Multicam with two mikes

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Multicam with two mikes

PostSun Oct 18, 2020 5:51 am

I have just done my first multicam shoot using two lapel mikes for my two actors and three cameras.

I don't want my shots to follow the individual mike audio as I think it would be better for me to even out the volume of the lapel ones so each are similar and then combine them into a single audio track.

How would I best do that, please?

Tony
London UK
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostSun Oct 18, 2020 3:37 pm

Here's how I would do it.

1. Create the Multicam using the three camera clips.
2. Add that Multicam to the timeline.
3. Add an audio track for each character, and place the proper audio clips in those tracks.
4. Manually sync those audio clips to the Multicam.
5. Mute the Multicam audio.
6. Vote for the following to make this easier.

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=96353
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostSun Oct 18, 2020 4:16 pm

Thanks Jim.

I saw that thread and, even as a newbie, saw the system was lacking.

So far I have a multicam. Three videos (one wide angle and one for each actor).

I have three audio tracks (a safety from the wide camera and one for each actor's lapel mike).

When I create the timeline to use to pick my camera angle I can pick the sound from any of the three cameras. But when one actor is in shot not speaking but listening to the other actor the effect will be wrong. I don't want his/her mike. I want the mike from the speaking actor.

Is there a way I can balance the audio on the two actors and convert this to a fourth audio track I can let run all the time?

Tony
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostSun Oct 18, 2020 8:56 pm

I maintain my earlier recommendation.

Work with audio out of the Multicam.
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostSun Oct 18, 2020 9:04 pm

Jim,

I want to load the multicam into a timeline so I can pick my shots.

You say "Work with audio out of the Multicam."

My timeline shows cameras one, two, three.

How do I select the audio from cameras two and three (balanced to be equal) and ignore that from camera one?

EDIT.

Is what you are saying is that I use the usual timeline to pick the cameras but, from it, pick the two audio tracks I want from the Multicam in the other timeline? If I do that can I still balance the two in the Multicam?

Tony
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1568
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 1:49 pm

Yes, that's what was meant...
Sync your clips the way you like and put that on the TL, but also keep a final audio track out of the multicam file (on another added audio track), so that it can be "touched" without modifying anything from your multicm file.
Even if audio track(s) are the same as those inside the multicam, also put them again on additional audio track(s)...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and High Sierra, Resolve 15.3 Studio
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 2:03 pm

Sam.

You say " keep a final audio track out of the multicam file "

I have two audio tracks I want. One of each actor.

Are you saying I should copy both of those into the timeline where I can only see one audio track at a time?

Presumably copy and paste will keep them in sync?

Do I then click on the audio symbol under my multicam viewer and use the ALT key to click both of the two audio tracks I want in the final cut?

What I tried last night, and it seemed to work, was to have the Multicam showing with its three cameras and audios in one timeline window and the version that I use for selecting shots in the second window. I clicked on the audio symbol and then using Alt went to the Multicam timeline and clicked on the two audios I wanted. It seemed to work - but maybe that was luck and your method is safer.

Thanks for the help. I am surprised that more people don't need or do this when showing a two person interview/conversation.

Tony




Tony
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 4:06 pm

TonyGamble wrote:How do I select the audio from cameras two and three (balanced to be equal) and ignore that from camera one?


By following steps 1 - 6 posted earlier. Step 3, 4 and 5 allow you to edit the audio separately from the video, which is more desirable.
Offline

ChipKng

  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:39 am
  • Real Name: Csaba Simon

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 4:09 pm

I don't get the problem. I'd simply create a multicam timeline clip with all the audio + video. Drag to your editing timeline and do your cuts. You can select on the top left window to change only the video while audio stay untouched. For audio you can select the main mike, use the blade to cut and select the other angle for the second mike as you wish. (Right click+selct angle).

I'm always using an external mike for the audio in my interview clips, and based on the waveform DR can sync them correctly. In your case you will have an extra angle for the second mike.
Windows 10 | Resolve 16.2.7 Studio | GTX 1070Ti | 32 Gigs Mem | i7-4790K
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 4:13 pm

That method leaves the usable audio inside the Multicam, Csaba. That presents difficulties later on when mixing in Fairlight.
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 4:26 pm

ChipKing.

If I cut to an actor listening I don't want to cut to his mic. I want to hear the mic being worn by the actor who is out of shot but speaking.

If I read what you are saying each time you cut to a camera you cut to that camera's mic. I don't want that. If I did when I cut to an actor reacting to what someone else is saying I will be picking up the wrong mic

What I want is an audio track that is a blend of what is coming from both mics - all the time.

