Does anyone use Touch Portal

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostSat Jan 09, 2021 9:05 am

MY MISTAKE. I SHOULD HAVE SAID TOUCH PORTAL AND NOT TURBO.

On a nearby thread I read about Streamdeck and decided to invest in the Resolve icons that worked with TOUCH Portal.

I cannot work out how they generate the key actions that we use from a Right Click. For example I want the command to Create a Multicam from Selected Clips.

Can one do this sort of thing with TOUCH Portal?

Tony
London UK
Last edited by TonyGamble on Sun Jan 10, 2021 6:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Turbo Portal?

PostSat Jan 09, 2021 3:50 pm

No TP users around yet.

Could someone tell me how to create a new shortcut for that command as shown currently empty in my keyboard.

Image

Maybe that would take me forward a step.

Why is it that when I put something in I am not being allowed to Save? Is it because that special keyboard is protected somewhere?
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Turbo Portal?

PostSat Jan 09, 2021 6:50 pm

OK. I have sorted the above with Todd - maestro guru at the folk who supply the DR software.

You can add your own hotkeys - not the way I started by attempting. But it does work.

But anyone who uses TP would be someone I'd love to have a chat with.

Tony
Offline

Jason Conrad

  • Posts: 713
  • Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:23 pm

Re: Does anyone use Turbo Portal?

PostSat Jan 09, 2021 11:57 pm

What's Turbo Portal? The top duckduckgo search is this thread.
-MacBook Pro (14,3) i7 2.9 GHz 16 GB, Intel 630, AMD 560 x1
-[DR 17.0 Beta9]
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostSun Jan 10, 2021 6:37 am

No wonder you could not find it Jason.

This is what I am referring to:-

https://www.touch-portal.com/

Tony
Offline

Skyzlmt

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 1:25 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Matthews

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostTue Feb 23, 2021 10:43 pm

I just heard about this... stumbled here after googling.

I am going to try this out. Downloading. Will tinker a few days.

I a not a Davinci power user
CyberPowerPC: Intel i7-9700k Nvidia 2700 Super 32GB
Offline

arbibarbarona

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 5:53 pm
  • Real Name: Arnel Barbarona

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostFri Apr 02, 2021 2:30 pm

I've been using Touch Portal with Davinci Resolve. There were plugins that enable me to pseudo control the color page as if TP is communicating with DR API.

Here's a Photo of what I mean.Image
Offline

arbibarbarona

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 5:53 pm
  • Real Name: Arnel Barbarona

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostFri Apr 02, 2021 7:50 pm

Another TP pages I used with DR.

Image

Image
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostSat Apr 03, 2021 9:38 am

Thanks Arnel,

First post after a long silence. I had put my Touch Portal to one side and forgotten about it.

I'll revisit it this weekend and do some revision on how to upload plugins.

Where did your first one come from with all that color control?

I also need to see how you 'improved' those buttons. The ones they supply with little images look tacky IMHO.

Hope you are around to respond.

Tony

London UK
Offline

arbibarbarona

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 5:53 pm
  • Real Name: Arnel Barbarona

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostSat Apr 03, 2021 10:17 am

Hi Tony,

Try visiting the TouchPortal Discord community. I shared a lot of my stuff there. I designed all my icons. and some I improved from SideshowFX's. I want to improve the color page next. It is on development though.
Offline

arbibarbarona

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 5:53 pm
  • Real Name: Arnel Barbarona

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostSun Apr 04, 2021 5:17 am

This is a work in progress with Touch Portal.

I designed all my icons.

Image
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostSun Apr 04, 2021 9:45 am

Thanks A,

I've just had a look and realise your color page is WIP.

I'll do some more research.

Tony
Offline

arbibarbarona

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 5:53 pm
  • Real Name: Arnel Barbarona

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 6:29 pm



Here's a demo of my Control Deck
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 9:28 pm

Give it a go folks.

It is an interesting experience.

Tony
Offline

videofred

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 12:57 pm
  • Real Name: Fred Video

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostTue Jun 08, 2021 10:28 am

arbibarbarona wrote:


Here's a demo of my Control Deck


Awesome! Would you share it? :roll:
Offline

flipnap

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:35 pm
  • Real Name: John Berry

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostMon Jun 28, 2021 3:38 pm

just came across this thread looking for some packs. Touch portal is an AMAZING piece of software for resolve and fusion (and tons of other things). I have my keyboard shortcuts hardwired in the brain already, but since getting the speed editor for resolve my hands are on the unit, and reaching over to my iPad has proven to be a HUGE time saver, and in fusion its been great as well. Being able to compound commands, toggle states, and create buttons/layout/colors/etc.is great The hardware options for this are in the 300-400 dollar range, I already have a tablet and the software is cheap so... Surprised at how useful it is. did the freebee to test it and it blew me away
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostMon Jun 28, 2021 3:54 pm

Good to hear that John,

I am a total newbie to Resolve.

I got the free Speed Editor and decided Touch Portal would help with more speed.

Do you have time to elaborate on the commands and buttons you have created?

Tony

London UK
Offline

flipnap

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:35 pm
  • Real Name: John Berry

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostMon Jun 28, 2021 5:31 pm

im on a shoot for a few days but when I get back ill share some stuff. but I LOVE animated GIF's to indicate button states. its fun and helpful to glance over to see what's on. I also use it to open certain folders, then have them automatically close after a few seconds. there are a handful of folders I often need to check in on and leaving them open all the time is a hassle. also Its just nice to not have to do multiple button hotkeys all the time, I can just combine them into one (or groups of hotkeys executing in order). also a lot of hotkey functions are (obviously) scattered across the keyboard and its nice just to have them assembled into one pane.. have some apple scripts im trying to implement. but overall its a lovely package. some caveats though, and im going to write them an email to see if It can be done.
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 1050
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostTue Jun 29, 2021 3:00 am

arbibarbarona wrote:I've been using Touch Portal with Davinci Resolve. There were plugins that enable me to pseudo control the color page as if TP is communicating with DR API.

Image


Actually, the API does not offer any control of the color page parameters.
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline
User avatar

Max Paperno

  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 12:49 am
  • Location: Upstate NY, US
  • Real Name: Max Paperno

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostWed Jul 07, 2021 1:56 am

I'm using Touch Portal for a couple months now and it's a pretty nice option especially if one already owns some old Android/iOS hardware (I'm running it on a 10 year old Acer A200 tablet... finally found some use for it!). It has its quirks but overall does the job. I use it in combination with hardware macro keys, and also to display my hardware macro mappings (up to 77!) for various applications (can never remember them all).

Igor Riđanović wrote:Actually, the API does not offer any control of the color page parameters.

I believe Arnel's DR pages use (at least partially) another Touch Portal plugin (WinTools) which allows control over the mouse pointer on Windows. So the controls are dependent on screen coordinates. Here's another video which mentions WinTools in the description.


The UI is very impressive! But I'm not sure why it is more convenient than using DR directly.

Admittedly I do hate having to mash the mouse button down while making color adjustments with the mouse, so I mapped a keyboard macro key to "left mouse button" which makes my experience much nicer.
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 1050
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostWed Jul 07, 2021 2:19 am

The problem with hijacking mouse pointer movement and clicks is that you're dependent on the UI size and layout.

Another problem is that doing it this way is that you can't adjust multiple parameters simultaneously. A pointer can only be at one place at a time. This is a major handicap.

Sent from my S60 using Tapatalk
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline
User avatar

Max Paperno

  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 12:49 am
  • Location: Upstate NY, US
  • Real Name: Max Paperno

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostWed Jul 07, 2021 2:55 am

Igor Riđanović wrote:The problem with hijacking mouse pointer movement and clicks is that you're dependent on the UI size and layout.
Indeed. As I said. And "blindly" clicking on things based on where they're supposed to be isn't really my idea of a good time either. Though granted the Color page in particular has a pretty rigid layout.

Igor Riđanović wrote:A pointer can only be at one place at a time. This is a major handicap.

Same as just using a mouse, no? But unless there's some "panel control" API (or published spec for the existing system), we're stuck with that, I think (and not holding my breath on that one).
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 1050
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostWed Jul 07, 2021 3:08 am

Right, but I'm comparing this to a color panel, not mouse. I don't think this has a particular advantage over a mouse control anyway.

Sent from my S60 using Tapatalk
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline
User avatar

Phil999

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:12 am
  • Real Name: Philipp Straehl

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostWed Jul 07, 2021 6:56 pm

today I tried Touch Portal for the first time. It’s well thought out. Some time ago I tested a couple of those apps, also beta versions, and Touch Portal seems to be the best. Tempted to buy the full version, but there’s also Lemur where you can design a remote control and fancy graphics, although it’s much more time consuming to build.

For wheels and balls I recommend the ‘element-Vs’ app from Tangent Wave Ltd.
Offline

flipnap

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:35 pm
  • Real Name: John Berry

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostWed Jul 07, 2021 7:55 pm

well for the price, its relatively (and really) cheap. I have a hardware touch button control (I wont name names) but they also have an app. figured since I already own the hardware it would be an iPad version of it. Not only is it a charge, its a monthly indentured servitude fee... oh I mean, subscription fee. Touch portal is not only cheap but once you look into it, its gives a LOT of flexibility. toggle functions, animated icons that change states to let you know its on, all customizable and you can buy the graphics package for a few bucks extra. you can even run apple scripts from it. I use it on everything from logic prox and final cut and resolve.. and tons of other things. at the very least, its just nice having big buttons arranged how I like right there. I dont need to pimp it out to simulate grading control balls or sliders. now if I could crack into revolves command lines and copy those it would be gold.
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostSun Jul 11, 2021 9:43 am

Phil,

I thought I'd look at Tangent Wave and my Malwarebytes blocks it.

Before I try to find a work around can you tell me if you are recommending hardware or software like Touch Portal?

Tony
Offline
User avatar

Phil999

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:12 am
  • Real Name: Philipp Straehl

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostSun Jul 11, 2021 3:24 pm

the Tangent Hub software must be allowed by antivirus of course, if that is the problem.

The Tangent Element solution is quite attractive, because one can combine hard- and software (didn’t know that before). I’m thinking about getting the Tk (trackerball) Element, and using iPads for the rest.

Resolve, and probably a number of other similar software, allow one single kind of control surface. Choosing Tangent Elements is the most versatile I believe.

—-

Back on topic, Touch Portal appears to be a robust solution. I got used to touchscreens (iPad) using TouchOSC, Lemur, Cubase IC Pro, element Vs, Strata Pro, and many more controller apps, doing critical work in studio and on stage.
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostSun Jul 11, 2021 9:14 pm

Second try with my question

Before I try to find a work around can you tell me if you are recommending hardware or software like Touch Portal?

Tony
Offline

flipnap

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:35 pm
  • Real Name: John Berry

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostSun Jul 11, 2021 9:33 pm

I believe he was saying that antivirus programs will block software interfaces like touch portal. you need to configure it to allow TP to work. and actual hardware is nice ALONG with software. I personally prefer to use a real trackball for color grading along with a tablet/phone for hotkeys/scripts etc.
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostMon Jul 12, 2021 5:37 am

Thanks John,

I am still failing to understand whether it is a piece of equipment - which I certainly would not be interested in buying as I have the Speed Editor and a keyboard and precious little more space on my desk.

Or whether it is software to make a tabloid capable of instructing Resolve - like Touch Portal which I find quite a help.

Yes. I can understand MalwareBytes being worried about anything on my PC that accesses the outside world. But I'd have thought Tangent Hub would have anticipated that.

