Can't add still images to timeline

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

DabeGlavins

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:18 am

Can't add still images to timeline

PostTue Jul 04, 2017 6:12 am

Hello! I'm a bit new to DaVinci Resolve 14 and I'm trying to edit with some .jpg pictures I took. However, I can't drag or import them into the timeline, it won't allow me to. Am I missing something?

Thanks!
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7871
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostTue Jul 04, 2017 2:05 pm

Assuming you can see them in the media page viewer, place them in a bin within the media pool and then on the edit page drag and drop.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostTue Jul 04, 2017 5:22 pm

Be careful that each still or .jpg has a unique name in project. OS accepts that files have the same name provided that it is in different directories: not Davinci Resolve ;)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

DabeGlavins

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:18 am

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostTue Jul 04, 2017 8:09 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Assuming you can see them in the media page viewer, place them in a bin within the media pool and then on the edit page drag and drop.


Done that, tried it in two different bins, but it won't let me drag it in, it shows a little denied circle when I hover it over the timeline.
Offline

DabeGlavins

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:18 am

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostTue Jul 04, 2017 8:10 pm

Jean Claude wrote:Be careful that each still or .jpg has a unique name in project. OS accepts that files have the same name provided that it is in different directories: not Davinci Resolve ;)


Thank you for the tip! Sadly, this didn't work either, I renamed the pictures I was using just in case, but I'm still having the same problem.
Offline

DabeGlavins

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:18 am

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostTue Jul 04, 2017 8:15 pm

Ok, so I just got it to work, I clicked on the V1 on one of my video tracks. Now it has a red outline and I can drag in the pictures. Not sure why that worked but I'll take it!
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7871
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostWed Jul 05, 2017 1:39 am

Hi Dabe, that's a fairly fundamental operational issue. Can i suggest you sit with the manual and become more familiar with the edit page controls? Its quite extensive and an easy read.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Dave Shortman

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 7:54 am

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostWed Jul 05, 2017 7:25 am

Or check out this thread : viewtopic.php?f=21&t=54139
Offline

Diego Opat

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 3:36 pm

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostWed Jul 05, 2017 8:44 am

Make sure the jpgs are RGB, resolve wont let you use a CMYK image on the timeline
Offline

Bink19th

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:24 am
  • Real Name: David Armstrong

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostTue Jun 19, 2018 1:32 pm

Thanks DabeGlavins, that was frustrating me too!
Core i7-7700K, 32GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti, Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Davinci Resolve 15.0.0B.057
Offline

elfman2

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:20 pm
  • Real Name: Bill Carson

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 4:26 pm

Bink19th wrote:Thanks DabeGlavins, that was frustrating me too!

I'm having the same problem. Resolve is recognizing a sequence of 5 jpegs as a multi-clip or something, grouping them as a single file, but with no apparent way to show only one and drag it out over several seconds in the timeline or separate them. it's just a very narrow frame that I can't do anything with given my understanding.
Offline
User avatar

jamescarvin

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:06 am
  • Location: Tallahassee, FL
  • Real Name: James Carvin

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostTue Feb 25, 2020 1:18 am

Making the V1 be active by clicking worked for me when I was having that problem too. But the same problem is happening again and that isn't the solution this time. I don't have any duplicate files in the media bin. It will accept a short version of the image sometimes and others not. And the short version of the image can't be lengthened.
Very new and need a lot of help
Offline

mdsteenb

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 5:35 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Steenbarger

Re: Can't add still images to timeline

PostTue Mar 17, 2020 8:55 pm

CMYK was my issue!! Thanks Diego Opat!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aussiemartin, Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], lollol, ttakala and 101 guests