Cannot get Resolve 16 Started passed 'Loading Waveform"

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

udayan.misra2001

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:46 am
  • Real Name: Udayan Misra

Cannot get Resolve 16 Started passed 'Loading Waveform"

PostTue Apr 16, 2019 4:54 am

I've tried repeatedly, even updated my radeon driver to 19.4.1. but even than I cannot get passed the "Loading Waveform Monitor". At this stage, the resolve stops responding as reported from Task Manager. I am using a Dell Inspiron Laptop with AMD 7 series 2GB GPU, with core i7 2nd gen Processor and 8GB of DDR3 SDRAM with Crucial MX500 1TB SSD.

What should I do?
Offline

geporet

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:52 am
  • Real Name: George Poret

Re: Cannot get Resolve 16 Started passed 'Loading Waveform"

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 4:24 pm

same problem here on different H/W.

your 2GB GPU could be somewhat "under dressed", usually at least 4gb is recommended.

But even on my 8GB GPU the problem timeout after "Loading Waveform" persists.

All drivers are up-to-date here , WIN on newest patch lavel.

ERROR log ends with:

[0x00000504] | CmdCommon | WARN | 2019-04-17 17:50:55,975 | SendSync() timed out in 300002 ms

No such problems at Resolve running at rel 15.3
Offline

Spencer_Meyer

  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:58 pm
  • Location: Arizona

Re: Cannot get Resolve 16 Started passed 'Loading Waveform"

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 4:38 pm

One thing you could try is going into device manager and disabling the built-in Intel gpu, forcing resolve to use your discrete gpu. That fixed it for me.
DaVinci Resolve Certified Trainer
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 2143
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Cannot get Resolve 16 Started passed 'Loading Waveform"

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 4:42 pm

udayan.misra2001 wrote:I've tried repeatedly, even updated my radeon driver to 19.4.1. but even than I cannot get passed the "Loading Waveform Monitor". At this stage, the resolve stops responding as reported from Task Manager. I am using a Dell Inspiron Laptop with AMD 7 series 2GB GPU, with core i7 2nd gen Processor and 8GB of DDR3 SDRAM with Crucial MX500 1TB SSD.


If you mean the Radeon R7 240, it's not likely to ever run usefully with Resolve 16 (or 15). The issue isn't the 2GB VRAM, but the lack of processing power.

The stall in loading is seen in others systems, so that will likely have a different explanation, other than a weak GPU. But solving it on those systems may not help you much, even if Resolve loads.
Offline

Levis95l

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:47 pm
  • Real Name: Lauri Levälehto

Re: Cannot get Resolve 16 Started passed 'Loading Waveform"

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 9:02 pm

This happened to me on desktop PC too. Apparently the problem has something to do with AMD graphics drivers.

This should work:
1. Uninstall graphics drivers completely with Display Driver Uninstaller.
2. Reinstall drivers.

The problem might come up again the next time you update drivers (haven't tried yet).
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5014
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Cannot get Resolve 16 Started passed 'Loading Waveform"

PostThu Apr 18, 2019 2:32 am

Others have reported the 19.4.1 driver not working with Resolve.

Please try the 19.3.2 driver.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support

Return to DaVinci Resolve 16 BETA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Robert Wiklund and 4 guests