Confusing behavior when dynamic trimming

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Dave Andrade

  • Posts: 69
  • Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 2:11 pm

Confusing behavior when dynamic trimming

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 3:06 am

I will fully accept that this has to do with me, and not the software, but using the screenshot below, I attempted to do a dynamic trim, and it shows the lowest track. If I choose two edit points (right in the middle, not on either side), it will show the higher video track. and obviously if I choose the edit point between the two clips on "top", it will show them when trimming.

So, what am I missing? When I stop trimming, it will show the clip on top. (as all those who are familiar with Resolve know) but during....in the scenario I outlined, why is it showing the bottom row? What am I missing.

Also, unsure if the documentation for Resolve is using outdated information, but it also mentions this: "If you’ve selected multiple edit points or clips, then you can use the Left and Right arrow keys in
Dynamic mode to move the playhead to the selected edit point you want to monitor while you’re
trimming." - but all that does is move the playhead one frame, as you'd expect.

Screenshot 2021-06-15 230225.jpg
Screenshot 2021-06-15 230225.jpg (56.16 KiB) Viewed 200 times
Offline

Jason Conrad

  • Posts: 752
  • Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:23 pm

Confusing behavior when dynamic trimming

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 4:04 am

You’ve got the incoming side of the V2 clip selected (looks like a green “[“), and the outgoing side (“]”) of the V1 clip selected. This is called Asymmetric trimming, and it’s covered in the user manual.

I don’t use dynamic trim mode too often, and when I do, it’s usually for very quick, simple things, like extending an edit in real-time, so I’m not really familiar with the way Asymmetric trimming works there.

But generally, that type of edit requires both a little upfront planning, and some checkup after it’s executed, because it affects more than one edit point simultaneously, so, I’m not sure it’s something I’d *want* to do real-time, in dynamic trim mode. But maybe there are some crazy wizard ninja editors out there who do.
-MacBook Pro (14,3) i7 2.9 GHz 16 GB, Intel 630, AMD 560 x1
-[DR 17.0 Beta9]
Offline

Dave Andrade

  • Posts: 69
  • Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Confusing behavior when dynamic trimming

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 4:15 am

Jason Conrad wrote:You’ve got the incoming side of the V2 clip selected (looks like a green “[“), and the outgoing side (“]”) of the V1 clip selected. This is called Asymmetric trimming, and it’s covered in the user manual.

I don’t use dynamic trim mode too often, and when I do, it’s usually for very quick, simple things, like extending an edit in real-time, so I’m not really familiar with the way Asymmetric trimming works there.

But generally, that type of edit requires both a little upfront planning, and some checkup after it’s executed, because it affects more than one edit point simultaneously, so, I’m not sure it’s something I’d *want* to do real-time, in dynamic trim mode. But maybe there are some crazy wizard ninja editors out there who do.


I just determined the resolution to that. Yeah. It's the user. The yellow edit point determines what shows up. I made the same selections, but put the "yellow playhead" between those two clips and that worked.

Having said that, the other issue still remains. I can clearly move the playhead myself, but the manual says otherwise.
Offline

Jason Conrad

  • Posts: 752
  • Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:23 pm

Re: Confusing behavior when dynamic trimming

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 4:17 am

Dave Andrade wrote:
Jason Conrad wrote:You’ve got the incoming side of the V2 clip selected (looks like a green “[“), and the outgoing side (“]”) of the V1 clip selected. This is called Asymmetric trimming, and it’s covered in the user manual.

I don’t use dynamic trim mode too often, and when I do, it’s usually for very quick, simple things, like extending an edit in real-time, so I’m not really familiar with the way Asymmetric trimming works there.

But generally, that type of edit requires both a little upfront planning, and some checkup after it’s executed, because it affects more than one edit point simultaneously, so, I’m not sure it’s something I’d *want* to do real-time, in dynamic trim mode. But maybe there are some crazy wizard ninja editors out there who do.


I just determined the resolution to that. Yeah. It's the user. The yellow edit point determines what shows up. I made the same selections, but put the "yellow playhead" between those two clips and that worked.

Having said that, the other issue still remains. I can clearly move the playhead myself, but the manual says otherwise.
Which part of the manual? There’s definitely some outdated info in it. If you point me to the passage, I might know more.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
-MacBook Pro (14,3) i7 2.9 GHz 16 GB, Intel 630, AMD 560 x1
-[DR 17.0 Beta9]
Offline

Dave Andrade

  • Posts: 69
  • Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Confusing behavior when dynamic trimming

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 4:28 am

Jason Conrad wrote:
Dave Andrade wrote:
Jason Conrad wrote:You’ve got the incoming side of the V2 clip selected (looks like a green “[“), and the outgoing side (“]”) of the V1 clip selected. This is called Asymmetric trimming, and it’s covered in the user manual.

I don’t use dynamic trim mode too often, and when I do, it’s usually for very quick, simple things, like extending an edit in real-time, so I’m not really familiar with the way Asymmetric trimming works there.

But generally, that type of edit requires both a little upfront planning, and some checkup after it’s executed, because it affects more than one edit point simultaneously, so, I’m not sure it’s something I’d *want* to do real-time, in dynamic trim mode. But maybe there are some crazy wizard ninja editors out there who do.


I just determined the resolution to that. Yeah. It's the user. The yellow edit point determines what shows up. I made the same selections, but put the "yellow playhead" between those two clips and that worked.

Having said that, the other issue still remains. I can clearly move the playhead myself, but the manual says otherwise.
Which part of the manual? There’s definitely some outdated info in it. If you point me to the passage, I might know more.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Page 763 - the one labeled with 4. Now, I did see a video on YouTube that showed this function but that was Resolve 12. And even if this feature is no longer valid, I guess that means the only option is to move the playhead ourselves? (NOTE: I did try the up and down arrows as I know that selects the edits before and after, but all that does is "erase" my selections)

The only other thought I had was that maybe when I set up new keyboard shortcuts, I accidentally overrode that one? (I may test that shortly)
Offline

Jason Conrad

  • Posts: 752
  • Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:23 pm

Re: Confusing behavior when dynamic trimming

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 7:27 pm

Dave Andrade wrote:
Jason Conrad wrote:
Dave Andrade wrote:[quote="Jason Conrad"]You’ve got the incoming side of the V2 clip selected (looks like a green “[“), and the outgoing side (“]”) of the V1 clip selected. This is called Asymmetric trimming, and it’s covered in the user manual.

I don’t use dynamic trim mode too often, and when I do, it’s usually for very quick, simple things, like extending an edit in real-time, so I’m not really familiar with the way Asymmetric trimming works there.

But generally, that type of edit requires both a little upfront planning, and some checkup after it’s executed, because it affects more than one edit point simultaneously, so, I’m not sure it’s something I’d *want* to do real-time, in dynamic trim mode. But maybe there are some crazy wizard ninja editors out there who do.


I just determined the resolution to that. Yeah. It's the user. The yellow edit point determines what shows up. I made the same selections, but put the "yellow playhead" between those two clips and that worked.

Having said that, the other issue still remains. I can clearly move the playhead myself, but the manual says otherwise.
Which part of the manual? There’s definitely some outdated info in it. If you point me to the passage, I might know more.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Page 763 - the one labeled with 4. Now, I did see a video on YouTube that showed this function but that was Resolve 12. And even if this feature is no longer valid, I guess that means the only option is to move the playhead ourselves? (NOTE: I did try the up and down arrows as I know that selects the edits before and after, but all that does is "erase" my selections)

The only other thought I had was that maybe when I set up new keyboard shortcuts, I accidentally overrode that one? (I may test that shortly)[/quote]I think that part’s completely inaccurate. I don’t think left/right ever moved the selection. Up and down to go to previous, next edit feels right. It does “erase” a selection if you have multiple, discontinuous edits selected, but that’s what I expect, because it’s basically selecting the nearest edit and moving the playhead edit-by-edit, similar to normal, non-dynamic edit mode.

Dynamic trim mode with the yellow playhead is all about real-time feedback in the viewer. As such, it doesn’t make much sense to move multiple edits at the same time in that mode, because you can only watch one of those moments at a time. Now, it is *possible* to perform those edits, but Resolve will only *show* what’s happening at the playhead in real-time. To see other changes, ganged off of the playhead, you just need to play the video again from wherever your earliest edit originated.

But really, if you’re doing complex or asymmetric edits, you’ll have more control with dynamic trim disabled.

Say you want to do something rhythmic and repetitive, like alternate between two shots in a music video. You might pick one second of something in the source viewer, hit F10 a bunch of times to drop multiples on the timeline, lasso the edit points in Trim Edit (T) mode (but not dynamic trim, not “W”), hit “U” until you’ve got either all the ins or outs, then adjust the spacing with the nudge “<“ “>” keys. In this way, you can affect tens, or hundreds of edits at the same time. But this is not the sort of thing you want to do *while* playing all tens or hundreds of edits, simultaneously.

R17 introduced a new cmd/ctrl+arrow shortcut to walk selections around the timeline, but after playing with it in dynamic trim mode, it appears broken, because I’m able to select a clip and an edit simultaneously.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
-MacBook Pro (14,3) i7 2.9 GHz 16 GB, Intel 630, AMD 560 x1
-[DR 17.0 Beta9]

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Henrik Styve, kfriis, Shrinivas Ramani, ted ramasola and 96 guests