URSA Mini Pro and encoder - no audio

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

a_d_richards

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:57 pm
  • Real Name: Adam Richards

URSA Mini Pro and encoder - no audio

PostWed Mar 13, 2019 9:25 pm

I am currently completely out of road finding a solution for this problem.
I assume I am missing something blindingly obvious, and please point me in the right direction if this topic has been covered and I've missed it.
The problem is I can get picture on a Teradek Vidiu, but not audio.
Today I was live-streaming a conference using an URSA Mini Pro direct to a Teradek Vidiu Go through SDI. The Teradek went to Core and was pushed to the client's Grabyo.
The picture was fine, but there was no embedded audio, despite good levels on camera. No audio was showing up in Core, and the client reported no audio their end.
I pushed a second stream to a test my Facebook page and was getting picture, but not audio, which ruled out a problem on the client's end.
The audio was line level from a mixing desk, but I still had no audio when I switched to internals, or an onboard shotgun.
For plan B had a BM WebPresenter in my case, which I then plugged the SDI into, and the audio was fine. I managed to get the stream out through the Vidiu by routing the BMWP PGM Out into the encoder which worked. Core and Grabyo now had audio and picture.
What I don't understand is why there wasn't any audio? The fact it worked through the BMWP rules out mechanical damage to outputs and cables. And in a separate incident I had the same issue using a LiveU system months before, ruling out a Teradek bug.
Reading the manual it states the UMP outputs 48khz 24bit audio over SDI. Knowing very little about the nitty-gritty of audio, I can only suspect this is where the problem lies, but don't actually know the full implications of the above.
Any suggestions and/or solutions would be greatly appreciated!.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3201
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: URSA Mini Pro and encoder - no audio

PostFri Mar 15, 2019 5:01 pm

Have you tried with a SDI monitor on the Ursa to check you have embedded audio output? ;)

Could it be that for some reason the teradek is switching to the analog audio input instead of the SDI Embedded input?
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 2061
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: URSA Mini Pro and encoder - no audio

PostSat Mar 16, 2019 11:38 am

I am having the same problem with the Teradek Bolt 500 XT and URSA Mini Pro - if the SDI is connected via cable to a Shogun Inferno or a Sumo 19 audio is there, but when the signal gets through the Bolt, then there is no audio.

Wrote about it here:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=87612
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 10150
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: URSA Mini Pro and encoder - no audio

PostSat Mar 16, 2019 6:18 pm

Just a thought... :D Is the Shogun stripping the audio off its output?, try connecting directly to the camera.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 2061
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: URSA Mini Pro and encoder - no audio

PostSun Mar 17, 2019 6:50 am

Denny Smith wrote:Just a thought... :D Is the Shogun stripping the audio off its output?, try connecting directly to the camera.
Cheers

Denny, the Shogun is not used when the Teradek is connected.
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 2061
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: URSA Mini Pro and encoder - no audio

PostSun Mar 17, 2019 3:43 pm

I did some further investigations:

1. Updating the firmware on the Teradek units to the latest did not solve anything.
2. When I am sending the signal from my URSA Mini 4.6k (FW 4.8) audio works as expected.
3. Hooking up the Atomos Shogun Inferno directly to UMP gives working audio.
4. The UMP is on FW 6.0 BETA, so I'll try now an update to FW6.0 FINAL and if that doesn't work a downgrade to FW 5.1.1

EDIT:
Upgrading to FW 6.0 FINAL did not solve the issue.
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 2061
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: URSA Mini Pro and encoder - no audio

PostSun Mar 17, 2019 4:47 pm

Ok, problem found.
With firmware 5.1.1 the UMP audio works on the Teradek Bolt. So there has been something changed in firmware 6.0 and above which breaks audio for the Teradek.

I have filed a bug report to BMD support.
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 10150
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: URSA Mini Pro and encoder - no audio

PostSun Mar 17, 2019 8:59 pm

Good, glad you got it sorted Robert.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

a_d_richards

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:57 pm
  • Real Name: Adam Richards

Re: URSA Mini Pro and encoder - no audio

PostWed Mar 20, 2019 2:00 pm

I've had a reply from BM support and they suggested the same thing - downgrading the firmware from 6 to 5.1.1 which I'm about to do.
We have an old 4K which hasn't had 6 installed and there is audio, so it seems to a be a bug. What I'm interested to know is if it's across all UMP with 6.0, or certain batches only.
Fingers crossed for a bug fix soon!

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], selinofell197 and 3 guests