Why is my rendering so slow?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

david.given

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2022 9:06 pm
  • Real Name: David Given

Why is my rendering so slow?

PostFri Mar 24, 2023 9:14 pm

Good news! I have a shiny new Ryzen 7950x to replace my aging i7-3770k!

Bad news. It hasn't really improved rendering times.

While rendering video, CPU usage seems to hover around 30% (with the fans barely ticking over). RAM usage is low, I/O is at maybe 80MB/s on a drive which can do way more than that, I'm reading from one drive and writing to another... I think I'm doing everything right?

What could be causing the performance issues?

(Lite user, Linux.)
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 3920
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: Why is my rendering so slow?

PostFri Mar 24, 2023 9:40 pm

If you are on DaVinci Resolve, fastest GPU and lots of VRAM is necessary. CPU is inconsequential. I can’t speak for other NLE.
URSA Mini Pro 4.6K G2, Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera 6K, Panasonic GH5
PC Workstation Core I7 64Gb, 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb, Blackmagic Design DeckLink 4K Mini Monitor, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Resolve Studio 18, BM Micro Panel & Speed Editor
Offline

david.given

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2022 9:06 pm
  • Real Name: David Given

Re: Why is my rendering so slow?

PostFri Mar 24, 2023 11:05 pm

Sorry, yeah, Davinci Resolve.

My GPU's not so great --- an Nvidia 1060, so that could be it. But doesn't the renderer use both GPU and CPU together? I'd still expect to see 100% CPU while doing work no matter how fast my GPU.

(I did try turning GPU acceleration off in the preferences, but it didn't make a difference.)
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 3920
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: Why is my rendering so slow?

PostSat Mar 25, 2023 4:34 am

david.given wrote:Sorry, yeah, Davinci Resolve.

My GPU's not so great --- an Nvidia 1060, so that could be it. But doesn't the renderer use both GPU and CPU together? I'd still expect to see 100% CPU while doing work no matter how fast my GPU.

(I did try turning GPU acceleration off in the preferences, but it didn't make a difference.)

No, not at all. Unlike premiere or Vegas, Resolve is primarily GPU and VRAM dependent. The NVIDIA 1060, depending on what you are rendering, won’t cut it. You can try rendering a DNXHD and 1080 timeline and that might work.
URSA Mini Pro 4.6K G2, Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera 6K, Panasonic GH5
PC Workstation Core I7 64Gb, 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb, Blackmagic Design DeckLink 4K Mini Monitor, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Resolve Studio 18, BM Micro Panel & Speed Editor

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], BenoitPFTV, Charles Bennett, Drummerskey, Google [Bot], magician, panos_mts, Uli Plank, Username, VMFXBV, waltervolpatto and 151 guests