Issues with multiple Blackmagic Devices

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

lcplcaleb

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 7:00 pm
  • Real Name: Caleb Farley

Issues with multiple Blackmagic Devices

PostWed May 24, 2023 7:13 pm

Hello!

I'm with a public library, and we've built something called a Memory Lab, based off specs from the DC Public Library system. Long story short, it's for VHS digitization. Here is the current setup as is:

Panasonic AG-1980 VCR
S-Video Out from VCR to a PixieFS TBC
PixieFS TBC to Blackmagic Analog to SDI Converter
RCA from the VCR to the Blackmagic Analog to SDI Converter
SDI from the Analog to SDI Converter to the Ultrastudio Recorder 3G
Thunderbolt cable from the Ultrastudio Recorder 3G to our laptop

Earlier this year, we had to replace the two Blackmagic components. Audio/video stopped working with the laptop. I troubleshot the other components, and they all worked. We narrowed it down to the Blackmagic components, did an RMA through BMD, and they were unable to repair them and sent us replacements.

The Lab had been working fine for a while, until today. Same exact problem. Audio/video has stopped working with the laptop.

Does anyone know what might be causing this issue?
Online
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 21658
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Issues with multiple Blackmagic Devices

PostSat May 27, 2023 3:36 am

Which laptop?
How are you supplying power to these devices?
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G
Offline

lcplcaleb

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 7:00 pm
  • Real Name: Caleb Farley

Re: Issues with multiple Blackmagic Devices

PostTue May 30, 2023 1:32 pm

Uli Plank wrote:Which laptop?
How are you supplying power to these devices?


Laptop is a 14" VivoBook S14 S433EA-DH51. Power is a Furman M-8x2 Merit Series 8 Outlet Power Conditioner & Surge Protector. I'd include URLs, but for some reason the forum won't let me.
Online
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 21658
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Issues with multiple Blackmagic Devices

PostThu Jun 01, 2023 3:20 am

Sorry, unable to help then.
We are running a similar setup, but with a Mac. I know that Apple's audio can be finicky, but we got that sorted out.
Hope someone with a PC can chime in.
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G
Offline

lcplcaleb

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 7:00 pm
  • Real Name: Caleb Farley

Re: Issues with multiple Blackmagic Devices

PostMon Jun 05, 2023 2:51 pm

Uli Plank wrote:Sorry, unable to help then.
We are running a similar setup, but with a Mac. I know that Apple's audio can be finicky, but we got that sorted out.
Hope someone with a PC can chime in.


Gotcha, thanks for the response. Hopefully a PC user with a similar setup/experience with the BMD components can help out.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests