Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 1:58 pm

Hi I decided to buy a davinci resolve studio license, I contacted the seller closest to me, ADCOM and they told me that I can choose to buy version 16 or version 17.
I am wondering about the 17 studio version and a beta right?
So it's not perfect yet, so maybe it's better to buy davinci resolve studio 16 for now, and later I'll switch to version 17 when it's safer and hassle-free.
What do you recommend?
thanks.
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1006
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 3:02 pm

[quote="Erik Muraro"]Hi I decided to buy a davinci resolve studio license, I contacted the seller closest to me, ADCOM and they told me that I can choose to buy version 16 or version 17.
I am wondering about the 17 studio version and a beta right?
So it's not perfect yet, so maybe it's better to buy davinci resolve studio 16 for now, and later I'll switch to version 17 when it's safer and hassle-free.
What do you recommend?
thanks.[/quot

Don't know why your seller said such a thing? I would check if he is an authorized dealer because from an authorized dealer you will get a free speed editor console worth $295.00 free when you purchase the software. If he doesn't have this offer he is not an authorized dealer. Wherever you buy get version 16 and then upgrade without cost to 17

Ricardo Marty
Resolve 16, Abelton,
Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram,
512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 3:06 pm

You are right, in fact I will have the speed controll as a gift as you say, the dealer is authorized and this in the link below.


https://www.adcom.it/it/software/compos ... 1194_54258

Maybe I misunderstood me, anyway thanks for your advice now I understand
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 4:19 pm

sorry but studio version 16 I can't find the download!
only I find for the studio version resolve 17!
why? thanks
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 517
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 7:28 pm

cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/wingsX1 2TB 970evoplus/titanridgeTB3/HP1344/Radeon VII
Pocket4k speedbooster ultra
macOS 10.14.6 and macOS 11
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 8:08 am

Mark Foster wrote:https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/family/davinci-resolve-and-fusion

and scroll down



thanks
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 2:29 pm

I downloaded the file from the link you sent me, then I installed davinci resolve studio 16 but when I open it it asks me for the serial.
So I have to buy the license first and then enter the right serial?
I would like to know on how many PCs can I still use the serial?
And how many times can I deactivate and reactivate the serial?
For example, if I change the pc, or the SSD disk where windows 10 is installed fails or I want to format and install windows 10 from scratch and then davinci resolve studio 16.
For example on edius 8 pro, I can deactivate and reactivate the license for 5 or 6 times and then I get blocked and it doesn't work anymore, I have to call support and request the resetting of the use of the licenses.
Does this also work with davinci resolve studio 16?
thanks
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 517
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 5:33 pm

yes, you need the lisence (serial number) to start the studio version

you can use this number at 2 computer at the same time
if you enter the serial on a third computer, the first will not start
again so long you aktivate it again, and the second go down.

this game has no limit my knowledge
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/wingsX1 2TB 970evoplus/titanridgeTB3/HP1344/Radeon VII
Pocket4k speedbooster ultra
macOS 10.14.6 and macOS 11
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 5:36 pm

thanks ;)
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostThu Nov 26, 2020 8:11 am

Excuse a question, when I buy the serial and I will activate resolve studio 16, then should I update immediately to the studio version 17?

or being a beta is it better to wait a little longer?

thanks.
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1006
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostThu Nov 26, 2020 3:34 pm

Erik Muraro wrote:Excuse a question, when I buy the serial and I will activate resolve studio 16, then should I update immediately to the studio version 17?

or being a beta is it better to wait a little longer?

thanks.


yes, you can activate any DRV from ver, 14 to seventeen and probably newer ones.

Ricardo Marty
Resolve 16, Abelton,
Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram,
512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1006
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostThu Nov 26, 2020 3:35 pm

Erik Muraro wrote:Excuse a question, when I buy the serial and I will activate resolve studio 16, then should I update immediately to the studio version 17?

or being a beta is it better to wait a little longer?

thanks.


yes, you can activate any DRV from ver, 14 to seventeen and probably newer ones.

Ricardo Marty
Resolve 16, Abelton,
Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram,
512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostFri Nov 27, 2020 8:19 am

ricardo marty wrote:
Erik Muraro wrote:Excuse a question, when I buy the serial and I will activate resolve studio 16, then should I update immediately to the studio version 17?

or being a beta is it better to wait a little longer?

thanks.


yes, you can activate any DRV from ver, 14 to seventeen and probably newer ones.

Ricardo Marty


Thank you for your answer, but maybe I explained myself badly, I want to know if resolve 17 studio is reliable and without bugs and therefore I can move to this version, or since resolve 17 studio is still in BETA version and can have problems, then better still stick with the 16 studio version, you know?
thanks.
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline

Robert Jackson

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 5:30 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Jackson

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostFri Nov 27, 2020 6:41 pm

Perhaps i am not understanding this. I have recently purchased V17 from B &H End of Nov 2020 .....along with free editing controller. Received a digital SD card of V16 and activation code for 16. The editing controller to follow when it is released. Will my activation code work for V17? i am assuming it will.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9299
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSun Nov 29, 2020 5:52 am

Yes, the upgrade is free as detailed on the Resolve forum.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostTue Dec 01, 2020 10:35 am

I was disappointed with Black magic, I paid by bank transfer to get davinci resolve 16 + the speed rool for free, and today I ask the seller when he will ship everything, he replies that no one knows !!!!!! you have to wait when the goods will be available, and with balck magic the times are long !!!!!!!!!!
This was told to me after I made the transfer of the payment, and not before, before it seemed that everything was fast and without problems, I'm sorry that black magic is so little serious, things should be said before and not after the payment.
So I don't know if I will have resolve 16 for Christmas or if I have to wait for the new year.
When I bought edius 8 pro 3 years ago, the same day of payment by bank transfer they sent me the serial via email without any problems !!!!!!!!
I'm sad.

:oops: :cry:
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostFri Dec 25, 2020 3:29 pm

Sorry, I have a friend who uses MAC with high sierra installed, he would be interested in trying davinci resolve studio 16, but he asks me if it works on high sierra, I can't answer, what do you say?
thanks.

:D
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 8777
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostFri Dec 25, 2020 4:11 pm

While not officially supported, it works. But you can't be sure that every minor update will still work.
17 definitely doesn't work under High Sierra.
Resolve Studio 16.2.8 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
(currently my test system for DR 17 beta under Catalina 10.15.7)
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostFri Dec 25, 2020 4:15 pm

so resolve studio 16.2.7 on high sierra does it work?
my friend doesn't care about updating, he can stay on this version if it works fine.
thank you, and merry christmas.
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline

SergeS

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:04 am
  • Real Name: Serge Stauffer

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSun Dec 27, 2020 3:28 pm

I have been working with Davinci Resolve Studio 16.2.3 & High Sierra for months.
There were forced restarts about once a day in one project
(I have never found out the cause ...).
Now, I have worked with a few other projects and DR Studio 16.2.3 has been very stable for weeks. No sigle crash.

There is one minor, but annoying error:
If I grab a still and apply it as a grade (even to the same clip) the tracking-data of the power-windows always gets lost (in the Node Graph, it is still there ...). I don‘t know, if this is related to the incompatibility of 16.2.3 and High Sierra. Maybe this is a bug, which exists also in newer MacOS-Versions ... (or it has been corrected already).

So mainly because of that, I will install 16.2.8 tonight and report here, how stable it is in general.

MP 5.1 6-Core (flashed 4.1) / GTX 1080 Ti
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSun Dec 27, 2020 3:54 pm

SergeS wrote:I have been working with Davinci Resolve Studio 16.2.3 & High Sierra for months.
There were forced restarts about once a day in one project
(I have never found out the cause ...).
Now, I have worked with a few other projects and DR Studio 16.2.3 has been very stable for weeks. No sigle crash.

There is one minor, but annoying error:
If I grab a still and apply it as a grade (even to the same clip) the tracking-data of the power-windows always gets lost (in the Node Graph, it is still there ...). I don‘t know, if this is related to the incompatibility of 16.2.3 and High Sierra. Maybe this is a bug, which exists also in newer MacOS-Versions ... (or it has been corrected already).

So mainly because of that, I will install 16.2.8 tonight and report here, how stable it is in general.

MP 5.1 6-Core (flashed 4.1) / GTX 1080 Ti










Thanks for your advice and I'm waiting for your info on the updated version of DR 16.2.8 on high sierra
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline

G Randy Brown

  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 12:56 am
  • Location: New Mexico USA
  • Real Name: Gregory R Brown

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSun Dec 27, 2020 5:21 pm

Robert Jackson wrote:Perhaps i am not understanding this. I have recently purchased V17 from B &H End of Nov 2020 .....along with free editing controller. Received a digital SD card of V16 and activation code for 16. The editing controller to follow when it is released. Will my activation code work for V17? i am assuming it will.


After reading this I went to order 17 w/speed editor from BH but in chat they told me they would not ship the activation card until they receive the editor and had no idea when that could be...bummer :(
G Randy Brown
CPU- AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
GPU- Radeon RX 570 series
memory 32GB DDR4
MB ASRock B450 Pro4
Offline

SergeS

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:04 am
  • Real Name: Serge Stauffer

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSun Dec 27, 2020 5:51 pm

Erik Muraro wrote:Thanks for your advice and I'm waiting for your info on the updated version of DR 16.2.8 on high sierra


Mac Pro 5.1 6-core 3.46Ghz (flashed 4.1), 48Gb RAM, GTX 1080 Ti, Internal Raid 0 (4 Drives) for video.
Intensity Pro 4K
High Sierra 10.13.6
Desktop Video 11.4
Davinci Resolve Studio 16.2.8

I have made a short stress-test:

- ProRes HQ 25fps UHD in a UHD-Timeline, several nodes with heavy grading, tracked windows and so on.
- Video Monitoring HD 1080p

The clip plays back realtime without Render Cache.
Changes on the Micro Panel work with no delay.
The Scopes don't drop frames (quality set to high).
When I add one node with Temporal NR (2 frames), the frame rate drops to 16fps.

I can not trigger any crash for example by adding more NR-Nodes (and scrolling the timeline like crazy ...)
The minor error I have described above is still there. Fortunately I don't apply Grades with tracking-data very often.

So my first impression is that 16.2.8 is at least as stable and snappy as 16.2.3 in High Sierra.
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostMon Dec 28, 2020 7:48 am

Ok thanks for your advice.
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostMon Dec 28, 2020 3:26 pm

SergeS wrote:
Erik Muraro wrote:Thanks for your advice and I'm waiting for your info on the updated version of DR 16.2.8 on high sierra


Mac Pro 5.1 6-core 3.46Ghz (flashed 4.1), 48Gb RAM, GTX 1080 Ti, Internal Raid 0 (4 Drives) for video.
Intensity Pro 4K
High Sierra 10.13.6
Desktop Video 11.4
Davinci Resolve Studio 16.2.8

I have made a short stress-test:

- ProRes HQ 25fps UHD in a UHD-Timeline, several nodes with heavy grading, tracked windows and so on.
- Video Monitoring HD 1080p

The clip plays back realtime without Render Cache.
Changes on the Micro Panel work with no delay.
The Scopes don't drop frames (quality set to high).
When I add one node with Temporal NR (2 frames), the frame rate drops to 16fps.

I can not trigger any crash for example by adding more NR-Nodes (and scrolling the timeline like crazy ...)
The minor error I have described above is still there. Fortunately I don't apply Grades with tracking-data very often.

So my first impression is that 16.2.8 is at least as stable and snappy as 16.2.3 in High Sierra.



Sorry a question, but is your 2010 6 core mac pro still valid in 2020?
And a mac that works well despite being an old version?
Comparing it with an I7 4790K pc and 32 gb of ram, can you see the difference or do they have the same performance?
thanks.
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline

SergeS

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:04 am
  • Real Name: Serge Stauffer

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostTue Dec 29, 2020 8:21 am

There is a comparison of different builds (PC & Mac) with the "Resolve Standard Candle Benchmark". See the link below. There is also a post with my Mac Pro (see "Serge Basil", at that time with 32Gb RAM).

The GTX 1080 Ti makes the biggest difference as Davinci Resolve uses the GPU a lot. So the old CPU does not matter much.

Unfortunately High Sierra is the last MacOS, which supports Nvidia GPUs. And if you want to use this kind of GPUs in an old Mac Pro, you have to do hardware mods.

You could use a Radeon VII instead of the 1080 Ti in a MP 2009 / 2010, but with the option of a Hackintosh or the ARM-Chip based desktop Macs coming, I don't know, if this is worth the hassle any more.

https://liftgammagain.com/forum/index.p ... ost-115572
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostTue Dec 29, 2020 8:42 am

ok i got it thanks.
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], cobra427, Dave Shortman, Google Feedfetcher, panos_mts, peterwfraser, redis-bot and 102 guests