cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

robadub

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:18 am
  • Real Name: Rob Vaughn

cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostFri Mar 19, 2021 3:41 am

Hello -

I have recently purchased a used BM cintel scanner (w/thunderbolt 2) from a BM approved reseller.
I need to get it up and running or decide to return for a refund.

It does power up, but here are some problems and questions I have:

The HDMI out works, I can see an image from my loaded 35mm negative.
However, the physical control buttons are not functioning except the LOAD button adjusts the rollers.
Shouldn't play, ff rw buttons work without the thunderbolt cable plugged in?

The thunderbolt 2 is going through an adapter to my macbook pro's thunderbolt 3.
Software included Davinci Resolve Studio 12 and a usb dongle . . .
My mac installed but could not open Resolve, and does not see the dongle.

Freeware Resolve 16 installed fine from their website, but it does not see the scanner.

Could the dongle be windows based?
Is my TB2 to TB3 adapter a problem?
Am I wrong thinking physical buttons should work without any computer hookup?

Repair/fix is preferable to returning as it weighs over 120 lbs.
Any advice or suggestions from experienced cintel scanner users would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 10518
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostFri Mar 19, 2021 7:36 am

I would start Rob by installing the DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.1 that is on the support web site and make sure the app is running and connect to the scanner.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

robadub

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:18 am
  • Real Name: Rob Vaughn

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostFri Mar 19, 2021 5:34 pm

Thanks for the reply.

Resolve 17 wont work with my OS Mojave 10.14.6
I have installed Resolve 16.2.8 which works fine, but it does not see the scanner.
As mentioned scanner is Thunderbolt 2 out to my macbook pro's Thunderbolt 3 with an adapter.
Offline

James Little

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:15 am

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostMon Mar 22, 2021 5:09 am

Yes the buttons should work without any connection. I believe there is a support request open for this as we've been discussing internally? Am I correct? If not, for this issue as it might be hardware related, ensure you contact support.

Thanks
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2341
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostTue Mar 23, 2021 2:52 pm

robadub wrote:Thanks for the reply.

Resolve 17 wont work with my OS Mojave 10.14.6
I have installed Resolve 16.2.8 which works fine, but it does not see the scanner.
As mentioned scanner is Thunderbolt 2 out to my macbook pro's Thunderbolt 3 with an adapter.

Rob, I believe it requires the Studio version. You said you were installing the free version. So do this. Plug-in the dongle to your USB and leave it there. Download 16.2.8 Studio and install it. Since you have the dongle, the license should work. Then try if it now see the scanner. Good luck!
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 17
Offline

robadub

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:18 am
  • Real Name: Rob Vaughn

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostThu Mar 25, 2021 10:07 pm

Thanks for the reply - I installed Resolve Studio 16.2.8 but scanner is still not seen.

I then took an older Mac Pro with thunderbolt 2 and OSX Yosemite 10.10.4 and installed Resolve Studio 12.5.4.019 - dongle is verified working but No Scanner Detected and Install Film Scanner Software is all it says in capture mode. Isn't this the software???

Any other suggestions or advice is much appreciated.
I also saw that I should contact support -- can you lead me to someone?

Thanks!
Offline

James Little

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:15 am

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostMon Mar 29, 2021 2:03 am

Support you can find on the website.

It sounds like maybe you were performing a firmware update and then the power went out. See the USB Recovery in the manual.
Offline

James Little

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:15 am

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostMon Mar 29, 2021 2:04 am

Actually, just re-read your original issue and I think this is definitely one for support. Touch base with them.

They will gather the Cintel logs for us to look at so we can try and help identify any problems.

Does it show up in the 'Cintel Setup' utility?
Offline

robadub

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:18 am
  • Real Name: Rob Vaughn

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostWed Mar 31, 2021 5:59 pm

Thank you James -

The Good:
I opened up the back and updated the firmware via USB Recovery. Thanks for the manual, I was only provided the short 16page version.
Now the physical buttons work, and I can see an image from the HDMI out.

Still need help:
I've tried using two different Macs and tried multiple installs but scanner is still not being recognized.
Also tried changing out thunderbolt 2 cables but no go.

Newer setup:
MacBook Pro running OS X Mojave 10.14.6
Resolve Studio 16.8.2 opens but does not see the scanner.
Resolve Studio 12.5.4 does not see the USB dongle and won't open.

Older setup:
Mac Pro trashcan running OS X Yosemite 10.10.4
Resolve Studio 12.5.4 sees the dongle, but does not see the scanner.

Could it be a bad Thunderbolt port?
I have about 10 days to return to Adorama and have to use heavy freight.
Would love to get it working asap.
I don't know what the Cintel logs or Cintel setup utility are.

Thanks,
Rob
Offline

robadub

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:18 am
  • Real Name: Rob Vaughn

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostWed Mar 31, 2021 11:51 pm

UPDATE -
Scanner is up and running!
Thanks for the help James and others ---

Uninstalled everything and reinstalled Cintel 3 which came with Resolve Studio 15. Prompted me for another firmware update. Had to delete the database left over from version 16, but after that it woke up and sees the scanner. Thank you Blackmagic forum, I'm sure I'll be back!

The one remaining issue is poor focus. The focus wheel came unattached. I don't see any threads or retaining clip or screw. Was it originally just glued onto the little post? Can I safely glue it back?

Lots to learn on the software end for me, but you saved me a huge hassle with the potential return via freight.

Thanks again!
Rob
Offline

Gavin Lucas

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 10:11 am
  • Location: UK
  • Real Name: Gavin Lucas

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostTue Apr 06, 2021 12:44 pm

Hi,

Yes focus knob can be re-glued to its shaft using Loctite 272 (Red Thread Locker), allow 24 Hrs to cure.
Regards, Gavin
Offline

robadub

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:18 am
  • Real Name: Rob Vaughn

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostTue Apr 06, 2021 1:01 pm

OK thanks Gavin.

New issue:
I just bought a new Mac mini M1 to dedicate to the scanner.
It is running OS BigSur 11.1
Cintel 4.1 and Resolve Studio 17.1 installed but neither sees the scanner.
Took off the back for another usb restore firmware update but it does nothing.
Any more help or advice please?

Thank you
Offline

robadub

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:18 am
  • Real Name: Rob Vaughn

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostTue Apr 06, 2021 8:18 pm

Support is advising me on software firmware driver fixes and my new apple M1's security settings.
Scanner should be up and running soon --- will report back after this and focus knob fix.
Thanks all!!!
Offline

James Little

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:15 am

Re: cintel scanner 2 setup help needed

PostWed Apr 07, 2021 2:32 am

keep us posted, always check the 'Cintel Setup' utility first to verify connection.

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests