Trimming Cinema DNG

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

S1lentProductions

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2021 6:18 am
  • Real Name: Dakota Otero

Trimming Cinema DNG

PostThu Aug 11, 2022 8:47 pm

Hello!

We are having problems trimming Cinema DNG. My question is, can DaVinci Resolve even trim CDNG or any DNG for that matter? Importing our files have come across some WEIRD bugs; intermittent cuts, clips separated into multiple thumbnails even though its technically one clip, and much more.

So is there a required third party software to convert the file so that is able to be trimmed or creates a uniform wrapping that allows Davinci to trim the original media DNG?

I am not at all situated with CDNG since we work with BRAW, so any information will be extremely helpful!

Thank you!
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 5010
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Trimming Cinema DNG

PostThu Aug 11, 2022 11:45 pm

BMD has produced a number of cameras which shoot cDNG, so of course you can edit it in Resolve (and "trim" the files in the Media Manager).

Multiple thumbnails sounds like you're importing the files as images, rather than as clips (click the 3 dots on the Media page and make sure you have the correct selection). Impossible to say anything about the rest ("much more") without more information. Have you confirmed in another application that the files aren't defective or damaged?
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1817
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Trimming Cinema DNG

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 12:26 am

The fact that you're seeing multiple thumbnails makes me think there are missing frames in the sequence.
Ryzen 3900X 4.4Ghz
32GB DDR4-3600
RTX 3090
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 17.4.1
Windows 11 Pro 21H2
Offline

Brad Hurley

  • Posts: 1963
  • Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal

Re: Trimming Cinema DNG

PostFri Aug 12, 2022 5:32 pm

S1lentProductions wrote: clips separated into multiple thumbnails even though its technically one clip


This is a sure sign of dropped frames, at least in my experience.

Sounds like whatever media (SD card?) you're using to record in the camera can't keep up with the raw data stream and is dropping frames. Even approved media can't always keep up. What camera was this and what media (SD card, SSD, CFast, etc.) was used to record the footage?
Resolve 17 Studio, Mac Pro 3.0 GHz 8-core, 32 gigs RAM, dual AMD D700 GPU.
Audio I/O: Sound Devices USBPre-2

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Charles Bennett, jessicajess, John Richard, Majestic-12 [Bot], nnjrewzas112, Steve Alexander, tetramix251, Thomas Reading, Videobegin and 121 guests