Stability Issue in Color Room Timeline

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Darren Abate

  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:26 pm
  • Location: San Antonio

Stability Issue in Color Room Timeline

PostSat May 23, 2020 10:35 pm

This has been an ongoing issue with Resolve for me, on multiple systems, but now it seems so much worse. I am experiencing severe locking issues when trying to scrub/play/frame adv in the timeline while in the color room. This happens if I use the mouse, keyboard or control surface (BMD Mini), it doesn't matter.

Usually Resolve locks up for 1-5 minutes, and I get the blue spinny while it's doing whatever it's doing, and then it pops back to life. Sometimes it locks up entirely and I have to restart the app.

For instance, I just attempted to scrub through a clip and it locked up so long I've had time to write this entire post before it came back to life, which it just did. Now I will go back to Resolve and try to scrub again, or play, and it will likely freeze again. Anyone else having this issue? It's only in the color room timeline, not the edit timeline.

System:

AMD Threadripper 2 24-core CPU
dual MSI Seahawk EK 2080 Ti GPUs (no SLI)
32GB Dominator Platinum RAM @ 3200Mhz
BMD Mini Control Panel
Windows 10 Pro
All software and drivers at latest version
-------------------------------------
Darren Abate - Colorist
Offline

Dermot Shane

  • Posts: 2194
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Stability Issue in Color Room Timeline

PostSun May 24, 2020 1:48 am

no issues here, four machines, all w10, v16.2.2, windoze, desktop video, nvidia studio drivers all up to date
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 7361
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Stability Issue in Color Room Timeline

PostSun May 24, 2020 4:25 am

Never had that issue.

My first thought is to physically remove one of the 2080's. Report back.
Offline

Darren Abate

  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:26 pm
  • Location: San Antonio

Re: Stability Issue in Color Room Timeline

PostSun May 24, 2020 6:34 pm

Jim Simon wrote:Never had that issue.

My first thought is to physically remove one of the 2080's. Report back.


Thanks for the reply Jim, can you tell me why you think the second card may be causing the issue? Do you think it may have something to do with the setting for using the display card for compute?
-------------------------------------
Darren Abate - Colorist
Offline

Darren Abate

  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:26 pm
  • Location: San Antonio

Re: Stability Issue in Color Room Timeline

PostSun May 24, 2020 6:37 pm

Dermot Shane wrote:no issues here, four machines, all w10, v16.2.2, windoze, desktop video, nvidia studio drivers all up to date


Yeah now that I'm thinking about it more, this is the only machine that this happens on. I have two other workstations and a laptop that run Resolve, and this main machine that I'm on 99% of the time is the only one that has the problem. But it doesn't always occur; it's very sporadic. I never have a problem when clicking on different points in the timeline, it's just when I try to scrub or play, and even then it's not all the time.
-------------------------------------
Darren Abate - Colorist
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 7361
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Stability Issue in Color Room Timeline

PostSun May 24, 2020 7:23 pm

I've seen BMD staff comment that these days, a single GPU is sufficient and can often be better than two.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 6848
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Stability Issue in Color Room Timeline

PostMon May 25, 2020 2:34 am

If it's that single machine only, it might point to RAM, power supply, or thermal problems.
Resolve is perfect for testing the limits of your hardware's stability.
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

Dermot Shane

  • Posts: 2194
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Stability Issue in Color Room Timeline

PostMon May 25, 2020 1:59 pm

the latest nvidia studio driver's readme mentioned sorting issues with dual gpu's in Resolve... might be worth an update if you have not yet done so

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DeathPony, iamalex, shaunmcmillan and 85 guests