talkback via dist amplifier

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

tadshaw

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:03 pm
  • Real Name: Tad Shaw

talkback via dist amplifier

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 8:21 pm

We are new to blackmagic and are trying to design our new studio.
We are looking at the ursa mini pro or the studio camera. My question is about talkback and tally. Each camera has an sdi in and out. Can the sdi/in be fed from a distribution amplifier.
Our studio is couple hundred feet from the church and we currently have coax from each camera location to the studio but we don't have individual coax from the studio to each camera location. We have one coax to the basement of the church that we used for sync.
If we purchase new BM dist amp could it feed all the cameras?
Offline

Gary Adams

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 654
  • Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:14 am

Re: talkback via dist amplifier

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 4:37 am

Hello Tad. Yes, you may safely use an SDI distribution amplifier to send signals to the cameras. Most if not all DAs or routing switchers should not strip or alter any of the ancillary data. Equipment to be aware are devices that may compress the video such as wireless distribution.

Regards, Gary
Gary Adams
Blackmagic Design
Offline

tadshaw

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:03 pm
  • Real Name: Tad Shaw

Re: talkback via dist amplifier

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 5:38 am

Just to make sure I understand.

The camera 1 sdi out from the atem switcher will have the tally/talkback info for camera 2-8 as well.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests