Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

nictau

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:19 pm
  • Real Name: Nicola Taubert

Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostSun Jun 26, 2022 7:43 am

Hi everyone!

When you enlarge the preview on 2x to 8x and try to set the automatic white balance, the square overlay will be enlarged too! So it doesn't appear in the center of your of your image and in a size that makes it impossible to white balance the spot of interest.

This would be important to fix asap. Thanks.
Offline

Mike Potton

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:19 pm

Re: Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostSun Jun 26, 2022 8:12 am

I think it’s always been like this. Is it really an issue?
Offline

nictau

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:19 pm
  • Real Name: Nicola Taubert

Re: Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostSun Jun 26, 2022 8:33 am

Mike Potton wrote:I think it’s always been like this. Is it really an issue?


Sorry Mike, it has not always been like this. Firmware before 7.9 doesn't work like this - check it out.
And yes, it is an issue. Try to white balance WB-Card or any white spot with 10 meters away. You won't be able to get the square overlay on spot.
Offline

Mike Potton

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:19 pm

Re: Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostSun Jun 26, 2022 10:19 am

My apologies, you're completely correct. I reinstalled 7.3 and never knew you could do that. Indeed it has changed

Interestingly I tried the same with my Ursa Mini Pro G1 and the box also scales when you go 2x, however it ignores the box and takes a reading from the full sized view. Relying on the scaled 2x box would yield an incorrect result.

At least the result is consistent with the pocket, it takes a reading where the box is, scalable or not. Where as it's misleading on the Ursa.
Offline

Kristian Lam

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 950
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 4:04 am

Hi,

The new behavior is correct. The WB region is always taken from the centre of the sensor region so it will make sense that when you zoom in, the region does not change and is zoomed in as well.
Offline

Mike Potton

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:19 pm

Re: Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 7:21 am

Cheers for the explanation Kristian, except it was wasn’t always taken from the centre as per firmware 7.3 and before, what’s the logic behind the change?

Tap to WB is kinda nifty, in hindsight for me and in practice for users such as nictau.
Offline

nictau

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:19 pm
  • Real Name: Nicola Taubert

Re: Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 9:42 am

Kristian Lam wrote:Hi,

The new behavior is correct. The WB region is always taken from the centre of the sensor region so it will make sense that when you zoom in, the region does not change and is zoomed in as well.


Kristian, I insist that the new behavior is a bug. It makes absolutely no sense, if you zoom in the monitor preview to 2x, 4x or even 8x and you don't see the square overlay that indicates where you measure the white balance. Please see the attached pictures.

It is impossible to navigate to the spot of interest if the square is being enlarged too.
It is hard to believe that this was done intentionally.

White Balance Square Overlay 6x.jpg
White Balance Square Overlay 6x.jpg (64.23 KiB) Viewed 567 times


White Balance Square Overlay 4x.jpg
White Balance Square Overlay 4x.jpg (70.59 KiB) Viewed 567 times
Offline

nictau

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:19 pm
  • Real Name: Nicola Taubert

Re: Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostFri Jul 01, 2022 5:39 am

Any official statement from BMD or any other opinion on that?
Offline

Kristian Lam

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 950
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostFri Jul 01, 2022 8:34 am

Hi Nicola,

Unlike autofocus, the WB region is fixed on the sensor.

When you zoom in on the LCD, that's only enlarging the preview image. The region of interest on the sensor whereby the image is sampled to calculate the white balance remains the same, so the white box shows where that region is relative to your preview image.
Offline

Mike Potton

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:19 pm

Re: Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostFri Jul 01, 2022 11:10 am

Cheers for the explanation, that’s how it works now, I think Nicola wants to know why it’s changed from 7.3, when you could move the white balance sampling box around.
Offline

nictau

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:19 pm
  • Real Name: Nicola Taubert

Re: Camera 7.9 Update bug with White balance square overlay

PostFri Jul 01, 2022 1:14 pm

Kristian Lam wrote:Hi Nicola,

Unlike autofocus, the WB region is fixed on the sensor.

When you zoom in on the LCD, that's only enlarging the preview image. The region of interest on the sensor whereby the image is sampled to calculate the white balance remains the same, so the white box shows where that region is relative to your preview image.


Thank you Kristian for taking time to answer! Sorry to say, but I don't feel understood. It seems that we are talking of two different things.

If you look at my uploaded pictures you cannot oversee that the position of the WB overlay square makes absolutely no sense, since it is sometimes even out of the preview monitor.
How in the world shall someone get the spot of interest for WB, if the square is not visible or just a part of it.
Before 7.9 it was as it should be!! That is: You enlarge the preview but WB overlay square keeps it's size!

This is like shooting on a target with a rifle and the riflescope is showing the crosshairs outside the center.

I understand that the white box has to be in the center of the sensor. But this is NOT MY POINT!!
Compared to the other firmware updates, this is a user bug.

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests