Apple M1 Dongle Issue

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Erunur

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:12 am
  • Real Name: Aaron Ridley

Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 1:38 pm

Just got my hands on a new MacBook Pro with the M1 chip 16gb ram and 1tb SSD. I have a Fusion studio dongle that I've been using on my PC desktop that I thought I'd try and use on the Mac with a thunderbolt USB adapter. Installed DR17 beta for M1 Macs as well as Fusion 17 Beta. Both programs start up and get to the license activation page that says enter license key or plug in dongle even though the dongle is plugged in. So my question is that a bug or feature?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9332
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 3:00 pm

Currently no dongle support on M1 systems.
We are looking into what can be done.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Erunur

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:12 am
  • Real Name: Aaron Ridley

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 6:30 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Currently no dongle support on M1 systems.
We are looking into what can be done.

Thanks for the quick reply and explanation. Hope development goes well and thanks for all you guys do.
Offline

John Spirou

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:51 pm

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 6:44 pm

So how can we run davinci studio on M1 ?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9332
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 7:52 pm

Activation keys do work.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

mclarenf1

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 6:16 pm
  • Real Name: Philip Coltart

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 10:57 pm

Me too. M1 not working. Can I convert my dongle into a license? Thanks.
Ryzen 3960x ThreadRipper
64GB 3600 Memory
Dual Radeon Pro VII 16GB
Titan Ridge
Dual LG UltraFine 5k Monitors
TRX40 Aorus Master MB
BeQuiet cooling tower
Geekbench 5 21,350
Cinibench R20 14,000
Offline

Steve Golding

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 1:57 am
  • Location: Adelaide, South Australia.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostFri Nov 20, 2020 1:07 am

Hm, that's not good. I really need it to work on AS unless BM are prepared to convert the license?

Steve
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 354
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostFri Nov 20, 2020 10:23 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Activation keys do work.

If one supplies the serial number printed on the dongle, is there a way to get a temporary license key until the dongle issue is sorted out?
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline

Marin Goleminov

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:25 am
  • Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 1:54 pm

Same problem (dongle not recognised on M1), same questions: how to exchange the dongle for a serial / key?
Offline

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 450
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 5:04 pm

In the past I have used VirttualHere to manage Avid and Resolve dongles (2 each) over 3 boxes. This might be a short term solution until BM or Apple come up with a solution.

You need the software running on two machines within a network, or VPN, and one of them runs the dongle, but the dongle can be deactivated on that machine, and activated on the other networked machine.
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 354
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 5:15 pm

Glenn Sakatch wrote:In the past I have used VirttualHere to manage Avid and Resolve dongles (2 each) over 3 boxes. This might be a short term solution until BM or Apple come up with a solution.

You need the software running on two machines within a network, or VPN, and one of them runs the dongle, but the dongle can be deactivated on that machine, and activated on the other networked machine.

I'll try that today
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 354
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostTue Nov 24, 2020 4:45 pm

Glenn Sakatch wrote:In the past I have used VirttualHere to manage Avid and Resolve dongles (2 each) over 3 boxes. This might be a short term solution until BM or Apple come up with a solution.

You need the software running on two machines within a network, or VPN, and one of them runs the dongle, but the dongle can be deactivated on that machine, and activated on the other networked machine.

VirttualHere won't open on the M1.
I get a "not authorized to run this application" error.
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 354
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostTue Nov 24, 2020 4:57 pm

Tried to get a license key since I own a dongle. But BM support won't do it.
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline
User avatar

gradymoore

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 4:40 pm
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Real Name: Grady Moore

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostTue Nov 24, 2020 6:28 pm

Same issue here. Dongle not working.
RIG
Resolve Studio 16.2
Decklink Studio 4K
ASUS Prime X299-DELUXE II
Intel I9-9920X (AIO liq cooled)
128 GB DDR4 2666 (16x8)
1x Titan RTX (442.19 Studio)
QNAP TVS-871T External RAID
2 x Samsung 1TB PCIe NVMe (sys + cache)
Windows 10 Pro
Offline

jchinnie

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:48 pm
  • Real Name: Josh Chinn

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostWed Dec 02, 2020 11:58 pm

Wish I knew this before purchasing m1. Didn't even think to research and very surprised by this. I would've thought BM mentioned in the notes when downloading the m1 version of resolve 17 beta.
Offline
User avatar

Mattias Lindberg

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 7:23 pm
  • Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostFri Dec 04, 2020 4:08 pm

No solution yet?
DaVinci Resolve 17 Studio
Windows 10 - Nvidia RTX 2080 Ti
Mac OS Big Sur - Mac Mini M1

Motion Graphic Designer
http://fakepilot.com
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9332
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostSun Dec 06, 2020 6:23 am

Watch for update coming
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 354
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostSun Dec 06, 2020 7:27 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Watch for update coming

You're such a tease.
Hahahaha
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline

Marin Goleminov

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:25 am
  • Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 4:15 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Watch for update coming

Whoop whoop.
And Fusion for M1 is there, too.

Thanks for the updates :D
Offline

Erunur

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:12 am
  • Real Name: Aaron Ridley

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostTue Dec 08, 2020 2:42 am

Issue seems to have vanished! Thanks!!
Offline

Kitarzan

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 8:51 pm
  • Real Name: Christopher Ouslan

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostSun Jan 10, 2021 1:23 am

Same problem here. I Just bought the new MB Pro M1 and realized now that I can't use DaVinci for my edits. I need it ASAP!

Can you guys convert my dongle into a license??? :!:
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 354
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostMon Jan 11, 2021 3:39 pm

Kitarzan wrote:Same problem here. I Just bought the new MB Pro M1 and realized now that I can't use DaVinci for my edits. I need it ASAP!

Can you guys convert my dongle into a license??? :!:

You need to upgrade to the latest version of 17 for silicon M1
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline

ClaytonMoore

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostSun Jan 17, 2021 3:53 pm

The system see's the dongle with the following information.

* Product ID: 0x0201
* Vendor ID: 0x096e
* Version: 1.0f
* Serial Number: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ( I hid the serial number for this post ) But it
shows up normally.

I guess I assumed since it's actually "visible", this needs to work.
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 354
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostSun Jan 17, 2021 4:56 pm

You have to upgrade to 17
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline

ClaytonMoore

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostSun Jan 17, 2021 5:31 pm

I updated two weeks ago........well nothing but version 17 has was ever installed on the new machine.
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 1609
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostSun Jan 17, 2021 5:35 pm

It's actually 17.1 you need.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], BradKish, Eturior, Google [Bot], Kenzo, MassimoAlbertoCroce, Milan Michalik, panos_mts, raganation, Robpoke, Vit Reiter and 123 guests