fusion . I have Resolve 16 and I"m trying to learn Fusion. I have been learning fusion for about 2 months and have watched many tutorials and have taken a free basic class from Bernd at VFXstudy.com. I'm following along fine. I am trying to incorporate 3d models into a composite I am working on. I watched VFXstudy's YOutube tutorial on using a camera tracker with 3d image plans and got it to work the way he did it. However, he used a png photo and not a 3d model. I have gone to turbo squid and downloaded 3 different 3d .FBX models. I could only get 1 to load in fusion and it doesn't have any texture on it. Searching on Turbo Squid for fbx models shows me how ignorant I am about 3d models. I am not understanding which ones are ready to use in Fusion. I know Fusion will only accdept FBX models but how do I know which ones are textured and ready to use in Fusion? Some say they are animated, some are rigged, most of them say they have textures , but none of them say they will play in Fusion. I do not have or know how to use Maya, Blender, 3ds or any other 3d software. Does that mean I can't buy models that will work in Fusion without importing them into a 3d software first to rig or animate them ? I would greatly accept advice on this matter and the name of any websites I can buy models that will work without any other 3d software. Thanks in advance!
Offline
User avatar

Saad Shah

  • Posts: 106
  • Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:36 pm
  • Real Name: Saad Shah

Re: Having problems with 3d in fusion

PostWed Mar 25, 2020 3:58 pm

Hey Robert,
You can import your models into Fusion and then use Fusion tools to apply textures. You can also import 3D cameras and FBX scenes too. I am not an expert in 3D but here's a couple of helpful links for you to check out:

Millolab Tuts



Bernd's 5 part video series


Hope this helps
Sadi
Youtube Channel: Gargoyles At Work
Offline

Tinari

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 3:59 am
  • Real Name: Robert Tinari

Re: Having problems with 3d in fusion

PostWed Mar 25, 2020 4:18 pm

Thanks for the links. I notice the one is from VFXstudy. I watched that one months ago and it completely went over my head then. I will watch them again, hopefully I will get it now.
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 994
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Having problems with 3d in fusion

PostWed Mar 25, 2020 5:24 pm

Make sure that when you download the model, say from Turbosquid, that it is a fbx format and that it states that textures are included. Then unzip it to a folder. In the Fusion tab, go up to the Fusion menu and select Import>FBX Scene. Make sure you choose to import all of the meshes and materials from the dialog box after you have selected the FBX file from the folder you unzipped. You should then see the files imported into your Media Pool and nodes in the Node Editor. Add a 3DMerge node and connect the Transform3D node to it and you should then be able to see your model in the Merge3D node.
Attachments
2020-03-25 (1).png
2020-03-25 (1).png (1006.97 KiB) Viewed 178 times
2020-03-25 (2).png
2020-03-25 (2).png (390.71 KiB) Viewed 178 times
2020-03-25 (3).png
2020-03-25 (3).png (712.22 KiB) Viewed 178 times
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2
Offline

Wojtek G

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:54 am
  • Location: Kilkenny
  • Real Name: Wojtek Getka

Re: Having problems with 3d in fusion

PostWed Mar 25, 2020 7:02 pm

Also sometimes you can encounter fbx files ver7.5 (2016) which are not supported by Fusion. Only up to 7.4 (2014)
One more thing..Fusion 16 supports other 3d formats like collada(dae), obj, 3ds and few more.. All accessible through fbx import command.
Offline

Jeff Ha

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:38 am

Re: Having problems with 3d in fusion

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 10:17 am

if you are going to use 3D in fusion it may be worth learning 3D. At least the basics. While I don't like Blender, it is free and can help you learn the basics. Also, it has a good modeling toolset which will help you generate new 3D content as well as fixing up models from 3D asset sites like Turbosquid. I typically use Alembic format, exported from Maya and bring it into Fusion.
Offline

Tinari

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 3:59 am
  • Real Name: Robert Tinari

Re: Having problems with 3d in fusion

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 3:10 pm

Have any of you guys learned Blender? I have been contemplating learning Blender, however how much time needs to be invested to be able to use it?
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 994
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Having problems with 3d in fusion

PostFri Mar 27, 2020 2:44 am

Tinari wrote:Have any of you guys learned Blender? I have been contemplating learning Blender, however how much time needs to be invested to be able to use it?


Blender is great, I have used it off and on for a few years. They made some major improvements with version 2.8. There is a learning curve but that is true of pretty much any program, I think it is worth the time to learn.
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, rsf123 and 7 guests