DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostWed Mar 11, 2020 2:55 pm

Shrinivas Ramani wrote:The configuration guide is periodically refreshed to provide guidelines on minimum requirements and for deciding on new systems for recent releases.

In addition, the minimum specs for each release are listed in the support site at the end of the release notes (example notes for 16.2).

Please take a look at the FAQs for other commonly asked questions

Still no official compatibility with CentOS 8.1.

You have to fix these bugs:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=106723
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=56878&start=600#p367004
Offline

th3_a6add0n

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 7:02 pm
  • Real Name: Harsh Pahuja

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostWed Mar 11, 2020 7:11 pm

I'm having problems running DaVinci Resolve on my laptop running KDE Neon 5.18.
It doesn't open.

It opened at first when I freshly installed KDE Neon and Resolve but not anymore

CPU : AMD A8 APU 7410
DaVinci Resolve version 16.2.2

Logs :
Code: Select all
[0x7f853de8f000] | Main                 | INFO  | 2020-03-12 00:27:41,040 | Running DaVinci Resolve v16.2.0.054 (Linux/Clang)
[0x7f853de8f000] | Main                 | INFO  | 2020-03-12 00:27:41,054 | Updating display GPU information...
OpenCL error -1001: 'Unspecified Error', GPUPropertiesUtilUnix.cpp:338.
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'ReactorGPU::GPUException'


==========[CRASH DUMP]==========
Please send this to support:

#TIME Thu Mar 12 00:27:41 2020 - Uptime 00:00:00 (hh:mm:ss)
#PROGRAM_NAME DaVinci Resolve v16.2.0.054 (Linux/Clang)

/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x549ffa9]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x549f79a]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0(+0x12890) [0x7f8548275890]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(gsignal+0xc7) [0x7f8545ff9e97]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(abort+0x141) [0x7f8545ffb801]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve(_ZN9__gnu_cxx27__verbose_terminate_handlerEv+0x15d) [0x720740d]
/opt/resolve/bin/../libs/libc++abi.so.1(+0x22086) [0x7f857a37f086]
/opt/resolve/bin/../libs/libc++abi.so.1(+0x21a27) [0x7f857a37ea27]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1fabd3c]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1fab509]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1fa531c]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f727cc]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f6f8de]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f6e33e]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f6dbe8]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f8299a]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f698ff]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe7) [0x7f8545fdcb97]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f68b7d]
Signal Number = 6

================================
[0x7f853de8f000] | Main                 | INFO  | 2020-03-12 00:27:41,159 | Updating display GPU information...
OpenCL error -1001: 'Unspecified Error', GPUPropertiesUtilUnix.cpp:338.
terminate called recursively


==========[CRASH DUMP]==========
Please send this to support:

#TIME Thu Mar 12 00:27:41 2020 - Uptime 00:00:00 (hh:mm:ss)
#PROGRAM_NAME DaVinci Resolve v16.2.0.054 (Linux/Clang)

/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x549ffa9]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x549f79a]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0(+0x12890) [0x7f8548275890]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(gsignal+0xc7) [0x7f8545ff9e97]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(abort+0x141) [0x7f8545ffb801]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve(_ZN9__gnu_cxx27__verbose_terminate_handlerEv+0xed) [0x720739d]
/opt/resolve/bin/../libs/libc++abi.so.1(+0x22086) [0x7f857a37f086]
/opt/resolve/bin/../libs/libc++abi.so.1(+0x223f1) [0x7f857a37f3f1]
/opt/resolve/bin/../libs/libc++abi.so.1(+0x22947) [0x7f857a37f947]
/opt/resolve/bin/../libs/libc++abi.so.1(__gxx_personality_v0+0x6c) [0x7f857a37fe2c]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libgcc_s.so.1(_Unwind_RaiseException+0x14b) [0x7f85463bc96b]
/opt/resolve/bin/../libs/libc++abi.so.1(__cxa_throw+0x66) [0x7f857a37ea16]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1fabd3c]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1fab509]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1fa531c]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f727cc]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f6f8de]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f6e33e]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f6dbe8]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1fa6b2e]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x549fb55]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0(+0x12890) [0x7f8548275890]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(gsignal+0xc7) [0x7f8545ff9e97]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(abort+0x141) [0x7f8545ffb801]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve(_ZN9__gnu_cxx27__verbose_terminate_handlerEv+0x15d) [0x720740d]
/opt/resolve/bin/../libs/libc++abi.so.1(+0x22086) [0x7f857a37f086]
/opt/resolve/bin/../libs/libc++abi.so.1(+0x21a27) [0x7f857a37ea27]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1fabd3c]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1fab509]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1fa531c]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f727cc]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f6f8de]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f6e33e]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f6dbe8]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f8299a]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f698ff]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe7) [0x7f8545fdcb97]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1f68b7d]
Signal Number = 6

================================
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 598
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 12, 2020 4:14 pm

Seth Goldin wrote:
Lucius Snow wrote:Hello Seth,

Have you tried DaVinci Resolve 16.2 on Centos 8.1?

If this works, do you know if this bug is fixed?
https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=106723#p595751

Haven’t yet tried any R3D files, but I’ll try to get to some this week.

Hey Lucius,

Overnight last night I churned through a ton of 5K R3D files, transcoding them to both DNxHR LB as well as HEVC [using NVENC].
This was on a system with:
  • HP Z8
  • 2x RTX 2080 Ti
  • CentOS 8.1
  • NVIDIA 440.64
  • 16.2 Studio
  • "Decode Options" for "Use GPU for R3D" were set to "Decompression and Debayer"
It all worked perfectly! Nice and fast.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.2.0.054
CentOS Linux 7.7.1908 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 440.59
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 12, 2020 6:12 pm

Thanks Seth. Yes it's working now. So I jumped from 16.1.1 to 16.2.

Just one bug left and we're fine:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=56878&start=600#p367004
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 598
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 12, 2020 6:51 pm

Lucius Snow wrote:Thanks Seth. Yes it's working now. So I jumped from 16.1.1 to 16.2.

Just one bug left and we're fine:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=56878&start=600#p367004
What version of PostgreSQL are you running? It seems that folks are having problems when they try to use unsupported major versions newer than 9.5. 9.5 is working perfectly for 16.2 on CentOS 7.7 and 8.1 for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.2.0.054
CentOS Linux 7.7.1908 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 440.59
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 12, 2020 6:54 pm

Seth Goldin wrote:
Lucius Snow wrote:Thanks Seth. Yes it's working now. So I jumped from 16.1.1 to 16.2.

Just one bug left and we're fine:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=56878&start=600#p367004
What version of PostgreSQL are you running? It seems that folks are having problems when they try to use unsupported major versions newer than 9.5. 9.5 is working perfectly for 16.2 on CentOS 7.7 and 8.1 for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It's not related to PostgreSQL but it's an issue which may occur when we don't use the O.S. / keyboard in en-US language. It was fixed in DaVinci 15 but it's back on 16.
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 598
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 12, 2020 7:03 pm

It’s definitely a database error, though, even if it’s only manifesting with the non en-US layouts. Just out of curiosity, if you haven’t tried 9.5, try it. Also try a disk database.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.2.0.054
CentOS Linux 7.7.1908 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 440.59
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 12, 2020 7:19 pm

Seth Goldin wrote:It’s definitely a database error, though, even if it’s only manifesting with the non en-US layouts. Just out of curiosity, if you haven’t tried 9.5, try it. Also try a disk database.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I tried this command to find the version
psql -V


It answers 10.6.
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 598
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 12, 2020 7:22 pm

Lucius Snow wrote:
Seth Goldin wrote:It’s definitely a database error, though, even if it’s only manifesting with the non en-US layouts. Just out of curiosity, if you haven’t tried 9.5, try it. Also try a disk database.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I tried this command to find the version
psql -V


It answers 10.6.
See: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink/topic? ... source=app

Really should only be using 9.5.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.2.0.054
CentOS Linux 7.7.1908 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 440.59
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 12, 2020 7:32 pm

How to downgrade?

And how can be sure the bug is related to a bad version?
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 598
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 12, 2020 10:01 pm

Lucius Snow wrote:How to downgrade?

And how can be sure the bug is related to a bad version?

Don't think there's any way to downgrade. You'd just need to set up a fresh PostgreSQL server and connect. If 9.5 works, even with a non en-US keyboard, you'd know it's using a newer major version that's the problem. You could also just try a disk database and see if that works.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.2.0.054
CentOS Linux 7.7.1908 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 440.59
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline
User avatar

Marc Gasser

  • Posts: 113
  • Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:14 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostSun Mar 22, 2020 9:39 pm

Resolve Studio 16.2 Issues:

- Audiotracks in mp3 or AAC still not supported (imported.mp4 movie comes without sound)
- VST Plugins in Linux still not supported
Pop_OS 18.04 LTS, AMD Threadripper 2990WX 32-Core, Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080Ti 11GB, 64 GB Ram, Resolve Studio 16.x, Fusion Studio 9.0.2
....switched to Blender 2.8x and Natron 2.x to work in realtime....

https://www.pocketvj.com
https://www.magdesign.ch
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5879
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostMon Mar 23, 2020 5:41 pm

Nor are they currently planned to be supported.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Gazhay

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:38 pm
  • Real Name: GARETH HAY

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 3:44 pm

Ubuntu 20.04 dev edition
AMD X570 AORUS ULTRA
GPU AMD/ATI] Navi 10 Radeon RX 5600 OEM/5600 XT / 5700/5700 XT

Resolve installs, but on first launch I get a white or black splashscreen.
Terminal shows "New connection received"

htop refers to the process as being /opt/resolve/Onboarding/xxx - but it never displays properly

if I terminate the process, any further attempts to launch resolve result in a core dump, until I rm -r ~/.local/sahre/DaVinciResolve

I'm figuring there is some kind of first-run thing that is not working for me and can't get passed it.
(Interestingly, I can cd into the /opt/resolve/Onboarding/html and start a webserver (python3 -m http.server 8008) and see the onboarding welcome stuff, so its not a corrupt install)

Is there a file i can 'touch' to get out of any firstrun stuff?
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 6:09 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Nor are they currently planned to be supported.

Why not supported with the expensive Linux dongle is it's just a licence issue? Just like ProRes.
Offline

alfabuster

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 1:21 pm
  • Real Name: Denys Pulinets

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostWed Mar 25, 2020 6:10 pm

Absolutely ugly support for linux systems. I tried to install Resolve 16.2 - 4 times on different distro: Ubuntu, Manjaro, OpenSUSE, CentOS 7. No one works even don't start. Last try I use CentOS 7 from blackmagicdesign
Code: Select all
./resolve
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c005, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c006, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c007, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= 2282, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= 8, Option= 0
PnlMsgActionStringAdapter Already in Table: Code= 615e, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
QSocketNotifier: Can only be used with threads started with QThread
New connection received.
log4cxx: No appender could be found for logger (GPUManager).
log4cxx: Please initialize the log4cxx system properly.
Connection is closed.
16.2 (#055) Linux/Clang
Main thread starts: 542CDB00
[0x7f25542cdb00] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2020-03-26 01:43:52,123 | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[0x7f25542cdb00] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2020-03-26 01:43:52,123 | Loaded log config from /home/den/.local/share/DaVinciResolve/configs/log-conf.xml
[0x7f25542cdb00] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2020-03-26 01:43:52,123 | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Aborted



inxi -F

Code: Select all
System:
  Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 3.10.0-1062.18.1.el7.x86_64 x86_64 bits: 64
  Desktop: Gnome 3.28.3 Distro: CentOS Linux release 7.7.1908 (Core)
Machine:
  Type: Kvm System: innotek product: VirtualBox v: 1.2 serial: <root required>
  Mobo: Oracle model: VirtualBox v: 1.2 serial: <root required> BIOS: innotek
  v: VirtualBox date: 12/01/2006
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 50.0 Wh condition: 50.0/50.0 Wh (100%)
CPU:
  Topology: Single Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 3550H with Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx
  bits: 64 type: UP L2 cache: 512 KiB
  Speed: 2096 MHz min/max: N/A Core speed (MHz): 1: 2096
Graphics:
  Device-1: VMware SVGA II Adapter driver: N/A
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: vmware unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa
  resolution: 800x600~60Hz
  OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 7.0 128 bits) v: 2.1 Mesa 18.3.4
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 82801AA AC97 Audio driver: snd_intel8x0
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k3.10.0-1062.18.1.el7.x86_64
Network:
  Device-1: Intel 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet driver: e1000
  IF: enp0s3 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: 08:00:27:db:ab:56
  Device-2: Intel 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI type: network bridge driver: piix4_smbus
  IF-ID-1: virbr0 state: down mac: 52:54:00:a3:8e:ad
  IF-ID-2: virbr0-nic state: down mac: 52:54:00:a3:8e:ad
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 30.29 GiB used: 11.31 GiB (37.4%)
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: VirtualBox model: VBOX HARDDISK size: 30.29 GiB
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 26.24 GiB used: 11.08 GiB (42.2%) fs: xfs dev: /dev/dm-0
  ID-2: /boot size: 1014.0 MiB used: 233.4 MiB (23.0%) fs: xfs dev: /dev/sda1
  ID-3: swap-1 size: 3.03 GiB used: 3.8 MiB (0.1%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-1
Sensors:
  Message: No sensors data was found. Is sensors configured?
Info:
  Processes: 217 Uptime: 48m Memory: 3.86 GiB used: 1.33 GiB (34.4%) Shell: bash
  inxi: 3.0.37



Interesting thing on Windows 10 works great, but on linux even CentOS, which have official support doesn't start. Can't believe.
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 598
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostWed Mar 25, 2020 8:49 pm

alfabuster wrote:Absolutely ugly support for linux systems. I tried to install Resolve 16.2 - 4 times on different distro: Ubuntu, Manjaro, OpenSUSE, CentOS 7. No one works even don't start. Last try I use CentOS 7 from blackmagicdesign
Code: Select all
./resolve
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c005, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c006, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c007, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= 2282, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= 8, Option= 0
PnlMsgActionStringAdapter Already in Table: Code= 615e, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
QSocketNotifier: Can only be used with threads started with QThread
New connection received.
log4cxx: No appender could be found for logger (GPUManager).
log4cxx: Please initialize the log4cxx system properly.
Connection is closed.
16.2 (#055) Linux/Clang
Main thread starts: 542CDB00
[0x7f25542cdb00] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2020-03-26 01:43:52,123 | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[0x7f25542cdb00] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2020-03-26 01:43:52,123 | Loaded log config from /home/den/.local/share/DaVinciResolve/configs/log-conf.xml
[0x7f25542cdb00] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2020-03-26 01:43:52,123 | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Aborted



inxi -F

Code: Select all
System:
  Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 3.10.0-1062.18.1.el7.x86_64 x86_64 bits: 64
  Desktop: Gnome 3.28.3 Distro: CentOS Linux release 7.7.1908 (Core)
Machine:
  Type: Kvm System: innotek product: VirtualBox v: 1.2 serial: <root required>
  Mobo: Oracle model: VirtualBox v: 1.2 serial: <root required> BIOS: innotek
  v: VirtualBox date: 12/01/2006
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 50.0 Wh condition: 50.0/50.0 Wh (100%)
CPU:
  Topology: Single Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 3550H with Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx
  bits: 64 type: UP L2 cache: 512 KiB
  Speed: 2096 MHz min/max: N/A Core speed (MHz): 1: 2096
Graphics:
  Device-1: VMware SVGA II Adapter driver: N/A
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: vmware unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa
  resolution: 800x600~60Hz
  OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 7.0 128 bits) v: 2.1 Mesa 18.3.4
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 82801AA AC97 Audio driver: snd_intel8x0
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k3.10.0-1062.18.1.el7.x86_64
Network:
  Device-1: Intel 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet driver: e1000
  IF: enp0s3 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: 08:00:27:db:ab:56
  Device-2: Intel 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI type: network bridge driver: piix4_smbus
  IF-ID-1: virbr0 state: down mac: 52:54:00:a3:8e:ad
  IF-ID-2: virbr0-nic state: down mac: 52:54:00:a3:8e:ad
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 30.29 GiB used: 11.31 GiB (37.4%)
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: VirtualBox model: VBOX HARDDISK size: 30.29 GiB
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 26.24 GiB used: 11.08 GiB (42.2%) fs: xfs dev: /dev/dm-0
  ID-2: /boot size: 1014.0 MiB used: 233.4 MiB (23.0%) fs: xfs dev: /dev/sda1
  ID-3: swap-1 size: 3.03 GiB used: 3.8 MiB (0.1%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-1
Sensors:
  Message: No sensors data was found. Is sensors configured?
Info:
  Processes: 217 Uptime: 48m Memory: 3.86 GiB used: 1.33 GiB (34.4%) Shell: bash
  inxi: 3.0.37



Interesting thing on Windows 10 works great, but on linux even CentOS, which have official support doesn't start. Can't believe.


Looks like there are a couple of issues here.
  1. You're running CentOS 7.7, which is not the BMD build. BMD's build is a pre-configured build of 7.3. I have it running on 7.7 just fine, but you have to know your way around the system to get it all configured and running properly.
  2. You're attempting to run inside a VM, which is highly inadvisable. Resolve on Linux is developed and designed for NVIDIA cards on a bare-metal workstation. I'd be quite surprised if that VM worked.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.2.0.054
CentOS Linux 7.7.1908 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 440.59
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline

alfabuster

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 1:21 pm
  • Real Name: Denys Pulinets

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 7:00 am

Seth Goldin wrote:
Looks like there are a couple of issues here.
  1. You're running CentOS 7.7, which is not the BMD build. BMD's build is a pre-configured build of 7.3. I have it running on 7.7 just fine, but you have to know your way around the system to get it all configured and running properly.
  2. You're attempting to run inside a VM, which is highly inadvisable. Resolve on Linux is developed and designed for NVIDIA cards on a bare-metal workstation. I'd be quite surprised if that VM worked.


1. I Used exactly bmd build and download from here http://downloads.blackmagicdesign.com/D ... OS_7.3.iso
2. Yes, I tried to launch resolve inside virtualbox.

Do you think if I'll use the real hardware (not virtual machine), resolve will works without mistakes on CentOS with graphic card rx560x?
Offline
User avatar

Marc Gasser

  • Posts: 113
  • Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:14 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 9:04 am

@Dwaine: Why is there no plan to support compressed audio (it is supported on OSX and Win version out of the box)?

I am always a bit frustrated that I have to extract and convert every single audio track with ffmpeg when importing footage from my camera. It takes quite a lot of time to relink all footage with the created wav files and is likeley to cause errors.

Maybe a good technical explanation might give me the "aha" moment....
As far as I know its not anymore a thing about licenses.
Pop_OS 18.04 LTS, AMD Threadripper 2990WX 32-Core, Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080Ti 11GB, 64 GB Ram, Resolve Studio 16.x, Fusion Studio 9.0.2
....switched to Blender 2.8x and Natron 2.x to work in realtime....

https://www.pocketvj.com
https://www.magdesign.ch
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 12:22 pm

Marc Gasser wrote:@Dwaine: Why is there no plan to support compressed audio (it is supported on OSX and Win version out of the box)?

I am always a bit frustrated that I have to extract and convert every single audio track with ffmpeg when importing footage from my camera. It takes quite a lot of time to relink all footage with the created wav files and is likeley to cause errors.

Maybe a good technical explanation might give me the "aha" moment....
As far as I know its not anymore a thing about licenses.

Absolutely! You might at least support these codecs for the special Linux dongle owners.
Offline

lost_soul

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:30 am
  • Real Name: Shawn Metheny

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 3:46 pm

alfabuster wrote:
Seth Goldin wrote:
Looks like there are a couple of issues here.
  1. You're running CentOS 7.7, which is not the BMD build. BMD's build is a pre-configured build of 7.3. I have it running on 7.7 just fine, but you have to know your way around the system to get it all configured and running properly.
  2. You're attempting to run inside a VM, which is highly inadvisable. Resolve on Linux is developed and designed for NVIDIA cards on a bare-metal workstation. I'd be quite surprised if that VM worked.


1. I Used exactly bmd build and download from here http://downloads.blackmagicdesign.com/D ... OS_7.3.iso
2. Yes, I tried to launch resolve inside virtualbox.

Do you think if I'll use the real hardware (not virtual machine), resolve will works without mistakes on CentOS with graphic card rx560x?


You need to have openCL functionality with AMD cards for Resolve to run. First I concur running in a VM probably isn't going to work and if it does would be horrible. Second thing to know is that the BM supplied ISO doesn't support AMD GPUs it is configured for NVidia. There are a couple of ways to get openCL working with AMD but you may have a hardware issue. Look here for more info. I personally have it running on Centos 8 with an RX-580 but I am using am using an older version of AMDGPU-Pro drivers. After I finish a project I am working on I will try rebuilding with the latest drivers. The good news is if you get it working DR is a really nice program.

https://github.com/RadeonOpenCompute/RO ... re-Support
Offline

Sulo Kokki

  • Posts: 197
  • Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:39 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 8:34 pm

Kernel-based VM's do work with Resolve, given a dedicated GPU.

VMware fails to provide the necessary graphics adapter, there.
Linux Mint 19.1 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.1.2 | Vega 56 | macOS Mojave
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bastien, Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 82 guests