Support for ProRes Raw

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

jallen0

  • Posts: 604
  • Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:04 pm
  • Real Name: Justin Allen

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostTue May 11, 2021 9:41 pm

I understand that. The fee is mostly for Blackmagic, as a way to ease their personal motivations for not providing ProRes Raw capability.
2019 MacPro OS 11.4, 3.2GHz 16 Core, 160GB Mem, 4TB Drive, 8TB Internal Sonnet Raid, Dual Radeon Pro W5700X 16GB
LG UF 5k, 27" Tbolt Display, 55" LG C8
Resolve Edit Keyboard, Mini Panel, US 4K Mini
Resolve Studio Ver. 17.2.2
Desktop Video 12.1
Offline

MLanghausen

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:26 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Langhausen

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostThu May 13, 2021 11:02 pm

+1 For this request.

You are hurting your users.
ASUS Prime X299 - Deluxe
Intel Core i9 7980XE
80 GB DDR4 RAM
NVIDIA 1080ti - 462.59 Studio Driver
Intensity Pro 4k
Window 10 Pro

Resolve Studio 17.2
Fusion Studio 16.2.1
Offline

jallen0

  • Posts: 604
  • Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:04 pm
  • Real Name: Justin Allen

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostFri May 14, 2021 4:22 pm

LMAO I just went to update my Atomos preferences and they asked me for my camera preference. Blackmagic cameras was not listed but basically every other one was.

Blackmagic's position not supporting ProRes Raw because Atomos does, and Atomos refusing to recognize that Blackmagic cameras exist seems just like two five-year-olds in kindergarten that refuse to speak to each other.
Last edited by jallen0 on Sat May 15, 2021 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
2019 MacPro OS 11.4, 3.2GHz 16 Core, 160GB Mem, 4TB Drive, 8TB Internal Sonnet Raid, Dual Radeon Pro W5700X 16GB
LG UF 5k, 27" Tbolt Display, 55" LG C8
Resolve Edit Keyboard, Mini Panel, US 4K Mini
Resolve Studio Ver. 17.2.2
Desktop Video 12.1
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1132
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostSat May 15, 2021 6:01 am

jallen0 wrote:LMAO I just went to update my Atomos preferences and hey asked me for my camera preference. Blackmagic cameras was not listed but basically every other one was.

Blackmagic's position not supporting ProRes Raw because Atomos does, and Atomos refusing to recognize that Blackmagic cameras exist seems just like two five-year-olds in kindergarten that refuse to speak to each other.


If DR implements prr it will mean a windfall of sales to atomos that will leave BMD VA and cameras in the dust. It really is a predicament. BMD makes its money off cameras and hardware not software. BMD has been put against a rock and a hard place. The only solution I can figure out is for bmd to get better at cameras and other hardware and makes DR even more compelling. Or maybe offer both raws on their cameras and VA and let the market decide. If atomos doesn't still have exclusivity


Ricardo Marty
Resolve Studio 17, Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram, 512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite ableton
Offline

destrianlives@gmail.com

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue May 25, 2021 8:31 pm
  • Real Name: David Griffin

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostTue May 25, 2021 8:38 pm

Dear Black Magic Design,
My lovely little PANASONIC GH5S is gonna deliver Pro Res Raw. I have windows and the studio version of Resolve 17. Please help out with a separate piece of software that will transcode pro res raw to BRAW or done solution for Windows. My ONLY option is to buy Adobe Premiere Pro one month at a time at $30's+ just to transcode to send my files to Resolve. I'm stuck with an Atomos Ninja V and I mean dang... If nothing else can you with with Atomos to get BRAW on the Ninja V? If anything it'll increase the spread of BRAW. Sadness enters thinking about Adobe anything in my computer.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostThu May 27, 2021 1:39 pm

BRAW in Atomos product ? Read stories about relationship between BM and Atomos.
It will never happen :lol:
Your only solution is BM own recorder, but so far camera support is not that great.

You can also simply switch from ProRes RAW to standard ProRes in your recorder. Not exactly the same, but in many cases not that big difference at the end either.
Offline
User avatar

Max Paperno

  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 12:49 am
  • Location: Upstate NY, US
  • Real Name: Max Paperno

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostThu May 27, 2021 9:55 pm

+1 for PRR support. Format wars suck.

And whatever the spat is with Atomos, it's hurting both companies. They can't compete even just in the one area of monitors/recorders based on traditional things like features and value?

As far as I can tell DR(S) mostly exists to sell BMD hardware. Not really the software I want to rely on, come to think of it. But I already bought it, they got my money, and ironically now my opinion matters less since it's no skin off their back if I stop using DR. But will I buy their hardware if this is how they do things? Probably not, if I have a choice.

JerryG wrote:Historically, no company has ever increased sales by giving customers less choice--it's always the other way around.

Umm... Apple? :) Apparently many people are actually overwhelmed by choice. Or are fine with only one choice if they think it's "magical."

-Max
Offline
User avatar

Max Paperno

  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 12:49 am
  • Location: Upstate NY, US
  • Real Name: Max Paperno

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostThu May 27, 2021 10:14 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:You can also simply switch from ProRes RAW to standard ProRes in your recorder. Not exactly the same, but in many cases not that big difference at the end either.

Not ideal in my setup for example, or anyone else who uses one of the (very few?) cameras which only output 10+ bit color in RAW. Like Sony FS5 in my case (4K RAW via 3G SDI to compatible recorders, internal 4K and via HDMI is only 8 bit). Sure, recording that raw output to PR 422 HQ is better than any 8-bit option, but it's far from ideal for shots actually needing a wide dynamic range. Or for example I could get a Ninja V and record my A7SIII in 12-bit RAW, but that would be useless in Resolve.

-Max
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostFri May 28, 2021 9:56 am

If you record ProRes444 it will be 12 bit as well. Those 12Bit are theoretical sensor number. In real world if you convert it to 10bit you may loose nothing or just tiny bit. I would like to see an example were 12Bit RAW shows real difference during grading compared to 10bit ProRes recording. You also don’t loose dynamic range itself at all. You loose gradation in your signal when you push hard you may get banding as there is not enough data to stretch it further. Have you seen many cases when you get banding when grading ProResHQ?
12bit in this case is rather weak argument. Maybe with better sensor which has 16bit converter you loose more, but 12 to 10 is very debatable. 8bit is obviously not good enough and easy to prove, but 10bit recording (for 12bit sensors) is not.

Best argument for RAW is storage efficiency. This is most optimal way to get best quality for given file size. There are also other arguments, but less important. It’s not like you should not use RAW if possible, but if it means you have a lot of problems in post then you should not try to stick to it for any cost ( only because it’s RAW and “the best”). Best is always a relative term.
Need of RAW (compared to good intermediate format) is definitely overrated ( of course Atomos thinks it’s world saver). Great to have, but as always not something 100% obvious.

I also would like to see ProResRAW import (and ProRes exporter) in Resolve for sure.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostFri May 28, 2021 10:30 am

JerryG wrote:Historically, no company has ever increased sales by giving customers less choice--it's always the other way around.

Umm... Apple? :) Apparently many people are actually overwhelmed by choice. Or are fine with only one choice if they think it's "magical."

-Max


Well it depends on nature of the choice.
Too much choice is not good at all as Max said.
In this case it’s not really a matter of choice because there is no other RAW format which is supported by all cameras. If BRAW would have at least same coverage as ProResRAW then we could talk about choice and redundant formats. Not the case atm. at all.
Offline
User avatar

AndrewKeil

  • Posts: 105
  • Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:27 pm
  • Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland
  • Real Name: Andrew Keil

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostFri May 28, 2021 11:25 am

Max Paperno wrote:+1 for PRR support. Format wars suck.
Umm... Apple? :) Apparently many people are actually overwhelmed by choice. Or are fine with only one choice if they think it's "magical."


That's true of the consumer world, for example I have no interest in switching to Android because to be honest, I just can't be bothered. and It certainly won't affect my work.

But if you're a freelancer and someone comes to you with a drive full of PRR, and you say you either can't work with it or you need to convert it into a format that might not have the same flexibility, then any talk of choice v closed garden comes a distant 2nd to whether you can do the job or not.

I accept the business difficulty, we are on a forum discussing a loss leading NLE after all, but the situation for many pro's has become untenable judging by this thread.
DaVinci Resolve 17 Studio
MB Pro 15" 2018 2.9GHz i9 32GB
Viewsonic VP3268 4K
Samsung X5 NVME 1TB
OWC Express NVME 5TB
OWC Thunderbay RAID x4 144TB
Blackmagic eGPU RX580 8GB
Blackmagic Decklink 4K
Stream Deck XL
Offline
User avatar

Max Paperno

  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 12:49 am
  • Location: Upstate NY, US
  • Real Name: Max Paperno

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostFri May 28, 2021 11:33 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:If you record ProRes444 it will be 12 bit as well.

Right, that would be better than 422 for the FS5 RAW, but unfortunately not an option on my recorder (from that other company). Jumps from 422 HQ to Raw, nothing in between. Also yea, file size.

I don't claim to understand all the nuances of stuffing the FS5 raw data into PRHQ. Alister Chapman "told me" it was a poor substitute, so I'm going with that. :) But seriously, it's hard to compare apples to apples when the NLE doesn't support one variety or another. From the bit of experimentation I've done with other software, it seems easier to grade the raw version in a program which understands it natively (anecdotal, I know, and that other software all has it's own issues). Banding, no, not pushing anything that far, at least yet.

I'm not running out to buy a recorder just to get 12b RAW out of the A7S3, and certainly have no experience comparing the two. I've seen the opinion that it's mostly a gimmick, and that may well be true for all I know.

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Best is always a relative term.

Totally with you there. Didn't mean to sound like a PR RAW fanboy, and don't even know yet if it's really "best" for what I do (never mind other people). And luckily no one is banging on my door with a disk full of PRR, I do have choices. ;) It would just be nice to use all the tools available. I've lived through several format wars, and they were all stupid marketing BS, sometimes with the superior technology actually losing out. And always the consumers.

Cheers,
-Max
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostFri May 28, 2021 12:08 pm

AndrewKeil wrote:
Max Paperno wrote:+1 for PRR support. Format wars suck.
Umm... Apple? :) Apparently many people are actually overwhelmed by choice. Or are fine with only one choice if they think it's "magical."


That's true of the consumer world, for example I have no interest in switching to Android because to be honest, I just can't be bothered. and It certainly won't affect my work.

But if you're a freelancer and someone comes to you with a drive full of PRR, and you say you either can't work with it or you need to convert it into a format that might not have the same flexibility, then any talk of choice v closed garden comes a distant 2nd to whether you can do the job or not.

I accept the business difficulty, we are on a forum discussing a loss leading NLE after all, but the situation for many pro's has become untenable judging by this thread.


If you happy with conversion time then convert to something fairly good wit some rough grade touch if needed (ProRes444 or XQ if you really concerned) and then work as always. Fact that you went to intermediate is really meaningless here as it will hold all usable data anyway (unless conversion is done badly). You will get no difference at the end.
It just costs time/space which is at the end money :)
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostThu Jun 03, 2021 1:49 pm

There is new Scratch Play Pro (19$) which is cheap way of transcoding ProResRAW (with full RAW controls and metadata as well) to ProRes or h264/5. This is for PC and Mac.
Offline
User avatar

Max Paperno

  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 12:49 am
  • Location: Upstate NY, US
  • Real Name: Max Paperno

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostThu Jun 03, 2021 3:17 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:There is new Scratch Play Pro (19$) which is cheap way of transcoding ProResRAW (with full RAW controls and metadata as well) to ProRes or h264/5. This is for PC and Mac.

Have you tried it? ($19/mo, $299 for permanent license.)
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostThu Jun 03, 2021 4:08 pm

Sorry- did not read price properly :) Scratch player use to be very cheap.
I have not tried it.
Offline

okdaniel

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:31 am
  • Real Name: Daniel Byrne

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostThu Jun 10, 2021 5:00 pm

It now seems Prores RAW for me is less usable after the latest Atomos firmware update for my Ninja V.

When using an A7siii with the latest Ninja firmware update, the temperature and ISO controls in post have been enabled, but only in FCPx - but the real problem now is that the temperature, sat and gamma are really messed up unless you use FCPx to import, and then painstakingly export each clip from FCPx to 4444 or whatever you like.

I was using a Compressor droplet to convert from Prores RAW to 4444 which was working fine (only problem is highlight clipping sometimes), but now even compressor doesn't interpret the Prores RAW footage properly unless you send it to Compressor from FCPx first.

Madness. Please let us use Prores RAW in Resolve as soon as computerly possible!
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostThu Jun 10, 2021 10:03 pm

Sounds like tools are not ready for the update and they don't read included metadata properly to give you correct start.
Offline

pabloicecreambar

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 9:49 pm
  • Location: NY
  • Real Name: Rishi Gandhi

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostMon Jun 14, 2021 8:52 pm

Pro Res Raw native support in Resolve would be nice as more jobs keep coming my way shot in that format. Regardless of the business or technical decisions to not support it, it's a pretty filmmaker unfriendly move to add a barrier. While Pro Res 4444 XQ has been a good work around, it's an additional barrier nonetheless.
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1132
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 3:42 pm

It's a chess game. The bad blood comes from an ex bmd employ who took insider information to make a competing company called atomos.

Atomos put BMD is in check (or maybe apple) Im sure that unless Apple authorizes BMD to use PRR on BMD VA there will never be PRR in Resolve and for that to happen atomos will need to lose its exclusive deal with apple. BMD has very few options. So maybe BMD needs to purchase that company, if its public.



Ricardo Marty
Resolve Studio 17, Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram, 512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite ableton
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 8:43 pm

Not sure why you are linking decoding and encoding? Those are 2 fundamentally different things.
Offline

SkierEvans

  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:59 pm
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • Real Name: Ron Evans

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostThu Jun 17, 2021 12:32 am

Updated my GH5S and the NINJA V and shot some ProRes RAW. I use EDIUS as well as Resolve and EDIUS will edit with either BRAW or ProRes RAW and also export ProRes too. EDIUS sees the ProRes RAW from the GH5S correctly as ProRes RAW and colour space as Vlog/VGamut. Looks like a 12 bit Vlog file to the system as far as I can see as EDIUS cannot directly control ISO or WB separately from the normal colour controls in PCC filter.

Files are not small more than twice the size of ProRes 4:2:2 for a UHD 60P file. 10G for 40 secs.
Threadripper 1920, Gigabyte X399 DESIGNARE EX, 32G RAM, MSI 1080Ti 11G, IP4K, WIN10 Pro 21H1
Resolve Studio 17, EDIUS X, Vegas 18
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostSat Jun 19, 2021 1:30 pm

160K views of this thread tells a lot :)
Offline

Johan Vierne

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 1:45 pm

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostSun Jun 20, 2021 3:40 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:160K views of this thread tells a lot :)


This is apparently not enough for BM :roll:

I wonder how long this childish war will last
Offline

rNeil H

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:43 pm
  • Real Name: R. Neil Haugen

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostSun Jun 20, 2021 5:31 pm

There are clearly lawyers involved. Which means it reverts to a kindergarten argument.

Don't expect a solution. These things rarely get one. Look at the battles between say Adobe and was it Dolby sound? There's been several such fights.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Offline

Steve Fishwick

  • Posts: 281
  • Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:35 am

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostMon Jun 21, 2021 10:49 am

Bear in mind currently, as far as I'm aware (though I'm sure someone will correct me :) ), on both Mac and PC, only FCPX has full control over ProRes Raw, for such as white balance, iso, etc. I definitely know Avid on windows doesn't. So even if it came to Resolve on pc it could have the same limitation. Not a deal-breaker, of course but if editors could choose a raw format for shooting, it would, for me preferably be Braw still - but then of course we can't ;)
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 1800
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostMon Jun 21, 2021 11:49 am

Assimilate Scratch was the first app to add ProRes Raw controls for temp/tint/iso. This was even before Final Cut Pro, in July last year (macOS and Windows).

I suppose this means Apple hasn't released a API that does everything (unlike BMD did with Blackmagic Raw), instead it's up to the individual apps to support specific cameras. Shouldn't be a problem for Resolve as it already has the framework for supporting specific cameras.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostMon Jun 21, 2021 10:10 pm

Yep. Beauty of ProResRAW is that you do have access to RAW pixels through official SDK, so you can do everything by yourself (or use limited functionality provided by Apple libraries). Resolve could use own processing (it already does it and allows to switch for some formats (Arri, Sony) between processing engines).

In order for all of it to work camera has to write settings as metadata first- then you can read it and interpret as needed. Without such a metadata you can't have proper control and adjustment (just some "blind" ones).
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1132
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 1:37 am

Bmd will never support prr. There is to much at stake.
Use another nle and don't aggravate your selves. Atomos is after bmd and apple after braw. Cinema cameras are changing bmd needs to change if not they will stay in a niche market that will shrink by the year.

Ricardo Marty0
Last edited by ricardo marty on Tue Jun 22, 2021 4:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve Studio 17, Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram, 512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite ableton
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1132
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 3:12 am

Bmd will never support prr. There is to much at stake.
Use another nle and don't aggravate your selves. Atomos is after bmd and apple after braw. Cinema cameras are changing bmd needs to change if not they will stay in a niche market that will shrink by the year.

Ricardo Marty
Resolve Studio 17, Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram, 512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite ableton
Offline

GlueFactoryBJJ

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 6:07 am
  • Real Name: Scott Surbrook

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostSat Jul 10, 2021 6:16 am

Perhaps we need to start a thread on how to convert ProRes RAW (PRR) to a format that Resolve WILL use? I hate the idea of using ProRes 4444 because it is, from what I understand LARGER than PRR. Then I will need to keep TWO copies (RAW original and PR4444).

OK, perhaps I don't HAVE to keep both, but I tend to keep originals because I KNOW I can always get the max quality from them.

I guess another question I have is, does PRR actually cover the 444 color space. I don't care as much for ISO/WB corrections (if I do my job right recording the event, it should be good) as I do for the extra color space accuracy.

I don't know about anyone else, but the color accuracy between 420 and 422 is very noticeable to me, but I can see color differences between the original scene and 422 that I'm hoping RAW/444 will fix. Any thoughts?

Anyway, my $.02...

Scott
Hardware: ASUS Crosshair VIII, AMD 3950X, Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti, 64GB RAM, 2TB m.2 SSD, 2TB (4x500GB) SSDs, 36TB NAS
Software: Win10 Pro, DR Studio 17.2, Reaper, Affinity Photo & Designer, Skylum Luminar/Aurora HDR, OBS
Adobe free since 2019!
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1808
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostSat Jul 10, 2021 7:55 am

GlueFactoryBJJ wrote:I guess another question I have is, does PRR actually cover the 444 color space. I don't care as much for ISO/WB corrections (if I do my job right recording the event, it should be good) as I do for the extra color space accuracy.

I don't know about anyone else, but the color accuracy between 420 and 422 is very noticeable to me, but I can see color differences between the original scene and 422 that I'm hoping RAW/444 will fix. Any thoughts?

Any 444 file that originates from CMOS sensor camera does not have 444 sampling precision at sensor native resolution due to bayer pattern. 444 isn’t a colorspace but chroma component subsampling schema, it can convey any colorspace and subsampling does not specify the primaries in any way. What it does specify is the spatial precision of chroma samples.

If you ”see color differences between original scene and 422” what is your original scene reference exactly and what kind of differences do you see? 422 vs 444 can only improve spatial accuracy, and any 444 source that comes from cmos sensor camera originates from very similar raw data that is stored in prores raw.
Last edited by Hendrik Proosa on Sat Jul 10, 2021 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
I do stuff.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7479
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Support for ProRes Raw

PostSat Jul 10, 2021 9:31 am

GlueFactoryBJJ wrote:Perhaps we need to start a thread on how to convert ProRes RAW (PRR) to a format that Resolve WILL use? I hate the idea of using ProRes 4444 because it is, from what I understand LARGER than PRR. Then I will need to keep TWO copies (RAW original and PR4444).

OK, perhaps I don't HAVE to keep both, but I tend to keep originals because I KNOW I can always get the max quality from them.

I guess another question I have is, does PRR actually cover the 444 color space. I don't care as much for ISO/WB corrections (if I do my job right recording the event, it should be good) as I do for the extra color space accuracy.

I don't know about anyone else, but the color accuracy between 420 and 422 is very noticeable to me, but I can see color differences between the original scene and 422 that I'm hoping RAW/444 will fix. Any thoughts?

Anyway, my $.02...
Scott

Any debayered format will be bigger than its RAW as RAW has 3 times less data. It's just B&W data, so you can think about it as eg. Y channel. Once you pass debayer you get 3 channels (YUV or RGB), so there is suddenly 3x more data to store. This is exactly why recording RAW is the most efficient way in terms of storage/bitrate. You can't directly escape from it ( you can only subsample or compress more to get same storage needs). 4:2:2 is not that bad (4:2:0 starts to be bit visible). It only matters for some tasks like keying, masking, etc.
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jeremy and 12 guests