Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion connect needs some love (used with Media Composer)

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Fusion connect needs some love (used with Media Composer)

PostWed Apr 22, 2020 12:50 pm

It works with Media Composer (2019.12) but it doesn't bring up the Fusion project the first time (just a pair of empty Fusion documents), you really need Fusion Studio open first. Also, Fusion Studio is not brought to the foreground when clicking in Media Composer to edit the composition.

Minor issues but they take what could be a great integration and diminish it.

This is with Media Composer 2019.12 and Fusion Studio 16.2.1 with Fusion Connect 16

Can we get any thoughts from the BMD team on this one?

Thanks folks
Resolve Studio 16.2.3 | Fusion Studio 16.2.3 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion connect needs some love (used with Media Composer

PostMon Jun 15, 2020 12:15 pm

This still hasn't been addressed and it would appear that there is yet another incompatibility with the most recent MC ...

I've posted an email to BMD support to see if there is anything they can do.
Resolve Studio 16.2.3 | Fusion Studio 16.2.3 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion connect needs some love (used with Media Composer

PostTue Jun 23, 2020 4:32 pm

And... BMD support claimed that I should post here to get some feedback from someone from BMD...

They also claimed that they can't pass anything along to their development team because the latest issue I am reporting is actually found in a beta version of Media Composer... I understand this in principle but I also think that BMD developers should look at how they solved this issue the last time Media Composer changed and broke Fusion Connect because whatever they did was not particularly robust.

I cannot act as a go-between but it looks like neither party is willing to look at this seriously - at least not yet.

Disappointed so say the least - when the next version of Media Composer is officially released I will report back here if the problem gets fixed by Avid...

Cheers
Resolve Studio 16.2.3 | Fusion Studio 16.2.3 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion connect needs some love (used with Media Composer

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 1:05 pm

Media Composer 2020.6 was released a few days ago. Problem with Fusion Connect is still present...

BMD?
Resolve Studio 16.2.3 | Fusion Studio 16.2.3 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Jason Conrad

  • Posts: 284
  • Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:23 pm

Re: Fusion connect needs some love (used with Media Composer

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 6:48 pm

What are you trying to do?
-MacBook Pro (14,3) i7 2.9 GHz 16 GB, Intel 630, AMD 560 x1
-[DR 16.2.5.015]
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion connect needs some love (used with Media Composer

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 11:22 am

I don't understand your question, Jason. My post describes bugs in Fusion Connect - a product specific to Media Composer (it's a bridge between Media Composer and Fusion Studio).

Just to recap, with Media Composer 2020.6 and Fusion Connect 16 the following bugs are observed:

1. With Fusion Studio closed, clicking on 'Edit' in the effect parameters page in MC launches Fusion Studio but does not open the associated Fusion project the first time.

2. With Fusion Studio open, clicking the 'Edit' button in the effect parameter page in MC opens the associated Fusion project twice in Fusion Studio.

3. Clicking on the browse to location button in the effect parameters page in MC opens the browse dialog. Clicking OK or Cancel to this dialog triggers the dialog to open a second time.

4. Clicking on the configure locations button in the effect parameters page in MC does nothing (I'm not in front of my machine and cannot remember the exact name for this button but it's the one where the rules for where the Fusion project will be located by default and how it will be named based on things like the MC sequence name, etc).

These are all buttons within the Fusion Connect plugin when viewed inside the Media Composer effects editor page. It makes using the plugin far less user-friendly.

All of my tests were done with the latest Fusion Studio at the time and most recently with 16.2.3.

There has only been one release of Fusion Connect 16 and some of these issues were present with earlier versions of Media Composer, however, with Media Composer 2020.6 the doubling-up of browse dialogs and of projects in Fusion Studio appeared so I think it's time for BMD to have another look at the Fusion Connect plugin to smooth-out this behaviour.

Please.
Resolve Studio 16.2.3 | Fusion Studio 16.2.3 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Jason Conrad

  • Posts: 284
  • Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:23 pm

Re: Fusion connect needs some love (used with Media Composer

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 7:12 pm

I did not know that Fusion Connect was advertised as an Avid roundtrip workflow. I thought it was only between Fusion Studio and Resolve. Apologies.
-MacBook Pro (14,3) i7 2.9 GHz 16 GB, Intel 630, AMD 560 x1
-[DR 16.2.5.015]
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion connect needs some love (used with Media Composer

PostSun Jul 05, 2020 6:38 pm

Jason Conrad wrote:I did not know that Fusion Connect was advertised as an Avid roundtrip workflow. I thought it was only between Fusion Studio and Resolve. Apologies.


No need to apologize, lol. Fusion Connect 16 is a separately downloadable plugin for Media Composer that only works with Fusion Studio 16. I bought the Fusion Studio 9 dongle long before the price reduction because the integration with MC made for a really great workflow. Now it's not as great but it could be....
Resolve Studio 16.2.3 | Fusion Studio 16.2.3 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion connect needs some love (used with Media Composer

PostFri Jul 24, 2020 10:41 am

Just to bump this, I had sent a in support request and have now been told that the developers are looking at this. Yippee.
Resolve Studio 16.2.3 | Fusion Studio 16.2.3 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests