Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ElementEighty

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2020 7:04 pm
  • Real Name: André Wiegold

Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostFri Mar 13, 2020 7:07 pm

Hallo guys,

I need your help.

I'm using my MacBook Pro Catalina version and I want to record an voice over. On windows I have no problem to make it work, so I know how to do it. When I use fairlight, there is no sound when I record something. Just an empty record track will appear. I already checked the audio bit rates, everythings fine. But what I saw is, that the microphone is not in the list under settings - security settings - privacy - microphone. Da Vinci Resolve is not in the list, so maybe Mac is blocking the usage of the microphone? I re-installed Resolve but I never have to opportunity to allow the app to use the microphone. Any suggestions how to fix that problem?

Thank you very much

André
Offline

Jaakdeco

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:42 am
  • Real Name: Jaak De Cooman

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostSat Mar 14, 2020 10:46 am

That must be a BUG in Resolve. I have the same problem.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5949
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostMon Mar 16, 2020 7:05 pm

Here is what I see on multiple Macs here, Trashcan and iMacs. I don't have access to a MBP.

imac_prefs_security_microphone_catalina.png
imac_prefs_security_microphone_catalina.png (230.49 KiB) Viewed 915 times


And built in microphone (iMac) and Logitech USB headphone microphone (iMac and Trashcan) work in Resolve ADR.

Are you using Catalina 10.15.3?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Will Howard

  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:25 pm
  • Real Name: Will Howard

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 17, 2020 2:58 am

The only way I know of to reset that mic access parameter is through terminal. And it clears all apps, so you'd have to confirm each one again. But maybe it will help? The command is:

tccutil reset Microphone

But probably Google it first to read up about it!
Offline

ElementEighty

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2020 7:04 pm
  • Real Name: André Wiegold

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 17, 2020 10:32 am

I have Catalina 10.15.3 installed. Da Vinci is not asking for microphone permission. I re-installed Da Vinci, cleaned the privacy settings with termimal, but nothing works. Da Vinci does not simply ask for permission to usw the mic =(
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1478
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 17, 2020 10:45 am

Is System Integrity Protection enabled?

SIP.png
SIP.png (38.09 KiB) Viewed 884 times
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5949
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 17, 2020 5:20 pm

You say Resolve is not asking for permission to use the mic.

But if you look in System Prefs - Security and Privacy - Privacy, do you see Microphone in the list on the left?

And if you do, do you see Resolve in the list on the right?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Will Howard

  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:25 pm
  • Real Name: Will Howard

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 3:42 am

I've seen reports of this not working if SIP is disabled. Also reports of it on early versions of both Mojave and Catalina but updates have solved it.
Offline

Jason P

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:54 pm
  • Real Name: Jason Price

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 4:52 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:You say Resolve is not asking for permission to use the mic.

But if you look in System Prefs - Security and Privacy - Privacy, do you see Microphone in the list on the left?

And if you do, do you see Resolve in the list on the right?



Hi Dwaine

I've just come across this thread as I'm encountering the same issue on a MacBook Pro running Catalina 10.15.2 and Resolve 16.2.0.054

I also cannot see Resolve in the list of microphone apps. I've tried Will Howard's command line to re-set the list, restarted Resolve and have still not had the usual system request to provide access to the microphone.

If anyone at BlackMagic has a suggestion on how to force the app to make this request (command line or otherwise, through a preference setting), this would appear to be the thing that may resolve the inability to record directly.

I'm using a Rode NT USB mic (which records fine on other applications like GarageBand and is picked up by the Macbook).

Thanks!

Jason
Offline

Jason P

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:54 pm
  • Real Name: Jason Price

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 4:53 am

Reynaud Venter wrote:Is System Integrity Protection enabled?

SIP.png



In my case I tried this and yes, SIP is Enabled.
Offline

ElementEighty

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2020 7:04 pm
  • Real Name: André Wiegold

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 7:51 am

Right, Da Vonci never asked for permission to use the microphone and it DOES NOT appear in the mic privacy settings, so I cannot activate it.
Offline

Will Howard

  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:25 pm
  • Real Name: Will Howard

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 3:07 pm

There are multiple users reporting this. I'm out of ideas. Within Apples current permissions scheme an app has to request access and the user has to grant it. If there is something blocking the request we will need BMD investigating the cause.
Offline

T-Bone

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: Todd Lloyd

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 4:19 pm

Hey guys. It's a year later, and I searched this forum for this very problem. My privacy settings do not show Davinci as an app that needs access to the microphone (it only shows Garage Band.)

Has anyone found a solution to this?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5949
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 4:26 pm

We are investigating the issue.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Jason P

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:54 pm
  • Real Name: Jason Price

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 9:27 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:We are investigating the issue.


Hi Dwaine

Thanks very much for looking into it. Look forward to hearing the outcome

Jason
Offline

Jaakdeco

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:42 am
  • Real Name: Jaak De Cooman

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostFri Mar 20, 2020 2:52 pm

Hallo Dwaine whats for solution?
Bug fix with update?

J. De Cooman
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5949
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostFri Mar 20, 2020 4:46 pm

We are investigating the issue.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Juan Francisco Calero

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 10:23 pm
  • Location: Toronto

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostSun Mar 22, 2020 4:06 pm

Same here: MacBook Pro + Catalina + Davinci16
Waiting for the solution
Juan Francisco Calero
Director, Producer and Anthologist at The Fiction Anthology
Offline
User avatar

Juan Francisco Calero

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 10:23 pm
  • Location: Toronto

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostSun Mar 22, 2020 4:36 pm

I found a temp solution: to open Resolve from the Terminal.
I had to remove the spaces on the names of the folders ("DavinciResolve" instead of "DaVinci Resolve") because if not I couldn't make terminal to open it. Once the names are changed, write in the Terminal:

open /Applications/DaVinciResolve/DaVinciResolve.app/Contents/MacOS/Resolve

That will open Resolve and asking permission for everything again but as "Terminal".
For the mic to work, I patched it to a track and activate the "R". MacOs will ask for permission to the Terminal for using the mic.

Not a long term solution, as you have to open through the Terminal every time (and don't know what problems could it brings) But for recording VO every now and then, it works

Hope it works for you, guys
Last edited by Juan Francisco Calero on Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Juan Francisco Calero
Director, Producer and Anthologist at The Fiction Anthology
Offline

Oakleef

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 2:48 pm
  • Real Name: Mathias Eklöf

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostSun Mar 22, 2020 9:51 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:We are investigating the issue.


I'm so glad I found this thread. Been struggling with this myself. Using a BLUE Snowball microphone and it works just fine in other software.

Hope there will be a solution soon.
Offline

mattprefy

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:11 am
  • Real Name: Matt Prefontaine

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 3:15 am

I would like to throw my hat in the ring on this. I have a 16" MBP on Catalina 10.15.3 that has the same issue. I was losing my mind trying to figure out why Garage Band would work, and Da Vinci Resolve would not. It dawned on me to check the privacy settings and lo and behold DaVinci Resolve is not on the list.
Offline

Oakleef

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 2:48 pm
  • Real Name: Mathias Eklöf

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 6:09 am

Juan Francisco Calero wrote:I found a temp solution: to open Resolve from the Terminal.
I had to remove the spaces on the names of the folders ("DavinciResolve" instead of "DaVinci Resolve") because if not I couldn't make terminal to open it. Once the names are changed, write in the Terminal:

open /Applications/DaVinciResolve/DaVinciResolve.app/Contents/MacOS/Resolve

That will open Resolve and asking permission for everything again but as "Terminal".
For the mic to work, I patched it to a track and activate the "R". MacOs will ask for permission to the Terminal for using the mic.

Not a long term solution, as you have to open through the Terminal every time (and don't know what problems could it brings) But for recording VO every now and then, it works

Hope it works for you, guys


No, didn't work for me for some reason. No questions were asked... Let's hope BMD comes up with a good permanent solution. Glad this worked for you though.
Offline

Jason P

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:54 pm
  • Real Name: Jason Price

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 4:32 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:We are investigating the issue.


Hi Dwaine

There's a lot of interest in this thread looking at the views. Are you able to provide an update on the investigations going on at BlackMagic into this issue? It'd be helpful to know what stage you're at and what the process is for taking an issue through to a patch development fix.

If nothing else, it'll help us with something else to read to pass the time in self-isolation from covid-19 :D

Thanks

Jason
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5949
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 11:07 pm

I have something that may work to solve the issue for now.

The work around involves installing Resolve 15.3.1 and creating a project and going into the Fairlight ADR page and setting up the mic. That will make the security pop up message appear saying that Resolve would like to access the mic, and asking if that's OK. Click OK.

To do this, you'll need to download and install 15.3.1. That's not an issue on Mac. You can just install it over the current 16 version.

What is an issue is that Resolve 15.3.1 won't work with your 16 database(s). So unless you happen to have some Resolve 15 databases sitting there (and some people might have), you'll need to create a new database for 15.3.1.

Once you've set up the ADR settings for the mic, and got the security pop up message, and told it OK, you can then install Resolve 16.2 again. And the mic should still be working.

Or, you can wait until we sort the issue out in 16.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Jason P

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:54 pm
  • Real Name: Jason Price

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 11:35 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:I have something that may work to solve the issue for now.

The work around involves installing Resolve 15.3.1 and creating a project and going into the Fairlight ADR page and setting up the mic. That will make the security pop up message appear saying that Resolve would like to access the mic, and asking if that's OK. Click OK.

To do this, you'll need to download and install 15.3.1. That's not an issue on Mac. You can just install it over the current 16 version.

What is an issue is that Resolve 15.3.1 won't work with your 16 database(s). So unless you happen to have some Resolve 15 databases sitting there (and some people might have), you'll need to create a new database for 15.3.1.

Once you've set up the ADR settings for the mic, and got the security pop up message, and told it OK, you can then install Resolve 16.2 again. And the mic should still be working.

Or, you can wait until we sort the issue out in 16.


Hi Dwaine

So if I'm reading this right, if we just download and install Resolve 15.1, it will force the microphone setting in the OS, and then Resolve 16 will continue to work with this when we re-install it?

What are the implications if you've been working with projects in 16 of doing the install of an earlier version. Will it overwrite things like settings or production folders? If so, what can we do to manually back them up and restore them (or restore from Time Machine backups once the reinstall is done?)

Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5949
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 11:50 pm

No implications. It won't affect your Resolve 16 settings.

If you want to be extra paranoid, do project exports of any critical projects in process. But then, you should be doing this anyway.

If you have stills in the projects, and you want to be extra extra paranoid, export the projects with Stills/LUTs.

And it's always good practice to have an occasional backup of your database(s). Now might be a good time to make one of those.

But theoretically, since Resolve 15.3.1 won't touch your 16 database(s), and you have to make a new one, and since 15.3.1 config settings are in a different area than 16, all those should remain the same when you reinstall 16.2 after this process.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Juan Francisco Calero

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 10:23 pm
  • Location: Toronto

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostWed Mar 25, 2020 1:28 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:I have something that may work to solve the issue for now.

The work around involves installing Resolve 15.3.1 and creating a project and going into the Fairlight ADR page and setting up the mic. That will make the security pop up message appear saying that Resolve would like to access the mic, and asking if that's OK. Click OK.

To do this, you'll need to download and install 15.3.1. That's not an issue on Mac. You can just install it over the current 16 version.

What is an issue is that Resolve 15.3.1 won't work with your 16 database(s). So unless you happen to have some Resolve 15 databases sitting there (and some people might have), you'll need to create a new database for 15.3.1.

Once you've set up the ADR settings for the mic, and got the security pop up message, and told it OK, you can then install Resolve 16.2 again. And the mic should still be working.

Or, you can wait until we sort the issue out in 16.


That's smart. Thank you for the tip
Juan Francisco Calero
Director, Producer and Anthologist at The Fiction Anthology
Offline

Oakleef

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 2:48 pm
  • Real Name: Mathias Eklöf

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostWed Mar 25, 2020 3:10 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:No implications. It won't affect your Resolve 16 settings.

If you want to be extra paranoid, do project exports of any critical projects in process. But then, you should be doing this anyway.

If you have stills in the projects, and you want to be extra extra paranoid, export the projects with Stills/LUTs.

And it's always good practice to have an occasional backup of your database(s). Now might be a good time to make one of those.

But theoretically, since Resolve 15.3.1 won't touch your 16 database(s), and you have to make a new one, and since 15.3.1 config settings are in a different area than 16, all those should remain the same when you reinstall 16.2 after this process.


I can confirm that this works just fine. Much appreciated solution.
Offline

oscardgz

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:46 am
  • Real Name: Oscar de Gispert

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostFri Mar 27, 2020 1:59 am

Thank you Dwaine. I was trying the workaround you suggested with 15.3.1 but the program asks me for an activation key on opening, and I don't have one nor could I figure out how to get it. Could you help nw with this information?

Thanks,
Oscar.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7435
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostFri Mar 27, 2020 7:16 am

oscardgz wrote:Thank you Dwaine. I was trying the workaround you suggested with 15.3.1 but the program asks me for an activation key on opening, and I don't have one nor could I figure out how to get it. Could you help nw with this information?

Thanks,
Oscar.



If you haven’t paid for an activation key you need to download and install the free version, not the studio version
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

oscardgz

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:46 am
  • Real Name: Oscar de Gispert

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostFri Mar 27, 2020 10:00 am

Thank you very much, Peter.

Yeah, I realized, short after posting, that I had downloaded the Studio version, sorry I'm new in Davinci and the distinction was not clear to me.

In the end, the workaround worked just fine for mee too, thank you all.

Best,
Oscar.
Offline

Jason P

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:54 pm
  • Real Name: Jason Price

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostFri Mar 27, 2020 7:17 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:I have something that may work to solve the issue for now.

The work around involves installing Resolve 15.3.1 and creating a project and going into the Fairlight ADR page and setting up the mic. That will make the security pop up message appear saying that Resolve would like to access the mic, and asking if that's OK. Click OK.

To do this, you'll need to download and install 15.3.1. That's not an issue on Mac. You can just install it over the current 16 version.

What is an issue is that Resolve 15.3.1 won't work with your 16 database(s). So unless you happen to have some Resolve 15 databases sitting there (and some people might have), you'll need to create a new database for 15.3.1.

Once you've set up the ADR settings for the mic, and got the security pop up message, and told it OK, you can then install Resolve 16.2 again. And the mic should still be working.

Or, you can wait until we sort the issue out in 16.


Well, bizarre behaviour continues!

I've downloaded 15.3.1 to install as suggested.
Installs okay, but when 15.3.1 tries to start up, I get the spinning cursor of death and it freezes (not responding) when it gets to 'loading waveform monitor' on the startup screen.

Can't move past this to get into Resolve 15.3 to set up the mic and have to 'force quit'

16.2 reinstalled afterwards still works though, so that's good.

Do you have a timeline estimate on the v16 fix availability (or a suggestion as to why 15.3.1 is giving me spinning cursor of death at the Waveform Monitor load?)

Thanks!

Jason
Offline

Username

  • Posts: 181
  • Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:33 am
  • Real Name: Petter Flink

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostFri Mar 27, 2020 7:44 pm

In case anyone is running their newer macs with T2 chip with the lid closed the built in microphone will physically be disconnected. Apps will see a mic but it will not work.
The lid need to be open to get connected and enabled.

Not sure if this might be the cause in this case.
Grew up with a Nikon FM - Evolving with a BMMCC
Resolve Studio 16.2.0.055 - Fusion Studio 16.2.22
Offline

Brainspot

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 3:50 am
  • Real Name: Mike Alim

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostSun Mar 29, 2020 4:05 am

These steps work for me

Run an application inside the Terminal.
    1. Locate the application in Finder.
    2. Right-click the application and select "Show Package Contents."
    3. Locate the executable file. ... on my Mac its on /Applications/DaVinci\ Resolve/DaVinci\ Resolve.app/Contents/MacOS/Resolve
    4. Drag that file onto your blank Terminal command line. ...
    5. Leave your Terminal window open while you use the application.

After dragging the file to the Terminal, the Davinci Resolve application opens. I went to Fairlight and clicked the R button, and a popup appears asking to allow the Microphone on the Terminal. After I clicked yes, the microphone recording now works.

You can try this as a temporary solution while BMD is figuring out a way to include it in the next update.
Offline

Jason P

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:54 pm
  • Real Name: Jason Price

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostMon Mar 30, 2020 10:19 pm

Brainspot wrote:These steps work for me

Run an application inside the Terminal.
    1. Locate the application in Finder.
    2. Right-click the application and select "Show Package Contents."
    3. Locate the executable file. ... on my Mac its on /Applications/DaVinci\ Resolve/DaVinci\ Resolve.app/Contents/MacOS/Resolve
    4. Drag that file onto your blank Terminal command line. ...
    5. Leave your Terminal window open while you use the application.

After dragging the file to the Terminal, the Davinci Resolve application opens. I went to Fairlight and clicked the R button, and a popup appears asking to allow the Microphone on the Terminal. After I clicked yes, the microphone recording now works.

You can try this as a temporary solution while BMD is figuring out a way to include it in the next update.


Hi

Thanks for posting. I tried this and have replicated the same behaviour.
The app on my system is 'resolve' and the type is 'unix executable' when you're looking for it in finder.
Drag that to the finder, Resolve starts up as it should and then yes, when you click 'R' on a record track, it asks if Terminal can access the microphone.

Lo and behold, Terminal is added to your microphone security and privacy preferences, so it would appear as we suspected that for some reason Resolve 16.x is not forcing the OS to ask for that permission set.

If you create an alias in your finder to the Resolve unix executable and copy that out of the package contents to the level of your davinci folder, it makes it one or two less click steps to repeat and have this on hand to drag and drop into a terminal window as the route for starting Resolve up.

Thanks for posting a good work-around until BMD come up with a patch.

How's that progressing BMD guys, any idea on a timescale for customers on the development investigations and release schedule?

Hope everyone's keeping well in your respective national lockdowns, depending where you are.

Jason
Offline

tremola

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:03 pm
  • Real Name: Ralf Kuehl

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Mar 31, 2020 7:20 pm

Hello Dwaine,

Dwaine Maggart wrote:
I have something that may work to solve the issue for now.

The work around involves installing Resolve 15.3.1 and creating a project and going into the Fairlight ADR page and setting up the mic. That will make the security pop up message appear saying that Resolve would like to access the mic, and asking if that's OK. Click OK.

To do this, you'll need to download and install 15.3.1. That's not an issue on Mac. You can just install it over the current 16 version.

What is an issue is that Resolve 15.3.1 won't work with your 16 database(s). So unless you happen to have some Resolve 15 databases sitting there (and some people might have), you'll need to create a new database for 15.3.1.

Once you've set up the ADR settings for the mic, and got the security pop up message, and told it OK, you can then install Resolve 16.2 again. And the mic should still be working.

Or, you can wait until we sort the issue out in 16.


Your solution did work perfectly and take me not more than a quarter of an hour (MCB Pro, Mojave)

Thanks

Ralf
Offline

Mauronic

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 10:33 pm
  • Real Name: Pete Mauro

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostMon Apr 06, 2020 9:11 pm

Thank you! I dreaded the other workaround - I couldn't even figure out where to find an archive of old versions. Then I saw this and it took less than a minute!


Brainspot wrote:These steps work for me

Run an application inside the Terminal.
    1. Locate the application in Finder.
    2. Right-click the application and select "Show Package Contents."
    3. Locate the executable file. ... on my Mac its on /Applications/DaVinci\ Resolve/DaVinci\ Resolve.app/Contents/MacOS/Resolve
    4. Drag that file onto your blank Terminal command line. ...
    5. Leave your Terminal window open while you use the application.

After dragging the file to the Terminal, the Davinci Resolve application opens. I went to Fairlight and clicked the R button, and a popup appears asking to allow the Microphone on the Terminal. After I clicked yes, the microphone recording now works.

You can try this as a temporary solution while BMD is figuring out a way to include it in the next update.
Offline

Mauronic

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 10:33 pm
  • Real Name: Pete Mauro

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Apr 07, 2020 4:40 pm

OK wait... I think I have to launch the app via the command line every time to make that work.

Where do I get the old version to install for the other workaround?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5949
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Microphone recording in Resolve 16 on MacBook

PostTue Apr 07, 2020 4:55 pm

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... and-fusion

All Resolve versions back to 10.1.5 live here. Here is where you should look for ANY Resolve software.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jasonvp, silvermandj, Vit Reiter, zamboknee and 84 guests