Resolve 12 Beta crashes - QT Decoder/GPU concerns

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jay Batchelor

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:55 pm

Resolve 12 Beta crashes - QT Decoder/GPU concerns

PostSun Aug 02, 2015 8:08 pm

This is my first post here at BMD, and I am excited in trying out Resolve 12 - after being versed with Vegas.

Installation was good and it opens well, except I get the QT Decoder initialization failed maybe twice, and when I open a project and place a h.264 .mov file, it crashes.

Is there a workaround to this? Do I have to keep in mind of the graphics card I use? I only like to work with HD/1080p.

Thank you.

Intel DualCore G2020 @ 3.0 Ghz
4GB RAM
1.5 TB hard drives
Intel HD Graphics (OpenCL 1.2)
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5254
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta crashes - QT Decoder/GPU concerns

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 8:17 pm

What OS are you using?

What specific Intel HD graphics?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Jay Batchelor

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:55 pm

Re: Resolve 12 Beta crashes - QT Decoder/GPU concerns

PostWed Aug 05, 2015 8:01 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:What OS are you using?

What specific Intel HD graphics?


Thank you for the response back.

I am using Windows 8.1 on a Dell.

My graphics card is (according to the info):

Processor Graphics in Use: Intel(R) HD Graphics (no number specified)
Video BIOS: 2169.0

Operating System: Windows* 8.1 (6.3.9600)
Default Language: English (United States)
Installed DirectX* Version: 11.2
Supported DirectX* Version: 11.0
Shader Version: 5.0
OpenGL* Version: 4.0
OpenCL* Version: 1.2
Physical Memory: 3967 MB
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G2020 @ 2.90GHz
Processor Speed: 2894 MHz
Vendor ID: 8086
Device ID: 0152
Device Revision: 09



Footnote:
While re-installing Windows 8/udated to 8.1, I updated the said graphics driver (Intel Processor Graphics), and added Intel SDK for OpenCL - CPU Only Runtime Package. I tried the 2nd Beta of Resolve, and still had the QuickTime decoder initialization error, only thing was that it was missing a qtcore4.dll. I re-installed Resolve, and it appears everything worked okay... so far. I managed to get my h.264 files in the program from Edit to Grading and rendering.

I assume everything's okay.

Is the said graphics okay for running Resolve, or should I invest in another?

Thanks again.



Jay B.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Anvilhawsing, bclontz, Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Ulysses Paiva and 32 guests