I'll go through Jim's list again shortly.

Tony
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1568
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 4:29 pm

I can't believe I wrote such a long post 5 mn ago to help and it finally doesn't appear ? :evil:
I won't write it again...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and High Sierra, Resolve 15.3 Studio
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 4:35 pm

Please Sam.

S'il vous plait.

Tu seras mon ami.

Anton - Londres.
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1568
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 4:38 pm

TonyGamble wrote:ChipKing.
If I read what you are saying each time you cut to a camera you cut to that camera's mic.
NO. It's up to YOU, check on top left options; also consider reading the manual which is easy to understand.

Alternatively, we suggested that you add 2 audio tracks and put again your talents voices on each, thus you'll have them on tracks that don't belong to the multicam file...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and High Sierra, Resolve 15.3 Studio
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1568
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 4:39 pm

TonyGamble wrote:Please Sam.

S'il vous plait.

Tu seras mon ami.

Anton - Londres.

:lol:
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and High Sierra, Resolve 15.3 Studio
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 4:40 pm

Sam Steti wrote:you add 2 audio tracks and put again your talents voices on each, thus you'll have them on tracks that don't belong to the multicam file...


That!

Do that. ;)
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 2:53 pm

Sorry guys I am still struggling.

I have got this far. I have a Multicam with my two vocal tracks in sync.

Image

I have created a timeline based on that multitrack. You will see it shows one audio track and, yes, I could pick the audio from whatever camera I choose. But as I have explained I don't want to do that. I want to balance the two vocal one and have both running from start to end of my clip.

Image

Sam Steti wrote:
you add 2 audio tracks and put again your talents voices on each, thus you'll have them on tracks that don't belong to the multicam file...

I have 2 audio tracks. How do I get them to run in tandem as I pick my shots?

Yes, Jim. I have read the manual - but I cannot see anyone trying to do what I am struggling with.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 3:03 pm

Take the two audio tracks out of the Multicam and add them to the Take One timeline under the Multicam clip.

Manually sync them to the Multicam, then mute the Multicam.

Cut the video, then cut the audio.
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 3:09 pm

Sorry Jim. I am a slow learner.

Can you expand on this please "Cut the video, then cut the audio."
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 3:14 pm

That inquiry throws me off.

You are en editor, yes? You know what it means to cut a project? You're at least somewhat familiar with how Resolve works?
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 3:36 pm

OK. I have annoyed Jim.

Is there anyone else willing to help me please?

Tony
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 3:38 pm

Not annoyed, just...confused. :)

That question is like a Formula 1 driver saying "Start the engine. OK. How do I do that?"

The Pit crew would be just as confused as I. :lol:
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 3:50 pm

Jim,

Why do I need to cut the audio if I am running the same audio the whole time?

I don't want to change the audio to match my camera shots. I want both actors/singers at the same volume from start to finish.

Bear with me. We will get there!

Tony
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 3:55 pm

Well, if the audio doesn't need any cuts, then so be it. Leave them whole.

The instruction was a general guide. You treat video and audio separately.
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1650
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 3:59 pm

Separately
1. Edit your MultiCam video and render it
2. Edit your audio
Then
3. Sync your rendered MultiCam video with your edited audio, muting the audio track of the MultiCam.
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.2.7.010 Win10Pro 2004/19041.508 - i7-6700K@4GHz, 32GB RAM
RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 456.38
OS,Library: 1TB SSD - Project: 1TB SSD - Cache: 1TB NVMe
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 4:00 pm

OK, Jim

I have an audio track from Actor One and a synced audio track from Actor Two.

I have set the volume controls so they are equal.

How do I combine them into one track in my timeline?

Tony
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 4:09 pm

You don't. Best to leave them as they are.
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 4:15 pm

Jim,

This is my timeline where I choose my camera anglesImage

Are you saying I should have the two actor's audio tracks in there as well?
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 4:21 pm

Good start.

Now, add the actor's audio under that onto A2 and A3. Manually sync those to the Multicam. Then mute A1.
Offline

TonyGamble

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:01 am

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 4:26 pm

How do I get the audio to copy without taking the video with it?
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11365
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Multicam with two mikes

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 4:28 pm

That is one of the things covered in the Beginner's Guide. ;)

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... e/training

But don't go through it with an eye towards answering that question. Go through it with the intent of learning the basics of the program.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tom Knight and 90 guests