Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Bad performance of Custom Tool in Fusion 16!

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Okke Verbart

  • Posts: 209
  • Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:40 pm

Bad performance of Custom Tool in Fusion 16!

PostSat Jun 27, 2020 8:34 pm

Apologies for the title, but as a long time Fusion 9 user, reluctantly trying to migrate to Fusion 16 (despite the UI issues), I've hit another stumbling block. Take the very simple comp below... When playing this back in Fusion 9, it flies on my computer (30fps-ish) whereas it's incredibly slow in Fusion 16 (1-3fps-ish). This was on the same computer, with the same settings.

I'm talking about the pre-cached fps, just playing the comp when displaying the custom tool in the viewer.

I've checked this with other folks too, and seems based on their feedback, it's not just on my end.
(btw, this was on the very latest version of Fusion 16 and also on the previous one)

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      FastNoise1 = FastNoise {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 119, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            Center = Input {
               Value = { -0.195, 0.5 },
               Expression = "Point(-time/200, 0.5)",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 220.667, 24.3336 } },
      },
      CustomTool1 = Custom {
         Inputs = {
            LUTIn1 = Input {
               SourceOp = "CustomTool1LUTIn1",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            LUTIn2 = Input {
               SourceOp = "CustomTool1LUTIn2",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            LUTIn3 = Input {
               SourceOp = "CustomTool1LUTIn3",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            LUTIn4 = Input {
               SourceOp = "CustomTool1LUTIn4",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            Intermediate1 = Input { Value = "getr2b(x,0.5)", },
            RedExpression = Input { Value = "i1", },
            GreenExpression = Input { Value = "i1", },
            BlueExpression = Input { Value = "i1", },
            Image1 = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            Image2 = Input {
               SourceOp = "FastNoise1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 249.333, 108.576 } },
      },
      CustomTool1LUTIn1 = LUTBezier {
         KeyColorSplines = {
            [0] = {
               [0] = { 0, RH = { 0.333333333333333, 0.333333333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
               [1] = { 1, LH = { 0.666666666666667, 0.666666666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
            }
         },
         SplineColor = { Red = 204, Green = 0, Blue = 0 },
         NameSet = true,
      },
      CustomTool1LUTIn2 = LUTBezier {
         KeyColorSplines = {
            [0] = {
               [0] = { 0, RH = { 0.333333333333333, 0.333333333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
               [1] = { 1, LH = { 0.666666666666667, 0.666666666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
            }
         },
         SplineColor = { Red = 0, Green = 204, Blue = 0 },
         NameSet = true,
      },
      CustomTool1LUTIn3 = LUTBezier {
         KeyColorSplines = {
            [0] = {
               [0] = { 0, RH = { 0.333333333333333, 0.333333333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
               [1] = { 1, LH = { 0.666666666666667, 0.666666666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
            }
         },
         SplineColor = { Red = 0, Green = 0, Blue = 204 },
         NameSet = true,
      },
      CustomTool1LUTIn4 = LUTBezier {
         KeyColorSplines = {
            [0] = {
               [0] = { 0, RH = { 0.333333333333333, 0.333333333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
               [1] = { 1, LH = { 0.666666666666667, 0.666666666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
            }
         },
         SplineColor = { Red = 204, Green = 204, Blue = 204 },
         NameSet = true,
      },
      Background1 = Background {
         Inputs = {
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 119, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 138, 108.576 } },
      }
   }
}
www.ablackbirdcalledsue.com
Offline

Okke Verbart

  • Posts: 209
  • Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: Bad performance of Custom Tool in Fusion 16!

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 3:30 pm

BTW - fyi, I sent an email to BMD support about this and added it to the bugtracker at the steakunderwater forum:

https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... =19&t=4214
www.ablackbirdcalledsue.com
Offline
User avatar

sepu66

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:35 pm
  • Location: San Francisco, CA
  • Real Name: Hernan Santander

Re: Bad performance of Custom Tool in Fusion 16!

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 6:02 pm

Same here as well , F9 with this test flies while F16 is just super slow. Hopefully this can be fixed in the next update. Thanks!
http://www.hernansantander.com/
Offline

Okke Verbart

  • Posts: 209
  • Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: Bad performance of Custom Tool in Fusion 16!

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 7:48 pm

Thanks for confirming Hernan!
www.ablackbirdcalledsue.com
Offline

Okke Verbart

  • Posts: 209
  • Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: Bad performance of Custom Tool in Fusion 16!

PostWed Jul 15, 2020 4:24 pm

I can happily report that the issue has been fixed in the latest Fusion 16 release!

Thanks devs!
www.ablackbirdcalledsue.com
Offline

Mark Grgurev

  • Posts: 586
  • Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:22 am

Re: Bad performance of Custom Tool in Fusion 16!

PostWed Jul 15, 2020 11:10 pm

Okke Verbart wrote:I can happily report that the issue has been fixed in the latest Fusion 16 release!

Thanks devs!


Yes it appears to be much better but at least in Resolve it's it's still waaay slower than Fusion 9. The comp you shared runs at about 22 fps in Resolve 16 and 54 fps in Fusion 9.
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 256
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Bad performance of Custom Tool in Fusion 16!

PostThu Jul 16, 2020 10:34 am

In Fusion Studio 16.2.4 I get ~32 FPS now. In Resolve Studio it's only 22-23.

I don't have Fusion Studio 9 installed, but I do still have the free Fusion 9. I tried this comp and the performance was absolutely terrible - 20+ seconds per frame!

EDIT: tried again and got 26-27 FPS in Fusion 9. No idea what happened in my earlier test; maybe some weird system issue. So I see Fusion Studio 16.2.4 being a little faster than free 9.0.2.
Last edited by TheBloke on Thu Jul 16, 2020 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve Studio 16.2.4.016 and Fusion Studio 16.2.4 on macOS Mojave 10.14.6

Hackintosh: X58, Intel X5670 @ 4.32 Ghz, 48GB RAM, AMD Vega 64 8GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 (4K) & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Offline

Okke Verbart

  • Posts: 209
  • Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: Bad performance of Custom Tool in Fusion 16!

PostThu Jul 16, 2020 4:13 pm

I don't have F9 free installed anymore, but I don't think there would be any difference. Are you sure you're running with the same settings? (HQ etc)
www.ablackbirdcalledsue.com
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 256
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Bad performance of Custom Tool in Fusion 16!

PostThu Jul 16, 2020 4:22 pm

errr.. I just re-tested it and I'm getting 26-27 FPS in Fusion 9 free :)

Sorry for the false alarm, I haven't a clue what was wrong earlier. In both cases I just pasted it into a default new composition. And I did try turning on/off HiQ on my earlier test.

Strange! Maybe some weird system issue. Or I ran it with Resolve still in the background and that caused an issue. Not sure.
Resolve Studio 16.2.4.016 and Fusion Studio 16.2.4 on macOS Mojave 10.14.6

Hackintosh: X58, Intel X5670 @ 4.32 Ghz, 48GB RAM, AMD Vega 64 8GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 (4K) & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chad Capeland and 14 guests