Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Magic Mask not working

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

arturojbr

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2023 2:08 am
  • Real Name: Arturo Baltazar

Magic Mask not working

PostSun Sep 24, 2023 2:14 am

Every time I use the magic mask and track my strokes everything's fine; however when I exit the fusion page the mask resets itself and I have to regenerate the node, but the mask keeps disappearing. I really want to avoid doing a hand-drawn roto but it seems like the most viable option...
Offline

ethanxatris

  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 8:45 pm
  • Real Name: Ethan Geiger

Re: Magic Mask not working

PostThu Sep 28, 2023 9:46 pm

Don't know what would cause that to happen but a workaround could be to right click on the magic mask node before you exit fusion, select cache, then lock the cache and pre render it.
Offline

bentheanimator

  • Posts: 415
  • Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 10:38 pm
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN
  • Real Name: Ben Hall

Re: Magic Mask not working

PostFri Sep 29, 2023 4:25 am

This one comes up a lot. Here's the most recent thread with a couple of solutions.
https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=188854
Resolve & Fusion Studio 18.6.4
Windows 10
Intel Xeon CPU 2699A @ 2.40GHz | 128GB RAM | 2xRTX3090 | 512NVME System | 8TB NMVE Scratch | 80TB 8Gbps Fiber

MacOS 12.7.2
MacBook Pro 13,3 | 16GB | Radeon 460 4GB | 256GB System | 256GB Scratch
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 2427
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Magic Mask not working

PostFri Sep 29, 2023 2:59 pm

Hey

Keep the MM alone on its branch (no node before), and nothing will interfere. You'll be able to find your cache back at reopening (meaning you normally won't have to regenerate).
If you happen to use the MM in the Color page or Resolve, then when the tracking is done, go to the edit page > right click the clip > Render in place. It will protect your cache as well
*MacMini M1 16 Go - Ext nvme SSDs on TB3 - 14 To HD in 2 x 4 disks USB3 towers
*Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 3SSDs including RAID
*Resolve Studio everywhere, Fusion Studio too
*https://www.buymeacoffee.com/videorhin

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests