Copying camera shake and zoom from another clip

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jason Tackaberry

  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:34 am

Copying camera shake and zoom from another clip

PostSat May 18, 2019 3:20 am

I have a static clip and want to introduce realistic camera shaking and zooming based on a different clip. I kinda sorta have this working, but I'm wondering if there's a better way.

If I take the clip with the natural motion and, via the Color page, stabilize it (with the Similarity mode and camera lock enabled), and then copy the track data to the static clip I want to introduce the shake to, this basically works, except that of course the movements on the target clip are inverted. So if the source clip zoomed in, the target clip zooms out.

Makes sense, considering the point of stabilizing is to reverse those motions. But I want to actually copy them as-is.

I thought if I set the clip to reverse speed (Change Clip Speed / Reverse Speed in edit page) then I would track camera movements backwards. This doesn't actually work though, because the tracker ignores the clip reversal (i.e. if you scrub forward in the timeline in the Color page, the stabilization timeline moves in the opposite way).

I could render out the reversed clip and then pull it back in and track that. But I thought there might be a better way. Or perhaps this can only be done with Fusion?

Thanks!
Resolve Studio 16.0 | Windows 10 x64 (1903) | AMD Threadripper 2950X | 64GB | NVIDIA 1080 Ti (430.64)
Offline
User avatar

iddos-l

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 7:55 pm
  • Real Name: iddo lahman

Re: Copying camera shake and zoom from another clip

PostSat May 18, 2019 5:24 am

Hi
You also have OFX “shake”
Offline

Jason Tackaberry

  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Copying camera shake and zoom from another clip

PostSat May 18, 2019 3:48 pm

iddos-l wrote:You also have OFX “shake”

I played with it, and it's pretty naive. I have material with actual human-generated camera movements that I was hoping to clone in a simple way. I almost got there, too. :)
Resolve Studio 16.0 | Windows 10 x64 (1903) | AMD Threadripper 2950X | 64GB | NVIDIA 1080 Ti (430.64)
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2617
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Copying camera shake and zoom from another clip

PostSat May 18, 2019 4:15 pm

Jason Tackaberry wrote:
iddos-l wrote:You also have OFX “shake”

I played with it, and it's pretty naive. I have material with actual human-generated camera movements that I was hoping to clone in a simple way. I almost got there, too. :)


Hello,

Do a search in the forum:
Copy paste stabilization (tracking) data.
To test. :)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
"When we put idiots on orbit you have not finished turning. I turn..."
Offline

Jason Tackaberry

  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Copying camera shake and zoom from another clip

PostSat May 18, 2019 4:19 pm

Jean Claude wrote:Do a search in the forum:
Copy paste stabilization (tracking) data.
To test. :)

I've done that (copy/pasting stabilization data), but it wasn't quite what I wanted. Please refer to my original post.

I guess this guy is talking about the same problem. I'm sure Fusion can do it, but I was hoping for a simpler way. Actually probably rendering out the reversed source clip and tracking that will be easier than Fusion. But I was hoping for an easy win. :)
Resolve Studio 16.0 | Windows 10 x64 (1903) | AMD Threadripper 2950X | 64GB | NVIDIA 1080 Ti (430.64)
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2617
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Copying camera shake and zoom from another clip

PostSat May 18, 2019 4:29 pm

And with the old method with the classic stabilizer?
No better results? :)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
"When we put idiots on orbit you have not finished turning. I turn..."
Offline

Jason Tackaberry

  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Copying camera shake and zoom from another clip

PostSat May 18, 2019 4:50 pm

You know, the classic stabilizer isn't behaving right for me (as in it seems to do nothing). Could be a regression in the beta (which I'm using), or PEBKAC (although I don't think I'm using it wrong). I'll have to dig into that further to see if there's a bug to be reported there.

Meanwhile, I did actually find a solution, which I'll submit here for future Googlers:

Reverse the clip as I described in my OP, and then create a compound clip. Track the compound clip, and when you paste the stabilizer data into the target track, everything is preserved in the proper temporal direction.
Resolve Studio 16.0 | Windows 10 x64 (1903) | AMD Threadripper 2950X | 64GB | NVIDIA 1080 Ti (430.64)
Offline
User avatar

Cary Knoop

  • Posts: 1037
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
  • Location: Newark, CA USA

Re: Copying camera shake and zoom from another clip

PostSat May 18, 2019 7:43 pm

Jason Tackaberry wrote:Reverse the clip as I described in my OP, and then create a compound clip. Track the compound clip, and when you paste the stabilizer data into the target track, everything is preserved in the proper temporal direction.

Very cool!
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1329
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Copying camera shake and zoom from another clip

PostTue May 21, 2019 3:08 pm

Well done but just for the record, what about :

- the old stabilizer "-100" trick ?

or

- your WF but with only the target clip reversed just before pasting track data ?
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and Sierra, Resolve 15 Studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Joshua_G, xunile and 47 guests