Using a DAS with the cloud pod

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Parmachin

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 11:36 am
  • Real Name: Gaétan Marras

Using a DAS with the cloud pod

PostFri Jun 03, 2022 2:31 pm

We got a cloud pod to test out its capabilities for our studio and we've been running into issues while trying to connect larger DAS towers to it.

Single drives work fine, same as our CyberNetor DAS (16TB actual capcity in RAID 5) however connecting our larger Areca ARC-8050T3-12 or ARC-8050T3-6 doesn't seem to work. The tower seems to detect it is plugged into something as the fan ramps up for a second but never actually boots up.

Looking at the documentation quickly I didn't see any mention of max capacity for connected drives or other reason the cloud pod shouldn't be able to connect to the towers. Am I missing something ?

Our drives are all formatted in HFS+, our Areca towers are 40TB and 144TB in size.

Thanks for your help !
Offline

Bob Zelin

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 5:17 pm

Re: Using a DAS with the cloud pod

PostTue Jun 07, 2022 10:57 pm

I am unhappy that you have received no replies, and I keep looking - but I can tell you that you cannot plug a consumer RAID from Promise, G-Tech, SanDisk Pro, Areca, OWC, etc. into a QNAP or Synology, so I am not surprised. As the expression goes - "it is what it is".

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin
bobzelin@icloud.com
www.bobzelin.com
Offline

tapethis

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2022 11:58 pm
  • Real Name: Matthew Tape

Re: Using a DAS with the cloud pod

PostWed Jun 29, 2022 1:47 am

I can confirm cloudpod does not work with speed shuttle 3 with SSDs. I reformated to exfat and still nothing. Cannot find any documentation on why this does not work, nor how to get it working. This thing is useless.
Offline

Bob Zelin

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 5:17 pm

Re: Using a DAS with the cloud pod

PostWed Jun 29, 2022 9:05 pm

In defense of Blackmagic Design - no NAS will allow you to plug in "someone else's" RAID into their box. This applies to Blackmagic Design, QNAP and Synology. They will read HFS+ and exFAT (QNAP and Synology will read NTFS as well) - but no one reads APFS formatted drives, and NO ONE reads a RAID array from G-Tech, OWC, Promise, Areca, Cal Digit, etc.
Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin
bobzelin@icloud.com
www.bobzelin.com
Offline

tapethis

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2022 11:58 pm
  • Real Name: Matthew Tape

Re: Using a DAS with the cloud pod

PostSun Aug 28, 2022 7:23 pm

Not asking to read someone else's RAID. We are not taking the drives out and connecting them to a new RAID card /enclosure trying to be read. This is equivalent to plugging the whole array, enclosure, and hardware raid into a device/computer. So yes... this absolutely should be compatible.
Offline

mlgh50678

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2022 3:01 pm
  • Location: Cologne, Germany
  • Real Name: Maurice Langehein

Re: Using a DAS with the cloud pod

PostThu Sep 01, 2022 4:10 pm

Hi all,

Having the same issues here with a 60TB Lacie "6big". The Cloudpod won't see the device, regardless of Raid Mode / File system. Lacie "2big" arrays seem to work fine, although performance is considerably worse compared to simply sharing the volume via SMB on a Win or MacOS machine.

Does anybody have news on this topic?

Maurice

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests