ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Bridge - SDI inputs

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MadPanic

  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:07 am
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK
  • Real Name: Declan Smith

ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Bridge - SDI inputs

PostThu Jul 30, 2020 5:09 pm

Just watched the product announcements for the ATEM Mini pro ISO and the Bridge, which are really exciting, but, why has the ATEM Mini only got the option for HDMI inputs? I have three cameras with SDI out, and SDI travels way further than HDMI so for multicamera live event setups, on a budget, it would be really handy to have SDI in. I know you can get individual convertors, but it would be nice to have an dual HDMI / SDI in model or a single convertor unit that can have say, 4 SDI / HDMI ins to SDI / HDMI out.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.2.5.015, MacPro 2009 upgraded to 2012, OSX High Sierra 10.13.6, 2x 3.46 Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64Gb Ram, Nvidea GeForce GTX TITAN 6Gb, 4TB SSD (2 x 2TB in RAID 0). URSA Broadcast 6.7
Offline

Raphaël Jacquot

  • Posts: 408
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Bridge - SDI inputs

PostThu Jul 30, 2020 5:12 pm

because they haven't released the update to the atem television studio YET :D
Offline

Defnas

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 8:52 am
  • Real Name: Stephen Wensley

Re: ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Bridge - SDI inputs

PostThu Jul 30, 2020 6:12 pm

I was hoping today's announcement was a Television Studio update as well.

Perhaps the next logical step for the Mini would be an ATEM Mini Pro Fibre version!
Offline
User avatar

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 1650
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm
  • Location: SVK

Re: ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Bridge - SDI inputs

PostThu Jul 30, 2020 10:43 pm

I hope BMD will add some new features for bigger atems ..
http://www.media-planet.sk
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://tally.pytkin.sk
Offline

LouisBacker

  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 11:50 pm
  • Location: Oxford, UK.
  • Real Name: LouisBacker

Re: ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Bridge - SDI inputs

PostThu Jul 30, 2020 11:55 pm

Roman Pytkin Pekarek wrote:I hope BMD will add some new features for bigger atems ..


Agreed. There is currently nothing streaming-wise for professional grade ATEM mixers and none of our Blackmagic and broadcast cameras has HDMI (quite understandably). It seems the focus is on YouTubers hooking up DSLRs, when there's a large pro-customer base out there having to stream via third-party hardware and software.
4 x Ursa Broadcasts, ATEM CCU, ATEM TV Studio 4K. NewTek Tricaster 460. Breville toaster and kettle.
Offline

Andrew Martin

  • Posts: 464
  • Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:25 pm

Re: ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Bridge - SDI inputs

PostFri Jul 31, 2020 1:46 pm

The mini was introduced for the youtube generation of web streamers. Who would most probably have a HDMI workflow.

Only when us guys noticed their versatility, new feature capability and general useful ness of it did momentum push these newer releases that see them in the hand of pros. Also the 300$ costs of the original and 600$ of the pro made them a must just to play with one on your desk?

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

David_Anderson

  • Posts: 229
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:24 pm

Re: ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Bridge - SDI inputs

PostFri Jul 31, 2020 2:04 pm

At this point I'm more inclined to use a software encoder platform (OBS, Wirecast) vs a hardware encoder. I find them to be too restrictive with respect to the ability to tweak settings, etc. They work well for the crowd they are marketed for however there is definitely not enough control from my perspective. Preliminary tests have shown for me better quality output using wirecast at the same settings as the AMP (bitrate & framerate). I think the algorithms built into the hardware encoder from BMD aren't as evolved as OBS and Wirecast.

It also boils down to inputs and the signal chain. One thing that many have complained about is the lack of scalers on all the inputs (now on AMP and Constellation) however in my view BMD forcing me to choose a single standard of resolution and use it through my entire chain actually creates a better end product. The less interpolation the better the output. It's like making a xerox of a xerox of a xerox. Diminishing returns.

What would be particularly useful is if BMD would let you stream to the ATEM Streaming Bridge and another output at the same time. EG - we'd like to stream to FB and multiple streaming bridges in the building. This would be particularly useful in situations where educators right now want to teach live in one room, but broadcast to other rooms as well as an online platform.

BM as always comes up with great new gear!

Best,

David



LouisBacker wrote:
Roman Pytkin Pekarek wrote:I hope BMD will add some new features for bigger atems ..


Agreed. There is currently nothing streaming-wise for professional grade ATEM mixers and none of our Blackmagic and broadcast cameras has HDMI (quite understandably). It seems the focus is on YouTubers hooking up DSLRs, when there's a large pro-customer base out there having to stream via third-party hardware and software.
David Anderson
Leading Edge Multimedia
https://leadingedgemultimedia.com
(888) 336-LEMM
Offline

WahWay

  • Posts: 164
  • Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 11:54 am
  • Real Name: Simon Chan

Re: ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Bridge - SDI inputs

PostFri Jul 31, 2020 3:02 pm

The Bridge is interesting. No so good for me right now as lockdown prevent me from returning to work till after Christmas.
Offline
User avatar

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 1650
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm
  • Location: SVK

Re: ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Bridge - SDI inputs

PostFri Jul 31, 2020 11:16 pm

Same here .. I preffer HW encoders or OBS for streaming .. This is reason why i was not changed ATEM MINI to ATEM MINI PRO .. ATEM MINI is really great HW for me .. Small , cheap .. Know everything what i need .. Im mostly using it as USB input into computer ..

I dont need built-in encoder in bigger atems .. But USB output will be nice .. But mostly I need for example DANTE support in ATEM .. etc ..
http://www.media-planet.sk
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://tally.pytkin.sk

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: trautendorfer and 14 guests