Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

spaxous

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Hunter Kern

Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostThu Oct 31, 2019 3:25 am

I consistently get crashes, mainly when using the h.264 codec and the quicktime format.

Using Davinci Resolve Free 16.1 originally, and updated to 16.1.1 and same problem.

I haven't been able to successfully try many options, but DNxHR LB SEEMS to work for the most part, but the file sizes are much too large for what space I have for archiving, so I'll have to either give up on archiving or render each video in two different qualities, one for archival at a low res/setting codec and once for the actual output of the video.

EDIT: just realized that h.264 is lower quality than even HDxHR LB, so I won't need to render two videos afterall, since the videos are just for YouTube anyways. This does NOT however fix that the videos are much larger than I'd like for archiving.

Is there something with my system maybe causing it?

-R5 2600 @4ghz
(CLC 120 cooler)
-GTX 1660ti stock speeds
-2x16GB DDR 4 3200mhz
-6TB WD RED PRO (old model, 128MB Cache 7200RPM)
-500GB WD BLUE SSD (m.2 SATA)
-B450 Tomahawk MSI (latest BIOS and Firmware)

The problem doesn't happen EVERY time without fail, which is part of the reason it's so annoying. I change something, and think it's fixed, only to queue up 10 or so renders for overnight and have it crash on the 2nd or third video... Then not be able to do much on my PC all day long as I wait for the renders to finish so I can upload...

Thanks for your input in advance.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/13UJrctmx4jPg5MJkivDoPwCgnAH-RX50/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qbbn0adRcHPnY6T7g2eF1A_hZYJ8cV02/view?usp=sharing
Last edited by spaxous on Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:42 pm, edited 5 times in total.
DR Free 16.1.1 - Win10 (10.0.18362) - R5-2600@4GHz - 2x16GB RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1660 ti 6GB, Studio Driver 430.86
- D: Drive install and cache, WD Red Pro 6TB 128MB Cache
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6963
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostThu Oct 31, 2019 4:48 am

You haven't mentioned what version of Resolve so all can suggest is to back up the database and upgrade to the 16.1.1 that was just released. See the read me at the top of the forum
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

spaxous

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Hunter Kern

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostThu Oct 31, 2019 5:09 am

Sorry, I was using 16.1.

I'll update to 16.1.1 to see if it fixes my issue.

I'll also update my post.

Thanks :D
DR Free 16.1.1 - Win10 (10.0.18362) - R5-2600@4GHz - 2x16GB RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1660 ti 6GB, Studio Driver 430.86
- D: Drive install and cache, WD Red Pro 6TB 128MB Cache
Offline

spaxous

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Hunter Kern

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostThu Oct 31, 2019 7:01 am

Updating to 16.1.1 does not seem to have fixed the problem.

Still crashes in H.264 and still seems to be fine using DNxHR LB.

Going to keep tinkering in my free time, but overnight render queues are definitely going to have to be DNxHR LB for now.

Sad that the videos are going to take up almost 2x the space on what little space I have left on my NAS.

If anyone has some suggestions as to what settings I should try, please don't hold back. Thanks!
DR Free 16.1.1 - Win10 (10.0.18362) - R5-2600@4GHz - 2x16GB RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1660 ti 6GB, Studio Driver 430.86
- D: Drive install and cache, WD Red Pro 6TB 128MB Cache
Offline

spaxous

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Hunter Kern

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 6:24 am

May have found the problem.

I didn't have any problems with it using previous versions, or with any other program...

But I may have been my overclock.

I finished a couple renders just now at h.264 after reverting my CPU to stock clocks and voltages.

I'll update again if I have any problems still.
DR Free 16.1.1 - Win10 (10.0.18362) - R5-2600@4GHz - 2x16GB RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1660 ti 6GB, Studio Driver 430.86
- D: Drive install and cache, WD Red Pro 6TB 128MB Cache
Offline

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 7:51 am

Are you using Native or Nvidia encoder when rendering to h.264?I guess, if one fails, try the other.

Sent from my GM 5 Plus d using Tapatalk
Asus Prime X370-Pro, Ryzen 1600X @4GHz, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4 3000MHz, Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 580 8GB, 120 GB system SSD, Media storage - "Always in motion is it", Windows 10 Pro+Resolve Studio 15.3+Fusion Studio 9.0.2
Offline

spaxous

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Hunter Kern

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 8:00 am

Nope. Wasn't my overclock.

Wasn't my windows install AFAIK since resetting windows didn't fix it either.
DR Free 16.1.1 - Win10 (10.0.18362) - R5-2600@4GHz - 2x16GB RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1660 ti 6GB, Studio Driver 430.86
- D: Drive install and cache, WD Red Pro 6TB 128MB Cache
Offline

spaxous

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Hunter Kern

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 8:09 am

Mario Kalogjera wrote:Are you using Native or Nvidia encoder when rendering to h.264?I guess, if one fails, try the other.

Sent from my GM 5 Plus d using Tapatalk


Not using the nVidia AFAIK. I don't seem to have the option to use NVENC.

I'll play around some more I guess.
DR Free 16.1.1 - Win10 (10.0.18362) - R5-2600@4GHz - 2x16GB RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1660 ti 6GB, Studio Driver 430.86
- D: Drive install and cache, WD Red Pro 6TB 128MB Cache
Offline

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 9:55 am

spaxous wrote:
Mario Kalogjera wrote:Are you using Native or Nvidia encoder when rendering to h.264?I guess, if one fails, try the other.

Sent from my GM 5 Plus d using Tapatalk


Not using the nVidia AFAIK. I don't seem to have the option to use NVENC.

I'll play around some more I guess.


How can you not have an option to use NVENC? :o You have a GTX 1660Ti:

https://developer.nvidia.com/video-enco ... ort-matrix

Did you install Studio Drivers?
Asus Prime X370-Pro, Ryzen 1600X @4GHz, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4 3000MHz, Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 580 8GB, 120 GB system SSD, Media storage - "Always in motion is it", Windows 10 Pro+Resolve Studio 15.3+Fusion Studio 9.0.2
Offline

spaxous

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Hunter Kern

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 10:31 am

Mario Kalogjera wrote:
spaxous wrote:
Mario Kalogjera wrote:Are you using Native or Nvidia encoder when rendering to h.264?I guess, if one fails, try the other.

Sent from my GM 5 Plus d using Tapatalk


Not using the nVidia AFAIK. I don't seem to have the option to use NVENC.

I'll play around some more I guess.


How can you not have an option to use NVENC? :o You have a GTX 1660Ti:

https://developer.nvidia.com/video-enco ... ort-matrix

Did you install Studio Drivers?


Didn't know there was such a thing as "studio drivers"

I thought that drivers were drivers lol. I'll install them right now and see what happens.

Thanks!

EDIT:

Installed the studio Drivers, didn't seem to do anything.

Do I need DR Studio to have the option to use NVENC?
DR Free 16.1.1 - Win10 (10.0.18362) - R5-2600@4GHz - 2x16GB RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1660 ti 6GB, Studio Driver 430.86
- D: Drive install and cache, WD Red Pro 6TB 128MB Cache
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1131
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 11:33 am

spaxous wrote:Installed the studio Drivers, didn't seem to do anything.

Do I need DR Studio to have the option to use NVENC?


Yes!!! DaVinci Resolve Studio is required for NVENC. And for your NVIDIA GPU you should have NVIDIA's Studio (not gaming) driver. Your driver version should match the one that I have identified in my signature below.

This is why it's very important to describe your configuration completely and accurately. You didn't say whether you were using the Studio or free version of DaVinci Resolve. Many of the comments assumed that you were using Studio.

Please go edit your signature via the User Control Panel link in the upper left corner of this webpage. Please include the following information:
--Version of DaVinci Resolve, Studio or Free, and the exact version and build number. In DR, follow the menu DaVinci Resolve --> About DaVinci Resolve and copy the number from the pop-up panel.
--Operating System and version
--CPU
--System RAM size
--GPU Card with GPU Memory Size and GPU Driver version
--Type of Storage Drive for DaVinci Resolve project files and cache. If you don't know where your cache is, it's probably on your C: drive.
You can look at my signature below for an example. By doing this, those responding to your comments know what your configuration is without having to go in a treasure hunt through the forum to find it.

Also, please read through the FAQ as it identifies solutions to many common problems: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190#12
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.1.1.005 - Win10 Pro 64b - i7-6700K@4GHz - 32GB RAM
- NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 431.86 (upgr fr GTX1070 11/22)
- C: Drive 250 GB SSD - Project/Cache Drive 1 TB SSD
Offline

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 11:56 am

I'll go punish myself for missing the obvious. Gotta put a sticky on the monitor, rule No 1: ask first if its Studio or Free!!! :lol:
Asus Prime X370-Pro, Ryzen 1600X @4GHz, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4 3000MHz, Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 580 8GB, 120 GB system SSD, Media storage - "Always in motion is it", Windows 10 Pro+Resolve Studio 15.3+Fusion Studio 9.0.2
Offline

spaxous

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Hunter Kern

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 11:58 am

Michael_Andreas wrote:Also, please read through the FAQ as it identifies solutions to many common problems: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190#12


I did read it, but it didn't seem to help. I'll read through it again I guess.

Thanks for the info on the Signature. I didn't know that was a thing, I have always had things just "work" so I haven't had to do anything like this before :/
DR Free 16.1.1 - Win10 (10.0.18362) - R5-2600@4GHz - 2x16GB RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1660 ti 6GB, Studio Driver 430.86
- D: Drive install and cache, WD Red Pro 6TB 128MB Cache
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1131
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 12:11 pm

Just to confirm, the NVIDIA driver is 431.86, right?

I would suggest that you recapture and repost your crash logs since you've updated from 16.1 since the last time you posted them. 16.1 had a number of render issues which seem to have been corrected for most people when updating to 16.1.1.

As far your drive information, that helps if you have performance problems. SSDs tend to perform better than spinning hard drives. Did you edit your DaVinci Resolve --> Preferences -- Media Storage to put your D: drive first on the list? The first item on the list is where your cache goes.
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.1.1.005 - Win10 Pro 64b - i7-6700K@4GHz - 32GB RAM
- NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 431.86 (upgr fr GTX1070 11/22)
- C: Drive 250 GB SSD - Project/Cache Drive 1 TB SSD
Offline

spaxous

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Hunter Kern

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 12:18 pm

The logs are from 16.1.1, but the NVIDIA driver I was using was 430.86.

Also, the caching might have defaulted to my C drive then, my SSD. I'll go ahead and move it over to my D drive.

It was installed on my C drive before I reset windows though, so I kinda doubt that would be the problem.
DR Free 16.1.1 - Win10 (10.0.18362) - R5-2600@4GHz - 2x16GB RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1660 ti 6GB, Studio Driver 430.86
- D: Drive install and cache, WD Red Pro 6TB 128MB Cache
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1131
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 12:24 pm

I see that your C: drive is the SSD. Moving the cache to the D: drive will likely reduce performance.

One issue that can arise with the cache is that it can grow and fill up the drive. You have to periodically check its usage and delete optimized media from the cache when you're done with a project.
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.1.1.005 - Win10 Pro 64b - i7-6700K@4GHz - 32GB RAM
- NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 431.86 (upgr fr GTX1070 11/22)
- C: Drive 250 GB SSD - Project/Cache Drive 1 TB SSD
Offline

donnyyeo

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:00 pm
  • Real Name: Donny Yeo

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 4:15 pm

DR free 16.1.1 and DR free 16.1

Image

I have a same problem with MP4 h.264 in a job queue. For example, it here is 20 jobs in the queue, it
might throw the error "DaVinci Resolve Quit Unexpectedly" at any random job. It could be job at 3,8,19 position.

Stats = error 80% chance.


DR free 16.0

Much less error "DaVinci Resolve Quit Unexpectedly" with DR free 16.0.

Stats = error 2% chance.

I would recommend you to uninstall 16.1.1 and install 16.0.
Then, report your findings here.
DR Free 16.0 - Win10 (10.0.18362.418) - i7-3770@3.4GHz
- 1x8GB RAM DDR3 1300MHz
- NVIDIA GeForce GT640 2GB, Game Ready Drivers 26.21.14.3648, No Studio Drivers for this model
Offline

spaxous

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:14 am
  • Real Name: Hunter Kern

Re: Davinci Resolve Crash When Using H.264

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 10:17 am

Well, I fixed it at some point, I think. Either that, or the gods have blessed me with extra-ordinary luck.

I'll try to keep you guys posted if I figure it out. I'll try changing some things and see if I can break it I guess. This time I'll keep track of what I'm doing lol.
DR Free 16.1.1 - Win10 (10.0.18362) - R5-2600@4GHz - 2x16GB RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1660 ti 6GB, Studio Driver 430.86
- D: Drive install and cache, WD Red Pro 6TB 128MB Cache

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Feri Ternak, Gary Hango, Geert Geerits, Jim Simon, pweisz and 131 guests