Marking Empty Space

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

benfolts

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:46 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Folts

Marking Empty Space

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 12:24 am

Hello,

I am coming from another NLE that allows you to mark "filler"or empty timeline as if it were a clip. For example if I had a 2 second gap in my video track, I want to be able to park the play head in that gap and "mark clip" (X) to do a ripple delete to remove it.

Does Resolve edit page allow you to mark filler with Ins and Outs? This would also be helpful when checking timings of blacks on sequences.

Thank you,
--DaVinci Resolve Studio (16.2.0.055)
--CentOS Linux 7
--Intel Xeon (r) CPU E5-2698 v4 @ 2.20GHz x 58
--125.8 GiB
--Titan X (Pascal)/PCIe/SSE2 (Driver 418.56)
--Gnome Version 3.14.2
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 1481
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Marking Empty Space

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 12:32 am

You can left-click the gap to select it, then right-click and choose Ripple Delete.
Attachments
2020-06-29 (12).png
2020-06-29 (12).png (222.82 KiB) Viewed 333 times
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2.3
Offline

benfolts

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:46 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Folts

Re: Marking Empty Space

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 12:38 am

xunile, does this respect the track selection? If I have a gap in track 1 and 3 but want to leave track 2 unmolested will this remove gap leave track 2 alone.

I just think this is something that we should be able to manipulate with the same edit tools we are editing with. Old habits die hard.

Thank you,
--DaVinci Resolve Studio (16.2.0.055)
--CentOS Linux 7
--Intel Xeon (r) CPU E5-2698 v4 @ 2.20GHz x 58
--125.8 GiB
--Titan X (Pascal)/PCIe/SSE2 (Driver 418.56)
--Gnome Version 3.14.2
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1016
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Marking Empty Space

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 4:29 am

The applicaton menu Mark > Mark Clip (or the hotkey X) applies to clips as well as gaps.

A couple of scenarios to illustrate how to span a gap with an in-out range:
a. in ripple mode, move some clips to the right to create a gap. place the playhead in the created gap and hit X.

b. Alt-clicking (or Option-clicking) on a track control can be used for a track exclusive operation. Choose a track with a gap between edits. Make it exclusively autoselected using icon that looks like [<>] - ensure this is true across video and audio. Hit X.

Please note that invoking a range using X after the last clip is an exception - instead of marking an infinite gap, Resolve gives you a small in out range around the playhead that you can customise.
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 552
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: Marking Empty Space

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 11:01 am

benfolts wrote:Hello,

I am coming from another NLE that allows you to mark "filler"or empty timeline as if it were a clip. For example if I had a 2 second gap in my video track, I want to be able to park the play head in that gap and "mark clip" (X) to do a ripple delete to remove it.

Does Resolve edit page allow you to mark filler with Ins and Outs? This would also be helpful when checking timings of blacks on sequences.

Thank you,
Filler does not need to mark In/Out points. Select the filler you want to delete and press Delete or Return. The behavior of the clips on the timeline is affected by the Auto Track Selector buttons. But you are right. It would be good if DaVinci could mark filler In/Out points.
Attachments
auto track selector buttons.png
auto track selector buttons.png (44.12 KiB) Viewed 73 times
DaVinci Resolve 16.2.3 Studio
Mac Pro 2013, AMD FirePro D700, 64GB RAM, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017, Radeon Pro 575, 24GB RAM, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Film Editor, Colorist, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline

benfolts

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:46 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Folts

Re: Marking Empty Space

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 4:55 pm

Shrinivas Ramani wrote:The applicaton menu Mark > Mark Clip (or the hotkey X) applies to clips as well as gaps.

A couple of scenarios to illustrate how to span a gap with an in-out range:
a. in ripple mode, move some clips to the right to create a gap. place the playhead in the created gap and hit X.

b. Alt-clicking (or Option-clicking) on a track control can be used for a track exclusive operation. Choose a track with a gap between edits. Make it exclusively autoselected using icon that looks like [<>] - ensure this is true across video and audio. Hit X.

Please note that invoking a range using X after the last clip is an exception - instead of marking an infinite gap, Resolve gives you a small in out range around the playhead that you can customise.


Shrinivas, This completely explains how the function works in conjunction with the autoselects. Thank you for adding this to my editing skills!
--DaVinci Resolve Studio (16.2.0.055)
--CentOS Linux 7
--Intel Xeon (r) CPU E5-2698 v4 @ 2.20GHz x 58
--125.8 GiB
--Titan X (Pascal)/PCIe/SSE2 (Driver 418.56)
--Gnome Version 3.14.2

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], dev_willis, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 81 guests