Annoying Glitch in my Output Video.mov @h.264

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Pulaster

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 8:01 pm
  • Real Name: Emanuele Gritti

Annoying Glitch in my Output Video.mov @h.264

PostTue May 14, 2019 8:07 pm

Hi everybody, I hope you can help me to figure out a solution to fix an annoying problem that is completely freacking me out!

Actually I faced two distinct problem that occurred during the rendering process. The 1st one occurred in dVR15 while generating a file.mov using h.264 codec and that produced several ominous crash in series. Starting from that moment every exported file presented an awful quality!
I set up some test trying to frame the real problem so I switched h.264 codec to Apple ProRes and, as I expected, I got a great video in a huge file! Quite a solution but of course not the definitive one! I exported my project into Prrrrremiere (a really daunting process) and I switched back to h.264 codec… … it did it, but I promised myself to never come back to that pice of software ever again, so I convinced my self that somehow my dVR15 was having bad time with the h.264 codec, so my brilliant solution was to upgrade from dVR15 to dVR16. I know… that doesn’t sound a wise solution, but it worked! Actually it just seemed to work in fact I got stuck myself with a 2nd new problem somehow even more annoying than the previous one! My output file, as I said, seemed perfect but randomically it presents some glitch: an improvise loss of quality just in a single frame.

Does anyone encountered the same problem? Any Ideas how to fix it?
Thank you in advance!
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1369
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Annoying Glitch in my Output Video.mov @h.264

PostThu Jul 11, 2019 9:15 pm

Perhaps move this topic to the Resolve forum? Also system details and footage format will help others help you.
Resolve 15.3 & 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 32gb
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 628
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Annoying Glitch in my Output Video.mov @h.264

PostThu Jul 11, 2019 9:40 pm

You don't list your system so there may be a problem there. As I suggested to another poster, try rendering at a lower render speed. It may help.
Attachments
Render Speed.JPG
Render Speed.JPG (74.44 KiB) Viewed 127 times
Dell XPS 8700 Core i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, GTX 1060 6GB (430.86 Studio), Win 10 Home, Resolve 16.1b1 (free), 2x Monitors, Canon HF G40.
Dell Precision 490 2 X 4 core Xeon Workstation, 16GB ECC RAM, GTX 650, Win 7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Pro Tools 2018.7
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 379
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: Annoying Glitch in my Output Video.mov @h.264

PostThu Jul 11, 2019 11:05 pm

Why would changing the render speed alter anything?

Computers tend to work on the basis that one part of the code will simply wait until the data it requires (from disk or another process) is available. It's not a case of the consumer of the data running too fast for the supplier of the data -- or vice-versa.

I've seen people suggesting to slow down the render but seriously, that shouldn't make a jot of difference unless you're working from an *incredibly* slow source and you're getting timeouts.
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1222
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Annoying Glitch in my Output Video.mov @h.264

PostThu Jul 11, 2019 11:46 pm

RCModelReviews wrote:I've seen people suggesting to slow down the render but seriously, that shouldn't make a jot of difference unless you're working from an *incredibly* slow source and you're getting timeouts.

It's pretty common for the Trashcan Pro to exhibit artifacts in renders caused by the GPUs overheating. Limiting the render speed solves this issue.
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 15.3.1
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 379
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: Annoying Glitch in my Output Video.mov @h.264

PostFri Jul 12, 2019 3:08 am

Jack Fairley wrote:
RCModelReviews wrote:I've seen people suggesting to slow down the render but seriously, that shouldn't make a jot of difference unless you're working from an *incredibly* slow source and you're getting timeouts.

It's pretty common for the Trashcan Pro to exhibit artifacts in renders caused by the GPUs overheating. Limiting the render speed solves this issue.

Wow... can you say crappy design? Any half-decent designer would throttle the hardware to prevent overheating to that extent. I thought Apple was supposed to be premium gear?
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6969
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Annoying Glitch in my Output Video.mov @h.264

PostFri Jul 12, 2019 3:15 am

Do you have the Adobe creative cloud? After you do the prores, user the Adobe media encoder.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 16.0.0B.040
nvidia: 430.86 studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, Mario Kalogjera, Michael_Andreas, robozb and 179 guests