Many thanks.

Tony
Offline

flipnap

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:35 pm
  • Real Name: John Berry

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostMon Jul 12, 2021 8:01 am

OHHhh ha ha. youre asking bout tangent hub, my apologies. I misunderstood. Tangent hub is free software that allows you to remap certain functions of their hardware products.
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostMon Jul 12, 2021 8:52 am

Thanks John,

I'll have a look at what they make but I think for my use of Resolve (and my level of understanding) I'll stay with the Speed Editor, a reduced size keyboard and Touch Portal on a tablet.

Touch Portal is much more of a reminding device for me so I don't forget what to do what and when. Others use if for speed. Speed is something I am not expecting at my level of competence.

Have you got one of those Tangent Hub devices? Is there one you'd recommend for a total newbie?

Tony
Offline

flipnap

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:35 pm
  • Real Name: John Berry

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostMon Jul 12, 2021 11:42 am

Well, the tangent devices are more for color grading. And the "tangent hub" is nothing more than software for their hardware (for remapping). I dont think you can use "tangent hub" by itself. but any "ball" type of mouse could work in general. you don't need to buy tangent devices black magics resolve panel is awesome but expensive. Color grading on roller balls is an age old method, hence the ball appearance in the color page. when it comes down to it you can achieve the same results without hardware rollers, just takes more time. Sort of how you can use a mouse to do what you're currently using the scrub wheel on the speed editor. you can live without it but it makes editing more fun and more precise.

I dont know your level of proficiency in working with color, but if its a "not gonna bother" thing" I highly suggest you do some basic tutorials on color grading in resolve. On YouTube, some great tutorials can be found by Darren Mostyn, and many others. Shooting flat profiles and grading is what makes a huge diference. but if you already know that, no worries. ok ramble over
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostMon Jul 12, 2021 1:08 pm

Thanks again John,

I'll leave the extra gadget alone having listened to you.

With regard to colour grading you say " Shooting flat profiles and grading is what makes a huge diference. but if you already know that, no worries. ok ramble over"

I work with a pair of Olympus EM5 mk iii bodies and shoot 2.7k with them. And an Insta360 One. I have not tried what you call 'flat' but maybe I ought to give it a go. I was using a pal to do my editing and I know he preferred to have a more 'normal' file but I guess that was primarly to make his work easier - and as what we were shooting was only ever going to be used on YouTube 'nearly right' was good enough.

I shoot RAW for my stills so am used to having an odd file to start with and plenty of headroom. Maybe flat is for me.

I am off the internet for most of the rest of the week. I'll pick up on this when I get back at the weekend.

Tony
Offline

flipnap

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:35 pm
  • Real Name: John Berry

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostMon Jul 12, 2021 4:00 pm

Well what I mean is.. in the photography world we have RAW, and that give us the most control. We have GREAT latitude for changes without corrupting the image with RAW. same thing with video. except we have BRAW in the Blackmagic world. Its the closest to RAW Blackmagic can get due to legal issues. But in general, on any camera shooting a "flat profile" gives us more wiggle room to push and pull colors. If you look up "color grading" on YouTube it will make more sense than me explaining. But any phone or camera worth shooting will have a linear or flat profile. many use "filmic pro" on the iPhone, which also has the advantage of being 10 bit (more colors) Imagine showing a "normal" person a video filmed with a flat profile and they say "oh my gawd, that looks terrible. theres no color and its all washed out" then you know you've got a great starting point. Linear/flat color profiles are MEANT to be graded, they are not the final image anymore than RAW is. (well RAW isn't actually any image but thats another topic).
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 280
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Does anyone use Touch Portal

PostMon Jul 12, 2021 4:23 pm

Sure John,

I'll do the reading.

Especially about finding the right profiles which must be the key to starting correctly.

Tony

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Arthur2473, ebkowmag867, Google [Bot], Mads Johansen, molenmer, mpetech, sackboydad and 104 guests