Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Editing the spline OF a modifier

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

bellerandre

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 4:27 am
  • Real Name: Andre Beller

Editing the spline OF a modifier

PostWed Apr 14, 2021 7:01 am

I have a 3D camera that I wanted to add some random movement to, so I modified its X and Y translation with the "shake" modifier. (is there a better way to do this)

I'd like to manually edit some of those shake points - how can I make the added keyframes editable?

I've seen references to a "bake animation" script, but I can't find the script.

I'm using Davinci Resolve 17 Studio.
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1893
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Editing the spline OF a modifier

PostWed Apr 14, 2021 3:37 pm

Bake Animation is a toolscript. To run a toolscript, right-click the node you want to run it on, and point to Script > [script name].

Bake Animation won't work, though, because that script's been broken for a while. There's an updated version of it that [i]does[i] work available in Reactor. Install the Eyeon Legacy atom, and run the new script from the right-click menu > Script > Eyeon Legacy > Bake Animation.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

bellerandre

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 4:27 am
  • Real Name: Andre Beller

Re: Editing the spline OF a modifier

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 4:06 am

Perfect, thank you! This is exactly what I was looking for.

I spent so long googling last night, and found a *few* references to "Bake animation" - but that script is not even included in Fusion for Resolve 17.

I'm just curious - how is this not a standard feature? Is this not a common action one would take in a video editing program? "Camera needs some shake - add some shake - make some manual adjustments".
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1893
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Editing the spline OF a modifier

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 4:05 pm

Well, it was a standard feature. It's just that it was broken, and I guess they thought it easier to remove the script in Resolve than fix it. Even though I'd already fixed it… I dunno. The script still ships with Fusion Studio. Not sure why it's not included in Resolve.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

bellerandre

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 4:27 am
  • Real Name: Andre Beller

Re: Editing the spline OF a modifier

PostFri Apr 16, 2021 12:51 am

OH did you make the Eyeon version? If so, thanks so much!
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1893
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Editing the spline OF a modifier

PostFri Apr 16, 2021 3:49 am

I updated it for compatibility with v9+, but it's still 98% the same as the original. But in any case, you're welcome! :D
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chad Capeland, Tomek Kosiorek and 14 guests