Wooden Camera V-Mount Plate - D-TAP Placement

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

misterk

  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:30 pm
  • Location: London, UK
  • Real Name: Karl Kolecava

Wooden Camera V-Mount Plate - D-TAP Placement

PostThu Feb 02, 2023 7:28 pm

Why on Earth is the placement so stupid? Accessing the 2 side D-TAPs is impossible due to Ursas SDIs blocking it. Did I mount it wrong? :oops:
CPU Water: R7 1700 @ 3.9Ghz 1.33Vcore / GPU Water: 1080ti @ 2Ghz Core, 6.3GHz Mem / RAM: 32GB Trident Z @ 3600MHz / DRIVES: 2TB 980 PRO OS, 1TB 860 EVO Scratch, 1TB 860 EVO Active Footage
Offline
User avatar

Nathan_H

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 8:12 am
  • Real Name: Nathan Henneton

Re: Wooden Camera V-Mount Plate - D-TAP Placement

PostThu Feb 02, 2023 9:03 pm

Return it, their design is none existent.
The URSA also cut power to all D-Tap Attached to the camera plate if you swich to playback. That makes the D-Tap port on the camera plate irrevelant.

I would buy a hot swap with power outputs instead.

That was my first plate.
I hope yours was better soldered than mine...
Attachments
woodencamera.jpg
woodencamera.jpg (727.41 KiB) Viewed 589 times
https://vimeo.com/nathanhenneton/showreel2019
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 17948
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Wooden Camera V-Mount Plate - D-TAP Placement

PostFri Feb 03, 2023 4:26 am

Or get a battery with a D-Tap on it.
DaVinci Resolve is very capable even for free, but you need the right hardware!

Studio 18.1.4, MacOS 12.6.6, 'sandboxed' 18.5b3 under 13.4
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPad Pro M2 16 GB
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G, iMac 2017
Offline
User avatar

misterk

  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:30 pm
  • Location: London, UK
  • Real Name: Karl Kolecava

Re: Wooden Camera V-Mount Plate - D-TAP Placement

PostFri Feb 03, 2023 12:18 pm

Uli Plank wrote:Or get a battery with a D-Tap on it.


Yeah I got x2 158Wh ABs which have 1 DTAP that is unused and using the top plate DTAP port for my monitor and now 300Wh FXLion which is DTAP heaven.

Just rather annoying, I've bought this plate a year ago so probably past the return date heh.
CPU Water: R7 1700 @ 3.9Ghz 1.33Vcore / GPU Water: 1080ti @ 2Ghz Core, 6.3GHz Mem / RAM: 32GB Trident Z @ 3600MHz / DRIVES: 2TB 980 PRO OS, 1TB 860 EVO Scratch, 1TB 860 EVO Active Footage
Offline
User avatar

misterk

  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:30 pm
  • Location: London, UK
  • Real Name: Karl Kolecava

Re: Wooden Camera V-Mount Plate - D-TAP Placement

PostFri Feb 03, 2023 12:20 pm

Nathan_H wrote:Return it, their design is none existent.
The URSA also cut power to all D-Tap Attached to the camera plate if you swich to playback. That makes the D-Tap port on the camera plate irrevelant.

I would buy a hot swap with power outputs instead.

That was my first plate.
I hope yours was better soldered than mine...


I had some issues with cutting power when pressure was applied to the VMOUNT but its mostly fine. Oddly enough CGpro VMOUNTs my friend has would not connect for whatever reason. When switching between record/playback I've had no issues.

Unfortunately I bought this a year ago so probably past the return date :roll: :oops:
I should have bought the D-BOX however... :cry:
CPU Water: R7 1700 @ 3.9Ghz 1.33Vcore / GPU Water: 1080ti @ 2Ghz Core, 6.3GHz Mem / RAM: 32GB Trident Z @ 3600MHz / DRIVES: 2TB 980 PRO OS, 1TB 860 EVO Scratch, 1TB 860 EVO Active Footage

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests