ProRes 444 Overlay with DVE from Hyperdeck: Strange Result

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

mewald

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2021 10:15 am
  • Real Name: Mathias Ewald

ProRes 444 Overlay with DVE from Hyperdeck: Strange Result

PostSat Aug 06, 2022 10:36 am

Hi members! I call an ATEM Mini Extreme my own combined with a Hyperdeck Studio HD Plus. I connect the 2 SDI Outs of the Hyperdeck to the ATEM via 2 SDI-2-HDMI Converters (also from Blackmagic Design). Now, I wanted to overlay a video from the Hyperdeck using a Downstream Key and selected "fill source" and "key source" accordingly.

Screenshot 2022-08-06 at 12.27.29.png
DSK config
Screenshot 2022-08-06 at 12.27.29.png (74.76 KiB) Viewed 355 times


I played with the "pre multiplied key" option as well as "clip" and "gain" but couldn't get any good result. I recorded a quick video to show what I am seeing since it is very hard to describe. Unfortunately, I cannot share it easily since it's too big for an attachment and I may not post URLs :evil: So I zipped a .txt file with the link to my gdrive and attached that. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Is seems to me like there's an offset between the source and the key but I am not sure where this is coming from. The video seems ok.

Has anyone seen this before?
Attachments
link.txt.zip
Example Video
(279 Bytes) Downloaded 14 times
Offline

ManchesterV

  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 3:29 pm
  • Real Name: Gavin Gration

Re: ProRes 444 Overlay with DVE from Hyperdeck: Strange Resu

PostMon Aug 08, 2022 5:22 pm

HDMI inputs 1+2 have different processing than inputs 3-8.

Which inputs are you using on the ATEM?

Secondly - I vaguely recall seeing something on YouTube or Discord from either Doug Johnson or John Barker about this.....but can't find a link.
Offline

codedeltajames

  • Posts: 208
  • Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2020 11:30 am
  • Location: UK
  • Real Name: James Goodwin

Re: ProRes 444 Overlay with DVE from Hyperdeck: Strange Resu

PostMon Aug 08, 2022 6:30 pm

I'm sure there was a recent thread about the key signal from Hyperdeck's being offset by a frame during playback, that was acknowledged as a bug by BMD, but I can't find it right now.
Offline

ManchesterV

  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 3:29 pm
  • Real Name: Gavin Gration

Re: ProRes 444 Overlay with DVE from Hyperdeck: Strange Resu

PostMon Aug 08, 2022 11:11 pm

Here’s the BMD info from recent post.


"We confirmed the issue of the Fill Signal (A) being one frame ahead of the Key Signal (B) on the Hyperdeck. This has been previously reported to our engineers but it's not know when or if the problem will be rectified. Kindly accept our apologies for this situation.

However there is a workaround if you'd like to pursue it. This can be on any input and output but this is the concept.

Fill Signal A on ATEM Input 1
Key Signal B on ATEM Input 2
ATEM Output 1 connected to ATEM Input 3
Set Output 1 to Input 1 Fill Signal

In the Luminance Key:
Fill Source will be Input 3 (Fill through Output 1)
Key Source will be input 2 (Direct)
Premultiplied Key

The signals will now be in sync."

Edited bit - the workaround was for the Constellation 8k. It may not apply to Extreme models.
Offline

Howard Roll

  • Posts: 1871
  • Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 7:50 am

Re: ProRes 444 Overlay with DVE from Hyperdeck: Strange Resu

PostTue Aug 09, 2022 8:44 am

According to the manual the DSK is Luma only, which is weird because you can select different sources.

The use of separate key and fill requires a linear key. Have you tried the same process with a USK?

Good Luck

DSK.png
DSK.png (25.35 KiB) Viewed 173 times

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests