Cryptomatte

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

cedricduriau

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 9:45 pm
  • Real Name: Cédric Duriau

Cryptomatte

PostSat Jul 28, 2018 10:05 am

Hi

My name is Cédric Duriau and I am the developer of the Fusion version of Cryptomatte.

Andrew Hazelden, who contributes to the project, reported the issue that Cryptomatte currently does not work in Resolve. He pointed out the fact that the input node in Resolve is a MediaIn node, unlike the Loader node in Fusion. I quickly found out that within the Metadata of the Fusion Loader, I can retrieve the path of the input EXR as following:
Code: Select all
input_image.Metadata["Filename"]

This key is not present in the metadata of the image coming from a MediaIn node.

Considering the code is contained inside the Cryptomatte node, I cannot just ask for the MediaIn "MEDIA_NAME" information. Unless there is a way I am not aware of. So here lays my question, how can I get the file path of the input image, not having the input node object?

Looking at the calendar, SIGGRAPH 2018 isn't so far away, but looks far enough to find a solution to this quite simple problem. I would really appreciate it, and I think we all can benefit from a Resolve Cryptomatte, if this issue could be resolved by then. If you understand my point of view.

Cheers
Cédric

GitHub issue: https://github.com/cedricduriau/Cryptomatte/issues/6
Offline
User avatar

Rajiv Mudgal

  • Posts: 106
  • Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:03 am

Re: Cryptomatte

PostThu Aug 09, 2018 2:19 am

plus1
Cryptomatte is a time/life saver
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm8500260/
Offline

ftesla

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:38 am
  • Real Name: Francis Tesla

Re: Cryptomatte

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 12:45 am

Sorry!!!
In 15.1 it works!! Using the Loader node not the MediaIn.
Offline

cedricduriau

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 9:45 pm
  • Real Name: Cédric Duriau

Re: Cryptomatte

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 4:08 pm

Hi all

Yup, just confirmed this publicly.
Cryptomatte will from now on work out of the box with Resolve 15.1.

Enjoy!

Cheers
Cedric

PS: BMD, I still would have liked an update on this.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8978
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Cryptomatte

PostThu Sep 20, 2018 7:09 pm

What more do u need Cédric?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Simas Gineika

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:33 pm

Re: Cryptomatte

PostSat Oct 27, 2018 5:58 pm

I found that 15.1.2.008 Cryptomatte is very slow, and Resolve crashed few times. It send out some diagnostics for devs too. In general Viewport is so slow that it is impossible to work :(
macOS: 10.14.3 | Centos: 7.5
Offline
User avatar

Ricky Scharneck

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: Cryptomatte

PostThu Mar 14, 2019 9:03 am

Hi, is there any news on Cryptomatte in Resolve? I have a project coming up that could really benefit from it. Thanks :)
Offline

Kays Alatrakchi

  • Posts: 1084
  • Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 8:22 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cryptomatte

PostThu Mar 14, 2019 4:26 pm

Ricky Scharneck wrote:Hi, is there any news on Cryptomatte in Resolve? I have a project coming up that could really benefit from it. Thanks :)



Not sure what you're asking. It works in the latest Resolve.
>>Kays Alatrakchi
Filmmaker based in Los Angeles, CA
http://moviesbykays.com
Resolve 17, Mac OS X 10.15.7 (Catalina), i9 9800k 8-core, 64Gb DDR4 RAM, RX 5700 XT GPU, Decklink Mini 4K Monitor, LG C9, USB 3.1 RAID
Offline

mattrm

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:04 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Barbie

Re: Cryptomatte

PostTue Apr 16, 2019 10:28 am

Hi all,

Someone have a link how to install it in Davinvi Resolve 16 ?
Thank you !!!

Matt
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8205
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Cryptomatte

PostTue Sep 22, 2020 11:57 pm

i found that it works in resolve if i put a [loader], but it not works with a shot form the timeline [MediaIn].

is this the case or I'm doing something wrong?
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8205
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Cryptomatte

PostWed Sep 23, 2020 12:00 am

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      MediaOut3 = MediaOut {
         Inputs = {
            Index = Input { Value = "2", },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Cryptomatte1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 315.061, 183.562 } },
      },
      Cryptomatte1 = Fuse.Cryptomatte {
         Inputs = {
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Loader1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            Locator = Input { Value = { 0.82139577594123, 0.561524334251607 }, },
            MatteList = Input { Value = "\"/shop/mat1/standard_surface1\"", },
            CryptoLayerSlider = Input { Value = 3, },
            CryptoLayer = Input { Value = "crypto_material", },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 205.061, 183.562 } },
         Version = 121
      },
      MediaOut2 = MediaOut {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Index = Input { Value = "1", },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Cryptomatte1_1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 321.341, 121.639 } },
      },
      Loader1 = Loader {
         Clips = {
            Clip {
               ID = "Clip1",
               Filename = "C:\\jobs\\test\\11_criptomattes\\multichannel.exr",
               FormatID = "OpenEXRFormat",
               StartFrame = -1,
               LengthSetManually = true,
               TrimIn = 0,
               TrimOut = 0,
               ExtendFirst = 0,
               ExtendLast = 0,
               Loop = 0,
               AspectMode = 0,
               Depth = 0,
               TimeCode = 0,
               GlobalStart = 0,
               GlobalEnd = 0
            }
         },
         Inputs = {
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.RedName"] = Input { Value = FuID { "R" }, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.GreenName"] = Input { Value = FuID { "G" }, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.BlueName"] = Input { Value = FuID { "B" }, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.AlphaName"] = Input { Value = FuID { "A" }, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 74.6391, 183.562 } },
      },
      Cryptomatte1_1 = Fuse.Cryptomatte {
         Inputs = {
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Loader1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            Locator = Input { Value = { 0.570707070707071, 0.594582185491276 }, },
            KeyableSurface = Input { Disabled = true, },
            ViewMode = Input {
               Value = 1,
               Disabled = true,
            },
            MatteOnly = Input { Value = 1, },
            MatteList = Input { Value = "\"/obj/instance1:instances:59\", \"/obj/instance1:instances:273\"", },
            CryptoLayerSlider = Input { Value = 1, },
            CryptoLayer = Input { Value = "crypto_object", },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 201.138, 121.639 } },
         Version = 121
      },
      MediaIn1 = MediaIn {
         ExtentSet = true,
         CustomData = {
            MediaProps = {
               MEDIA_FORMAT_TYPE = "EXR",
               MEDIA_HEIGHT = 128,
               MEDIA_LAYER_DESC = {
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGBA",
                     LAYER_NAME = ""
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGB",
                     LAYER_NAME = "Cd"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGB",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_asset"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGBA",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_asset00"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGBA",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_asset01"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGBA",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_asset02"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGB",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_material"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGBA",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_material00"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGBA",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_material01"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGBA",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_material02"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGB",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_object"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGBA",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_object00"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGBA",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_object01"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGBA",
                     LAYER_NAME = "crypto_object02"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_RGB",
                     LAYER_NAME = "shape"
                  },
                  {
                     LAYER_IMG_TYPE = "IMG_TYPE_LUMINANCE",
                     LAYER_NAME = "pscale"
                  }
               },
               MEDIA_MARK_IN = 0,
               MEDIA_MARK_OUT = 23,
               MEDIA_NAME = "multichannel.exr",
               MEDIA_NUM_FRAMES = 24,
               MEDIA_NUM_LAYERS = 16,
               MEDIA_PAR = 1,
               MEDIA_PATH = "C:\\jobs\\test\\11_criptomattes\\multichannel.exr",
               MEDIA_SRC_FRAME_RATE = 24,
               MEDIA_START_FRAME = 0,
               MEDIA_WIDTH = 128
            },
         },
         Inputs = {
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 23, },
            Layer = Input { Value = "0", },
            ClipTimeEnd = Input { Value = 23, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            RedName = Input { Value = FuID { "R" }, },
            GreenName = Input { Value = FuID { "G" }, },
            BlueName = Input { Value = FuID { "B" }, },
            AlphaName = Input { Value = FuID { "A" }, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 55, 49.5 } },
      },
      MediaOut1 = MediaOut {
         Inputs = {
            Index = Input { Value = "0", },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "MediaIn1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 605, 49.5 } },
      }
   }
}


that is what i have to do.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Steve Roberts

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Cryptomatte

PostWed Sep 23, 2020 2:03 pm

Fusion supports cryptomatte, as does Resolve Fusion page, it is not supported in Resolve timeline, It uses extra channels that Fusion has. Also need Reactor plugins to get extra Cryptomatte tooling,

https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... =32&t=1814

So Media In via timeline only gives RGBA, all Media reloaded from the media pool in the Fusion page will have the extra layers and channels, Loader in Fusion will work for this as well.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8205
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Cryptomatte

PostWed Sep 23, 2020 8:30 pm

Steve Roberts wrote:Fusion supports cryptomatte, as does Resolve Fusion page, it is not supported in Resolve timeline, It uses extra channels that Fusion has. Also need Reactor plugins to get extra Cryptomatte tooling,

https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... =32&t=1814

So Media In via timeline only gives RGBA, all Media reloaded from the media pool in the Fusion page will have the extra layers and channels, Loader in Fusion will work for this as well.


That is problematic if i have (literally) thousands of shots of animation that have criptomatte.

How is doable to have a OFX in color that extract the alpha? I can see in the color page that the layer form the exr are there.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

RobertLech

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 3:46 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Lechl

Re: Cryptomatte

PostFri Nov 13, 2020 3:54 pm

It should be possible to do that. The advantage of using a very detailed masking in a color would be really useful. You already can adjust the layers, but there is not selection tool, as the plugin doesn't exist yet.
However, BM is kind of strange not support CG composition artist in general.

Fusion is closer and used a lot here, but BM isn't really bringing any Resolve technology to Fusion. For example the color page in Fusion offers new a lot HDR grading tools, that would ideal fit to Fusion and I also guess that it came from Fusion. No of that happened int 17. Not even the DaVince wide gamut made it.

Again, Resolve does it all nice, but there is no reason to use Resolve to color grade CG shots, that need a total different approach. Its possible yes. But there is a reason people use a node editor and not a timeline editing tool. Shot by Shot is workflow. Not a whole bunch of shots together.
OS: macOS 10.15.7 Catalina.
Hardware: MBP 15" 2019, 32GB RAM, Radeon Pro 560X
Software: Fusion and Resolve Studio 17
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8205
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Cryptomatte

PostFri Nov 13, 2020 7:24 pm

RobertLech wrote:It should be possible to do that. The advantage of using a very detailed masking in a color would be really useful. You already can adjust the layers, but there is not selection tool, as the plugin doesn't exist yet.
However, BM is kind of strange not support CG composition artist in general.

Fusion is closer and used a lot here, but BM isn't really bringing any Resolve technology to Fusion. For example the color page in Fusion offers new a lot HDR grading tools, that would ideal fit to Fusion and I also guess that it came from Fusion. No of that happened int 17. Not even the DaVince wide gamut made it.

Again, Resolve does it all nice, but there is no reason to use Resolve to color grade CG shots, that need a total different approach. Its possible yes. But there is a reason people use a node editor and not a timeline editing tool. Shot by Shot is workflow. Not a whole bunch of shots together.


i agree, what happen sometimes boils down to: “The Client ask for it”. Regardless of it make sense or not.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1266
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Cryptomatte

PostFri Nov 13, 2020 8:54 pm

I’m not super sure but I think ofx can’t access other channels besides RGBA so cryptomatte data might be unreachable for ofx plugin.
I do stuff.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Mees, cb8788, panos_mts and 124 guests