Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Pavel Rybakov

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:47 pm
  • Location: Kazan, Russia

Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostSat Dec 08, 2018 11:29 am

Motion blur in Resolve Studio works in very strange way - it didn't affected by playback speed at all. Seems it's applyed before changing playback speed ("retiming").
https://vimeo.com/305201877/3c3fa529e7 This is a sample.
E.jpg
E.jpg (241.04 KiB) Viewed 3088 times

r.jpg
r.jpg (261.54 KiB) Viewed 3088 times

Is there any way to make my expectation to reality in Resolve? :geek:
https://vimeo.com/nrggroup
...and sorry for my english =)
ASUS GL504GS laptop with Corei7 8750 & GeForce 1070, SSD Toshiba 512 NVMe + SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6693
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostSun Dec 09, 2018 5:51 am

You could use a keyframe to turn on the motion blur just when it's needed and then turn it off when it's no longer needed, and that might give you more predictable results.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Pavel Rybakov

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:47 pm
  • Location: Kazan, Russia

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostSun Dec 09, 2018 10:03 am

Marc Wielage wrote:You could use a keyframe to turn on the motion blur just when it's needed and then turn it off when it's no longer needed, and that might give you more predictable results.
Yes, had to do this by keyframes... But I made this "expectation" sample is Magix Vegas with no effort. Motion blur in Resolve give much better result but the trail is too small... There are must be a way to apply motion blur after "retime". Seems for now Resolve just throw away unused frames, not blending them together. Hope that someone of BMD's developers will read my post... I really love Resolve and swithed to it from Vegas but still missing some features...
https://vimeo.com/nrggroup
...and sorry for my english =)
ASUS GL504GS laptop with Corei7 8750 & GeForce 1070, SSD Toshiba 512 NVMe + SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6693
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostSun Dec 09, 2018 9:28 pm

Pavel Rybakov wrote:Motion blur in Resolve give much better result but the trail is too small...

Both BorisFX and Sapphire OFX have different kinds of motion blur available. Buy those, install them, and see if those give you the results you're looking for.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 7361
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostSun Dec 09, 2018 11:08 pm

I'm curious why you're applying Motion Blur to live action. That normally comes from the camera's shutter angle. I would assume the effect in Resolve is for artificial clips - CGI, animations, etc.
Offline
User avatar

Andy Mees

  • Posts: 288
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:48 am

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 12:12 am

Jim Simon wrote:I'm curious why you're applying Motion Blur to live action. That normally comes from the camera's shutter angle. I would assume the effect in Resolve is for artificial clips - CGI, animations, etc.


Can't speak for the OP Jim, but Motion Blur on retimed live action is a simple and effective visual treatment for stylisation purposes. I've used it myself many many times.
Windows 10 Pro 1903 | Studio 16.1.2 | i7-3820 | 24GB RAM | GTX 1060 6GB | 431.86
Desktop Video 11.4 | Decklink Mini Monitor | PVM2541 | WFM7200

at home - Mac OS X 10.15.2 on an old 4 core 2.5 GHz i7 MacBook Pro (2014) w/ 16 GB RAM and 2GB GeForce 750M.
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 596
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 12:26 am

I assume you're using "blend" mode in the retime and not "nearest frame" or "optical flow".
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

Pavel Rybakov

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:47 pm
  • Location: Kazan, Russia

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 11:55 am

RCModelReviews wrote:I assume you're using "blend" mode in the retime and not "nearest frame" or "optical flow".

It affect only videos with framerate differs from timeline's. It's for framerate converting purposes.
https://vimeo.com/nrggroup
...and sorry for my english =)
ASUS GL504GS laptop with Corei7 8750 & GeForce 1070, SSD Toshiba 512 NVMe + SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Offline

Pavel Rybakov

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:47 pm
  • Location: Kazan, Russia

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 11:59 am

Marc Wielage wrote:
Pavel Rybakov wrote:Motion blur in Resolve give much better result but the trail is too small...

Both BorisFX and Sapphire OFX have different kinds of motion blur available. Buy those, install them, and see if those give you the results you're looking for.

They're both cost money and working very slow) I like Resolve's motion blur but it must be applied after retime not before. It's ordinary thing for all NLE I've ever used)
https://vimeo.com/nrggroup
...and sorry for my english =)
ASUS GL504GS laptop with Corei7 8750 & GeForce 1070, SSD Toshiba 512 NVMe + SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Offline

Pavel Rybakov

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:47 pm
  • Location: Kazan, Russia

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 12:00 pm

Jim Simon wrote:I'm curious why you're applying Motion Blur to live action. That normally comes from the camera's shutter angle. I would assume the effect in Resolve is for artificial clips - CGI, animations, etc.

I placed video sample above)
https://vimeo.com/nrggroup
...and sorry for my english =)
ASUS GL504GS laptop with Corei7 8750 & GeForce 1070, SSD Toshiba 512 NVMe + SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 695
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 1:39 pm

to OP:

just a guess, it sounds like the motion blur is added before the retime, maybe if you precompose/nest your retimed shot first and apply the effect to that nested comp, it will give you better results. though i think, on the other hand, 2 complete different frames where the cars are too far apart will give a weird result. but it might be the trick.
resolve 16.2.1
windows 10
i7 6950x
2x gtx 1080 8gb
96gb DDR4 3200
Offline

Pavel Rybakov

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:47 pm
  • Location: Kazan, Russia

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 5:16 pm

Rick van den Berg wrote:to OP:

just a guess, it sounds like the motion blur is added before the retime, maybe if you precompose/nest your retimed shot first and apply the effect to that nested comp, it will give you better results. though i think, on the other hand, 2 complete different frames where the cars are too far apart will give a weird result. but it might be the trick.

I've already tried to make compound clip with this media but it didn't help. I also tried to render it and then add blur but it made weird result because lot of frames was thrown away. For now I see no way to make it in Resolve. I'll make this in Vegas :(
https://vimeo.com/nrggroup
...and sorry for my english =)
ASUS GL504GS laptop with Corei7 8750 & GeForce 1070, SSD Toshiba 512 NVMe + SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Offline

peterjackson

  • Posts: 440
  • Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:12 pm
  • Real Name: Peter Jackson

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostTue Dec 11, 2018 3:09 am

That's really sad. Just run into the same thing :(

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
XPS 9750, i9-8950HK, 32GB, 2TB NVM, Intel 630, GTX 1050 Ti, 1080 Ti eGPU, Mini Monitor, BMCC4K. Versions: BIOS 1.7.0, Intel 630 24.20.100.6287, Nvidia 25.21.14.1881, Thunderbolt 17.4.77.13, Win10 Enterprise 10.0.17134.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6693
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostTue Dec 11, 2018 5:11 am

Pavel Rybakov wrote:They're both cost money and working very slow).

Get more cash and then cache the motion blur results with BorisFX or Sapphire.

You asked for suggestions: I gave you suggestions.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 695
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostTue Dec 11, 2018 8:13 am

Pavel Rybakov wrote:
Rick van den Berg wrote:to OP:

just a guess, it sounds like the motion blur is added before the retime, maybe if you precompose/nest your retimed shot first and apply the effect to that nested comp, it will give you better results. though i think, on the other hand, 2 complete different frames where the cars are too far apart will give a weird result. but it might be the trick.

I've already tried to make compound clip with this media but it didn't help. I also tried to render it and then add blur but it made weird result because lot of frames was thrown away. For now I see no way to make it in Resolve. I'll make this in Vegas :(


maybe fusion can come in handy now, using the trails effect. but fusionresolve in its current stage wouldnt be my first choice. if you can easily do it in vegas, then i would use vegas
resolve 16.2.1
windows 10
i7 6950x
2x gtx 1080 8gb
96gb DDR4 3200
Offline

Pavel Rybakov

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:47 pm
  • Location: Kazan, Russia

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostWed May 20, 2020 1:48 pm

Two years spent since my request. I think it's a great time to add this kind of motion blur to Resolve. Option to mix all frames when retiming instead of throwing them away. I love this blur trails when I speed up video.
This is a new example)
https://vimeo.com/nrggroup
...and sorry for my english =)
ASUS GL504GS laptop with Corei7 8750 & GeForce 1070, SSD Toshiba 512 NVMe + SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Offline

Pavel Rybakov

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:47 pm
  • Location: Kazan, Russia

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostThu May 21, 2020 9:20 am

UP
https://vimeo.com/nrggroup
...and sorry for my english =)
ASUS GL504GS laptop with Corei7 8750 & GeForce 1070, SSD Toshiba 512 NVMe + SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Offline
User avatar

Kirill Tupta

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 8:55 pm

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostThu May 21, 2020 12:31 pm

Ran into same problem with motion blur.
Obviously i try to use compound after clip re-time, but Motion Blur doesn't work on Compound Clips at ALL! Looks like a bug that need to be fixed.
Offline

Pavel Rybakov

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:47 pm
  • Location: Kazan, Russia

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostSat May 23, 2020 5:33 pm

UP!) :D
https://vimeo.com/nrggroup
...and sorry for my english =)
ASUS GL504GS laptop with Corei7 8750 & GeForce 1070, SSD Toshiba 512 NVMe + SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 6848
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostSun May 24, 2020 2:50 am

S_TimeAverage by Boris might be helpful, just give it a try, there should be a demo.
But awfully slow if you don't have a CUDA capable GPU.
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6693
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Davinci Resolve Studio motion blur.

PostSun May 24, 2020 5:32 am

Pavel Rybakov wrote:They're both cost money and working very slow) I like Resolve's motion blur but it must be applied after retime not before. It's ordinary thing for all NLE I've ever used)

A lot of stuff in this world costs money. You asked for advice: you didn't ask for something free.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, Shantanu Kumar Singh and 75 guests