Timeline list Order

  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Toussaint Brown

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:28 am
  • Real Name: Toussaint Brown

Timeline list Order

PostMon Jan 20, 2020 10:14 pm

When I add a blank timeline to the workspace, even though my timelines are all numerical, the list does not show up in numerical order.

Can the list of timelines show up in chronological order according to alphabetical and/or numerical?

Version: DR 16.1.1
Toussaint Brown
DaVinci Resolve Version 16.1.1
Windows 10 Pro,
32Gb RAM,
Xeon E5-1650 v3
nVidia GeForce RTX 2070
Offline

Mel Matsuoka

  • Posts: 472
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:54 am
  • Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Timeline list Order

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 2:01 am

This issue has been discussed many, many, many times in this forum.

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=97681

I'd suggest purchasing Igor's awesome timeline sorting utility, if you really need this feature.
Resolve Studio 16.1.1.005 / Decklink 4K Extreme (11.4.1) / MacPro5,1 (macOS 10.13.6, 3.46 Ghz 12-core) / 96GB RAM / Boot: 500GB SSD / GUI: GTX 780 (6GB) / COMPUTE: GTX 1080ti SC (11GB), in Cyclone 2707 PCIe chassis / ATTO NT11 10Gb / SNS EVO NAS (10GbE)
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7534
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Timeline list Order

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 5:51 am

Keep hammering that bent nail to the grave!!!!
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 6027
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Timeline list Order

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 8:41 pm

Perhaps a Timeline Sort option in the Timeline Viewer menu, with options like Date Modified, Date Created, Alphabetical, etc.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1833
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Timeline list Order

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 9:49 pm

Jim Simon wrote:Perhaps a Timeline Sort option in the Timeline Viewer menu, with options like Date Modified, Date Created, Alphabetical, etc.


This is an excellent suggestion. +1
Resolve 16.2
Mac OSX 10.14.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
Radeon RX 580 8GB
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7534
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Timeline list Order

PostTue Jan 21, 2020 10:35 pm

Peter Cave wrote:
Jim Simon wrote:Perhaps a Timeline Sort option in the Timeline Viewer menu, with options like Date Modified, Date Created, Alphabetical, etc.


This is an excellent suggestion. +1


I also would like to see the folder structure like the lut folder presentation.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

Toussaint Brown

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:28 am
  • Real Name: Toussaint Brown

Re: Timeline list Order

PostWed Jan 22, 2020 6:35 pm

Mel Matsuoka wrote:This issue has been discussed many, many, many times in this forum.

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=97681

I'd suggest purchasing Igor's awesome timeline sorting utility, if you really need this feature.


Apologies, I was unaware of the thread.
But it seems to me that if its been discussed so many times perhaps it should just be implemented. Why should I have to purchase a script for something so basic when I've already purchased the studio version?

Not trying to debate. Just trying to find the logic. Thanks for your initial response.
Toussaint Brown
DaVinci Resolve Version 16.1.1
Windows 10 Pro,
32Gb RAM,
Xeon E5-1650 v3
nVidia GeForce RTX 2070
Offline

Mel Matsuoka

  • Posts: 472
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:54 am
  • Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Timeline list Order

PostWed Jan 22, 2020 6:43 pm

Toussaint Brown wrote:it seems to me that if its been discussed so many times perhaps it should just be implemented. Why should I have to purchase a script for something so basic when I've already purchased the studio version?


I don't think anyone here, nor BMD engineering, would disagree with you.

That said, software development on a product with as much legacy cross-platform code as Resolve does isn't as simple as it may seem to most end-users. It's probably not a simple, quick "fix" to implement this, as doing so could have negative ramifications on other properly functioning parts of the software (referred to by developers as a "regression"), if not done carefully.

I'm sure if it was an easy fix, it would have been done long ago. But the fact that it still exists indicates to me that it's not as simple as one would think. BMD is most certainly aware of this complaint, so I doubt they are ignoring it.
Resolve Studio 16.1.1.005 / Decklink 4K Extreme (11.4.1) / MacPro5,1 (macOS 10.13.6, 3.46 Ghz 12-core) / 96GB RAM / Boot: 500GB SSD / GUI: GTX 780 (6GB) / COMPUTE: GTX 1080ti SC (11GB), in Cyclone 2707 PCIe chassis / ATTO NT11 10Gb / SNS EVO NAS (10GbE)
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7534
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Timeline list Order

PostWed Jan 22, 2020 8:36 pm

Mel Matsuoka wrote:
Toussaint Brown wrote:it seems to me that if its been discussed so many times perhaps it should just be implemented. Why should I have to purchase a script for something so basic when I've already purchased the studio version?


I don't think anyone here, nor BMD engineering, would disagree with you.

That said, software development on a product with as much legacy cross-platform code as Resolve does isn't as simple as it may seem to most end-users. It's probably not a simple, quick "fix" to implement this, as doing so could have negative ramifications on other properly functioning parts of the software (referred to by developers as a "regression"), if not done carefully.

I'm sure if it was an easy fix, it would have been done long ago. But the fact that it still exists indicates to me that it's not as simple as one would think. BMD is most certainly aware of this complaint, so I doubt they are ignoring it.


I cannot agree, for the most part we are not asking to do 300 lines of code, but one. To make the current list for the timeline, you query the database, you get a list of n items and then you have two choices:

1) present the list as is, FIFO Style
2) do a simple ListOrder() (whatever the function is) and present the same number of element.

make a list at least alphabetically ordered will not break the code, and it a couple of lines at most.
the programmer can fit a million of lines of code for Fusion, they can fit a couple to tidy up the list...

The issue with (non) alphabetical ordered list is widespread in the software....
(alphabetical, alfanumerical, whatever order you want, but not just FIFO)
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

Darius Family

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:09 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Timeline list Order

PostSun Jan 26, 2020 4:09 am

No doubt this is probably more than just a quick fix and im sure every change goes through a long QA process.

But seriously, I think people would have preferred this kind of old school long asked for feature be implemented rather than the time they spent on the Boring Detector...
System Specs: Win10 64bit 10.0.17763 Build 17763 • Intel i7-6700k • 32GB RAM • GTX 980Ti 6GB
Offline

kinvermark

  • Posts: 311
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Wilson

Re: Timeline list Order

PostSun Jan 26, 2020 4:17 am

+1. To keep your project orderly, you need to put things in... order. Bins, timelines, CLIPS! - another nudge for "user sort order" or even better, the equivalent of Adobe's "Freeform View" for clips in bins.
Windows 10 PC. Intel i7 x980, 24GB RAM, Nvidia 2070 Super 8GB GPU, SSD & RAID HD array. Dual UHD monitors. Decklink 4k mini. Resolve Studio 16.2
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7534
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Timeline list Order

PostSun Jan 26, 2020 8:57 pm

Darius Family wrote:No doubt this is probably more than just a quick fix and im sure every change goes through a long QA process.

But seriously, I think people would have preferred this kind of old school long asked for feature be implemented rather than the time they spent on the Boring Detector...


Wholeheartedly agreed!
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Josef Pöllmann

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:19 am
  • Location: Mettenheim/Bavaria

Re: Timeline list Order

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 5:52 am

This is an excellent suggestion. +1 :)
DaVinci Resolve 16.2 Studio on a HP Z 420, 32 GB, 250 GB SSD, 3x2 TB Media, GTX1080, 441.66, W10Pro 1909 - www.muehldorf-tv.de

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests