Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Adobe is supporting blender

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1151
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Adobe is supporting blender

PostTue Jul 20, 2021 8:47 pm

Its something BMD Fusion should be considering. Both blender and fusion use nodes. they have created to add ons for blender.




Ricardo Marty
Resolve Studio 17, Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram, 512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite ableton
Offline

Jeff Ha

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:38 am

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostWed Jul 21, 2021 2:16 pm

why?

should fusion support nuke? houdini? maya? I mean, they all have nodes too. Substance designer has nodes.. should Fusion then support Adobe which makes that software?

If you ask a typical blender user, they don't need Nuke, Fusion, AE or Natron. Blender has a compositing feature. Ask a blender user and they'll say they have Blender, which can do it all.. just not anything particularly well. I don't think the BMD devs need to go off on any more tangents as it is.
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1151
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostWed Jul 21, 2021 4:31 pm

Jeff Ha wrote:why?

should fusion support nuke? houdini? maya? I mean, they all have nodes too. Substance designer has nodes.. should Fusion then support Adobe which makes that software?

If you ask a typical blender user, they don't need Nuke, Fusion, AE or Natron. Blender has a compositing feature. Ask a blender user and they'll say they have Blender, which can do it all.. just not anything particularly well. I don't think the BMD devs need to go off on any more tangents as it is.


3d is integration is one that bmd is lacking. AE works fine with cinema 4d and I've never heard any adobe user against that. A blender user that can use a powerful app like fusion will only increase bmd user base.
Will blenders comp capabilities be better than fusions? I don't think that for now and the foreseeable future. It only takes plugins not a whole app. just look at the video if you haven't. I'm sure resolve will garner thousands of new users even if most are the free version. I don't think this will bother bmd at all.



Ricardo Marty
Resolve Studio 17, Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram, 512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite ableton
Offline

Kel Philm

  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:21 am

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostWed Jul 21, 2021 10:27 pm

I think any dev team could learn a lot from Blender. I also don't think Fusion has a dedicated dev team any more. I have shifted from 3ds Max to Blender and really enjoying it, miss my VRay but can live without it. I've said this before but if Blender decide to do a serious compositor it would blow past Fusion in a relatively short amount of time.
Offline

TheMonty

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 3:37 pm
  • Real Name: Monty Murray

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostThu Jul 22, 2021 2:49 pm

Yes similar to adobe premiere and after effects integration with cinema 4D I would love a deep integration with blender and fusion. I think it would be a game changer if done right. Even with the advancements over the last couple years fusion still feels lacking especially on the efficiency front. A deep blender integration would do a lot to up it's value.
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 2316
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostThu Jul 22, 2021 3:44 pm

Blender is pretty specific in what it expects from the companies it works with license wise because of its commitment to free and open source software. A very deep integration will be most likely be very difficult to achieve.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

bentheanimator

  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 10:38 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Hall

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostSat Jul 24, 2021 5:27 pm

Fusion is a beast of a program. It could be amazing if they added a few tweaks to it.

Audio node.

PBR materials

Cycles or equivalent GPU/CPU raytracer.

True keyboard shortcut access. There are a lot of things that need shortcuts that can't be accessed. Like Caching. I had to write a script and attach it to a shortcut to match After Effect's zero key. Really, all of the shortcuts in Ae need to be translated. Translate, Rotate, Scale, Opacity. Wrote scripts for all of it so they could be shortcuts.
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 2316
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostSat Jul 24, 2021 6:29 pm

What would an Audio Node entail?
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

bentheanimator

  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 10:38 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Hall

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostTue Jul 27, 2021 1:19 am

Something After effects has is the shuttle to add audio to your timelines. There are a lot of animations that you could solve and finish in Fusion if you could tweak sound FX and line up hits in the comp. Just treat it like a media in node and let it ride. That way a smack or bird sounds could be used to add things like a lens flare or bokeh hit at the right time.
Offline

bentheanimator

  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 10:38 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Hall

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostTue Jul 27, 2021 1:20 am

bentheanimator wrote:Something After effects has is the ability to add audio to your timelines. There are a lot of animations that you could solve and finish in Fusion if you could tweak sound FX and line up hits in the comp. Just treat it like a media in node and let it ride. That way a smack or bird sounds could be used to add things like a lens flare or bokeh hit at the right time.
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 2316
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostTue Jul 27, 2021 7:20 am

You can load audio into Fusion already. If you right-click on the speaker icon near the playback controls you can select an audio file that will play back in the timeline that you can use to line up your effects.

If you go to the wesuckless forum you'll be able to find a couple of audio modifiers/fuses to help with this as well.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

bentheanimator

  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 10:38 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Hall

Re: Adobe is supporting blender

PostTue Jul 27, 2021 2:32 pm

Yeah, it's not good enough. They need to treat audio like any other MediaIn node. There are a ton of use cases for it. We all know it needs to happen. Sound is part of the visual world. Every time a piece of software leaves an obvious feature on the floor it leaves an opening for somebody else. For instance, I had to pick up 3ds Max for work a couple of weeks ago. It doesn't have copy and paste. I just burst out laughing and thought I was missing something. Nope, had to grab a script and assign it to shortcuts. Autodesk has a thing against it I guess because Maya's is ridiculous too.

Limiting the type of media Fusion can ingest is not a good look in the year 2021. Sometimes you have to slum it on a project. Or sometimes you have to lay out a rough voice over synced to your graphics to be handed over to the editor because you are doing drop down menus or whatever. Like I said, tons of reasons pop up.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests