I/O on timeline behaviour

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 1064
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

I/O on timeline behaviour

PostThu Jun 23, 2022 10:52 am

when i select I/O on the timeline, should it look like this?
Screenshot 2022-06-23 at 12.46.23.png
Screenshot 2022-06-23 at 12.46.23.png (47.39 KiB) Viewed 344 times


Or should it be like this, with the area highlighted?
Screenshot 2022-06-23 at 12.45.38.png
Screenshot 2022-06-23 at 12.45.38.png (51.7 KiB) Viewed 344 times


and how do i control it? reason for the question is because some operations will behave differently. like ripple delete.

for me it acts quite random, and i'm wondering if it's a bug
Offline
User avatar

Olivier MATHIEU

  • Posts: 388
  • Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:55 pm
  • Location: Paris/Grenoble, FRANCE

Re: I/O on timeline behaviour

PostThu Jun 23, 2022 4:59 pm

The I/O range is highlighted only if nothing else is selected in the timeline ➧ Your second picture
One Clip is selected (orange stroke) ➧ In your first picture

In the timeline DVR is focused on : the selected clip > I/O range > Playhead

next you can play "vertically" with "Track selectors" ;)
Last edited by Olivier MATHIEU on Thu Jun 23, 2022 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve Studio 18b & Fusion Studio 18b | MacOS 12.4 | GUI : 3840 x 2160
CPU : i9 10900X | RAM : 64 Go (2666Mhz) | GPU : RX 6800 XT 16 Go | NTW : 10 G/s
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 1064
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

Re: I/O on timeline behaviour

PostThu Jun 23, 2022 5:45 pm

Ah, so that was the catch. thanks!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], Nick2021 and 89 guests