Transparency issue

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

GordRocks

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:13 pm
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • Real Name: Gord Rock

Transparency issue

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 10:05 pm

I am learning DR after years of working with Adobe Premiere Pro and am unable to figure out how to set the transparency when keying out a green screen. The green screen is behind a white table and I want to key out the green screen but leave the white table opaque. I can get the green screen keyed out using the Delta Keyer but that leaves the white table slightly transparent. In PPRO there is a transparency adjustment that takes care of this. Is this in DR and I just can't find it or is there another way to do it? I have tried using the Chroma Keyer but there are many shades of green and it will take too long to key them all out. Any guidance will be appreciated very much!!
CPU: Intel i7-9700K
Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-H Gaming
Memory: 64GB DDR4 (4x16GB)
GPU: PNY NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 (8GB)
NVIDIA DRIVER: 27.21.14.6259
OS: Microsoft Window 10 Pro
Offline

GordRocks

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:13 pm
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • Real Name: Gord Rock

Re: Transparency issue

PostSun Jun 20, 2021 8:56 am

My apologies!! I neglected to mention that I was doing this in Fusion and used the CleanPlate tool. Now I’m wondering if the CleanPlate tool is appropriate for this.
CPU: Intel i7-9700K
Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-H Gaming
Memory: 64GB DDR4 (4x16GB)
GPU: PNY NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 (8GB)
NVIDIA DRIVER: 27.21.14.6259
OS: Microsoft Window 10 Pro
Offline

GordRocks

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:13 pm
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • Real Name: Gord Rock

Re: "SOLVED" Transparency issue

PostMon Jun 21, 2021 1:43 am

In case anyone else has this problem I thought I would report the solution. I found the Threshold control on the MATTE tab of the DeltaKeyer. Changing the "LOW" to 0.722 and the "HIGH" to 0.917 solved my problem. I'm sure different values will be needed for other clips.
CPU: Intel i7-9700K
Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-H Gaming
Memory: 64GB DDR4 (4x16GB)
GPU: PNY NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 (8GB)
NVIDIA DRIVER: 27.21.14.6259
OS: Microsoft Window 10 Pro

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], chbkoiklp457, crtkecnkl659, Google [Bot], jfykeaucq871, oilar123, SarfLondonTog and 72 guests