50% alpha border problems - Fusion

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Greg Knollmeyer

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 4:25 pm

50% alpha border problems - Fusion

PostSun Sep 26, 2021 4:08 pm

I have multiple clips in a frame over a generator. I wanted each clip to have a 50% opacity edge/border that would reveal the generator below. I thought I set this up right in fusion. It appears ok there; but the view on the timeline is off. Any idea why this is happening? Also, I do know that there is a crop on one edge that will throw it off. But the other edges ought to be in tact. Pics of fusion page and timeline below.

Image
Image
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1315
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: 50% alpha border problems - Fusion

PostSun Sep 26, 2021 4:43 pm

Create a Rectangle with the following properties:
- Width and Height both = 1.0
- Solid = unticked
- Border Width = 0.06 (or similar)

Result (viewing the Rectangle in a Viewer to see its alpha channel):
Image

At the end I'll give you a Rectangle node you can just copy in.

Now, duplicate your MediaIn node, pipe the same Rectangle to both nodes, and Merge one over the other:
Image

Then in the MediaIn that's going to the Merge's background (yellow) input (MediaIn1_1 in my example):
- Inspector -> Settings -> tick Apply Mask Inverted and Multiply By Mask
Image

Finally, in the Merge set Blend to 0.5.

Result - note Alpha value shown in the colour inspector in the top left, this is for one of the edge pixels:
Image

Then on Edit this will behave how you expected.

Rectangle node you can copy into Fusion:
Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Rectangle1 = RectangleMask {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Filter = Input { Value = FuID { "Fast Gaussian" }, },
            BorderWidth = Input { Value = 0.06, },
            Solid = Input { Value = 0, },
            MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
            MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
            PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
            ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 914.993, 67.866 } },
      }
   },
   ActiveTool = "Rectangle1"
}
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1315
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: 50% alpha border problems - Fusion

PostSun Sep 26, 2021 4:53 pm

Or to do it with MatteControl:
Image

Rectangle mask is as before, except Level is set to 0.5
Image

MatteControl is:
Image

(Note the "Post Multiply Image" ticked at the bottom)

Nodes to copy (just add your MediaIn and MediaOut):
Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      MatteControl1 = MatteControl {
         Inputs = {
            MatteCombine = Input { Value = 4, },
            CombineOp = Input { Value = 2, },
            Filter = Input { Value = FuID { "Fast Gaussian" }, },
            PostMultiplyImage = Input { Value = 1, },
            Foreground = Input {
               SourceOp = "Rectangle1_1",
               Source = "Mask",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 1248.75, 235.873 } },
      },
      Rectangle1_1 = RectangleMask {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Level = Input { Value = 0.5, },
            Filter = Input { Value = FuID { "Fast Gaussian" }, },
            BorderWidth = Input { Value = 0.06, },
            Solid = Input { Value = 0, },
            MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
            MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
            PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
            ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 1269.28, 187.738 } },
      }
   }
}
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Offline

Greg Knollmeyer

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 4:25 pm

Re: 50% alpha border problems - Fusion

PostTue Sep 28, 2021 2:49 pm

Thank you so much. Will try today.
Offline

Greg Knollmeyer

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 4:25 pm

Re: 50% alpha border problems - Fusion

PostWed Sep 29, 2021 1:19 pm

Thanks again. The first method worked perfectly!

I actually tried with matte control first since that was more similar to my initial idea and seemed slightly simpler. But I couldn't get the matte control approach to work. If you see an error, I'd be pleased to know.

Image
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1315
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: 50% alpha border problems - Fusion

PostWed Sep 29, 2021 1:36 pm

Greg Knollmeyer wrote:Thanks again. The first method worked perfectly!

I actually tried with matte control first since that was more similar to my initial idea and seemed slightly simpler. But I couldn't get the matte control approach to work. If you see an error, I'd be pleased to know.

Image
mask is going into wrong input of matte control. Should be green not blue input.
Resolve Studio 17.3.2 and Fusion Studio 17.3.2 on macOS 11.5.2

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE @ 4.6 Ghz, 128GB RAM, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Audio: Behringer UMC404HD
Blackmagic Speed Editor
Offline

Greg Knollmeyer

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 4:25 pm

Re: 50% alpha border problems - Fusion

PostThu Sep 30, 2021 2:41 pm

Thanks again. I've got some color and edit skills; but fusion is where I get confused.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], RedRider14, Shrinivas Ramani, SimonMiddlemiss and 47 guests