How to "crop" the video?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Calai222

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 3:48 pm
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro
  • Real Name: Vitor Hofstetter

How to "crop" the video?

PostSat Apr 17, 2021 7:29 pm

So I recorded my own desktop while playing a video:


Image


Then I import this desktop recording file into Davinci


Image


Now I want to crop the video video in order to only have that old western movie on screen.


But either I get this result with the huge black frame around it:


Image


Or if I lower the resolution the western itself will get smaller

What I want to to cut around my desktop screen so after I render it, I will get my player to only open the size of the western video, like the original. Get it?
Begginer. Loving Resolve
Keyboard shortcut maniac

TUF B450M | Ryzen 3800X | 32GB Fury @2400hz | GTX 1660 6GB | Logitech G502
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 776
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostSat Apr 17, 2021 9:46 pm

In the edit page check out the inspector window where you can crop then zoom the image to get exactly what you want.
Resolve 15.3 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

Calai222

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 3:48 pm
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro
  • Real Name: Vitor Hofstetter

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 11:10 am

RCModelReviews wrote:In the edit page check out the inspector window where you can crop then zoom the image to get exactly what you want.



That make sense but how am I suppose to measure and account for that? Before zooming, I have to lower the resolution to that of the western video. How will I figure out what is the resolution of the western video?
Begginer. Loving Resolve
Keyboard shortcut maniac

TUF B450M | Ryzen 3800X | 32GB Fury @2400hz | GTX 1660 6GB | Logitech G502
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 11:50 am

Calai222 wrote: How will I figure out what is the resolution of the western video?
Crop the video and do the math:

Western Video Width = Original Video Width - (Crop Left + Crop Right)
Western Video Height = Original Video Height - (Crop Top + Crop Bottom)
Offline

Calai222

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 3:48 pm
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro
  • Real Name: Vitor Hofstetter

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 6:44 pm

panos_mts wrote:
Calai222 wrote: How will I figure out what is the resolution of the western video?
Crop the video and do the math:

Western Video Width = Original Video Width - (Crop Left + Crop Right)
Western Video Height = Original Video Height - (Crop Top + Crop Bottom)


It is not so simple. Cropping uses different measurement numbers then those of video width and height.
So after I crop it, there will be no way to determine what resolution should I lower to video to.
Begginer. Loving Resolve
Keyboard shortcut maniac

TUF B450M | Ryzen 3800X | 32GB Fury @2400hz | GTX 1660 6GB | Logitech G502
Offline
User avatar

Sean Nelson

  • Posts: 181
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Real Name: Sean Nelson

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 8:25 pm

Drag the clip onto the timeline on the Edit Page. Click on the clip to select it. Open the Inspector Window. Click on one of the "Zoom" values in the "Transform" section and drag left or right to change the zoom amount. You'll see the effect in the viewer window as you drag. Adjust it until the video just fills the vertical size of the window.

You won't be able to do anything about the black areas on the left and right - that's an inevitable result of trying to fit a video with one shape (i.e., aspect ratio) into a video with a different shape.
DR Studio 17.2.1 Build 12, Win10Pro x64 20H2/19042.1052
Asus C246 Pro Motherboard, Xeon E-2278G@3.4GHz, 64GB ECC RAM
GeForce 1050Ti 4GB, "Studio" driver 461.92
OS,Library: 1TB NVMe SSD - Project,Cache: 1TB NVMe SSD
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 8:52 pm

Calai222 wrote:It is not so simple. Cropping uses different measurement numbers then those of video width and height
It uses the same measurement if both Timeline/Project resolution is the same as the video resolution. I tried with the screenshot you posted (1680x1050) and it worked perfectly
Offline

Calai222

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 3:48 pm
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro
  • Real Name: Vitor Hofstetter

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostMon Apr 19, 2021 2:56 pm

panos_mts wrote:
Calai222 wrote:It is not so simple. Cropping uses different measurement numbers then those of video width and height
It uses the same measurement if both Timeline/Project resolution is the same as the video resolution. I tried with the screenshot you posted (1680x1050) and it worked perfectly


Well then can you help me?

How can I translate these crop numbers to width and height numbers:

Image

I have to lower the resolution from 1680x1050 to that of the western video in the middle... Based on the information you have, what is the resolution I should set?
Begginer. Loving Resolve
Keyboard shortcut maniac

TUF B450M | Ryzen 3800X | 32GB Fury @2400hz | GTX 1660 6GB | Logitech G502
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 1842
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostMon Apr 19, 2021 3:46 pm

If you are starting with project dimensions of 1680x1050, then you add the "crop left" and "crop right" together and subtract from the 1680 and you get 460. You do the same with the crop top and bottom and you get 460 again. The video seems to be 460x460.
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 512 GB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve 17.2.1

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.2.1
Offline

Calai222

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 3:48 pm
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro
  • Real Name: Vitor Hofstetter

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostMon Apr 19, 2021 4:11 pm

Sean Nelson wrote:Drag the clip onto the timeline on the Edit Page. Click on the clip to select it. Open the Inspector Window. Click on one of the "Zoom" values in the "Transform" section and drag left or right to change the zoom amount. You'll see the effect in the viewer window as you drag. Adjust it until the video just fills the vertical size of the window.

You won't be able to do anything about the black areas on the left and right - that's an inevitable result of trying to fit a video with one shape (i.e., aspect ratio) into a video with a different shape.


You are wrong, pal. I just did it!
Begginer. Loving Resolve
Keyboard shortcut maniac

TUF B450M | Ryzen 3800X | 32GB Fury @2400hz | GTX 1660 6GB | Logitech G502
Offline

Calai222

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 3:48 pm
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro
  • Real Name: Vitor Hofstetter

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostMon Apr 19, 2021 4:12 pm

xunile wrote:If you are starting with project dimensions of 1680x1050, then you add the "crop left" and "crop right" together and subtract from the 1680 and you get 460. You do the same with the crop top and bottom and you get 460 again. The video seems to be 460x460.


YUP! That works! thank you!
Begginer. Loving Resolve
Keyboard shortcut maniac

TUF B450M | Ryzen 3800X | 32GB Fury @2400hz | GTX 1660 6GB | Logitech G502
Offline
User avatar

Sean Nelson

  • Posts: 181
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Real Name: Sean Nelson

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostMon Apr 19, 2021 4:23 pm

Calai222 wrote:You are wrong, pal. I just did it!

Apologies, it appears that I misunderstood exactly what you were trying to do.
DR Studio 17.2.1 Build 12, Win10Pro x64 20H2/19042.1052
Asus C246 Pro Motherboard, Xeon E-2278G@3.4GHz, 64GB ECC RAM
GeForce 1050Ti 4GB, "Studio" driver 461.92
OS,Library: 1TB NVMe SSD - Project,Cache: 1TB NVMe SSD
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 1842
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: How to "crop" the video?

PostMon Apr 19, 2021 4:50 pm

Calai222 wrote:
xunile wrote:If you are starting with project dimensions of 1680x1050, then you add the "crop left" and "crop right" together and subtract from the 1680 and you get 460. You do the same with the crop top and bottom and you get 460 again. The video seems to be 460x460.


YUP! That works! thank you!


You're welcome.
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 512 GB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve 17.2.1

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.2.1

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Charles Bennett, Dermot Shane and 112 guests